We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Permanently closed”

Celestial Restaurant
Ranked #459 of 2,183 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: USD 31 - USD 50
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Mount Adams
Cross street: Monastery Street
Description: Four star, Four diamond dinning with a stellar view of the city.
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Per the Cincinnati Enquirer, the restaurant operation was to close and the place reopened as an event center.
OpenTable has it listed as 'permanently closed' as of today, Sept., 27, 2018.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank bassbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2018

The 4 of us went here last night for a final dinner and to say goodbye...the venue is closing it's doors next week after a 55 year incredible run. We had some 'reservations' (no pun intended) thinking with the upcoming closing the service & food could be below par. NOT SO! Tim, our waiter was on his game and very upbeat and attentive. ALL of our meals (salads, steaks and chicken) were served promptly,warm and tasty---perfectly prepared! This was our 4th visit this year and each time it has been a pleasant experience. We will miss the Celestial.....

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chowhound03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanaka D, Owner at Celestial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Tim, thanks so much for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Celestial Steakhouse. Our team has been honored to serve you over the years and we're happy you had an enjoyable last visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

I was recommended The Celestial by a co- worker to take my husband for our Anniversary. What a beautiful place with Great food, ambiance, and service, along with incredible views of Cincinnati!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

I recently attended this restaurant with a couple of friends, one of which was from Texas, because we all wanted a good steak with a great view. Needless to say the view was great, but the food was disappointing to say the least. The service was very average, although Stephanie was pleasant, and the management was unacceptable. The short, it took to long for everything! My friend's beer was forgotten twice and it took 25 minutes to arrive. Our appetizers came out fine, but our entrees showed up almost 75 minutes later. Upon arrival they sat on a tray 8 ft away from our table for 10 minutes making them unacceptably cold. There was no compound butter on the steaks as explained in the menu. My friend from Texas received about 6 mushroom quarters on his steak as an add on. My bearnaise sauce was knocked over on my plate and served that way. After repeatedly being disappointed over and over we voiced our concerns to our waitress who informed us that she had 7 tables who were all upset (7 tables in fine dining is insane btw) and then to the owner/manager who repeatedly threw the waitress under the bus and took no responsiblity. Oh...and there was a full scale wedding reception going on and we were told to 'mingle because its a cash bar'. Just crazy and stupid! After all of this, our bills remained unchanged and we received one $50 Gift Card towards our next visit to I assume split some how?? Again, just crazy and stupid! This used to be one of my go to restaurants, but never again. If you need a good view check out Primavista on the west side in Price Hill. If you need a great steak in Cincinnati, check out any Jeff Ruby restaurant, Jags in West Chester or Ruth Criss; but be warned and stay clear of The Celestial unless it is sold and/or the management changes.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Hank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanaka D, Owner at Celestial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hank, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on multiple platforms regarding your recent visit to The Celestial Steakhouse. Providing friendly, professional and attentive service, as well as delicious food and an inviting experience, is a top priority for us, and it sounds like we missed the mark for you all around here. Long wait times, disappointing food and overwhelmed service is not The Celestial way, and we will be sure to do better in the future. Our management team tries their best to rectify any guest experience we can, and we apologize if you did not think this was handled in the correct way. We're always open to feedback on how we can improve guest experiences, and we will take yours into account moving forward, in order to provide total guest satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

the food was ok but lukewarm. Service was pathetically poor all the way around. 30 min for bread and a beverage (no exaggeration). 1.5 hrs for meals to arrive, and they were not busy. I could go on about how unengaged, rude, and slow the service was, but other reviewers hsve already captured it quite accurately.

We have been to the best steak houses all around the country on business, north south east west. This isn't even close to the worst of those -- will never go back and strongly suggest there are MUCH better options on Cincy for a nice meal. $750 for 2.5 hours of misery and uncaring service -- and our service needs were minimal, literally bread, water, pour tbe $75 bottles of wine. Hugely disappointing, don't fall for it.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SSKD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanaka D, Owner at Celestial Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thanks so much for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. Providing delicious menu offerings and friendly, timely and attentive service is a top priority for us, so we're disappointed to hear that this was not your experience. Your feedback will be passed along to our staff, in order to avoid a similar experience in the future, and we hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with the true Celestial experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Celestial Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Celestial Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing