We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trashy public areas - room was a clean, nice escape however...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Northeast
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Trashy public areas - room was a clean, nice escape however...”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The public areas need major clean up and renovation. The crowd is a lower classed, amusement park (Kings Island) crowd but fortunately were not a loud crowd and sleep was good. The room was up to date and clean, bed comfortable and accomodations fine. It was the best price around and was okay for the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipendulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    123
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
95
61
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Arriving at 4:20pm, and checking in, we made our way to the room. a LARGE black garbage bag had been left in the hallway - no one remotely nearby -- it remained there til after 5pm.

before continuing, I should note I got a phone call from a man who was very rude at 11am since the room was in my name, that the hotel was sold out. Since the room wasn't held with a card (no one asked me for one when I made the original reservation), they would only hold it til 6pm - he did NOT ask if he could take my card number to ensure my reservation in case we hit traffic on the way.

Before setting the luggage in the room, I checked the beds as we've all been advised to do due to the bedbug epidemic in the US - (I am not taking chances, I check EVERY place I stay). This is where problems started.

The mattresses were about 1" from the wall. because of this, before I even lifted up the mattress to inspect, I see -- on the box spring - crumbs and hair. I called this to the attention of the front desk of this SOLD OUT HOTEL ... who at first offered to come clean the room then suddenly suggested, instead they'd put me in another room, and give this room to someone else who is checking in later. Inferring I was just being picky and difficult - that someone else would take it as-is. No. I liked the room number -- it had a 13 in it. At that time - I just wanted them to know what I found. It may have been a fluke it was missed, after all..

When I went in to take a shower, I pulled the shower curtain closed and start the water, I look up - there's a WET WASHCLOTH on the shower curtain rod!! EW! BIO-HAZARD!! I don't know where that cloth has been!!! I certainly wasn't touching it! Call THAT to the attention of the desk - and was reminded (in a snotty tone) "we OFFERED you another room!!" (in this SOLD OUT HOTEL!!) I told them I wanted to speak with the manager, and they said "ok" I gave them my cell phone number - and proceed to wait. ... and wait. ... no call. When I inquired again, I was informed the manager had left before 4pm. Lovely.

When we returned from our outing, I noted as I closed the drapes that the light seemed to be casting a strange shadow on the pleats - upon closer inspection - I could clearly see it was DUST!!! A LOT - ... of dust! Wow. Just wow. No sense in calling *that* to anyone's attention - there is no management, clearly - at least none that acts on problems.

..I expected more for $109 + tax

My take on this is -- I couldn't, in good conscience move to another room -- not when they said they'd just give this one (as is) to someone who was checking in later ... it CLEARLY needed better cleaning, and the staff had already left for the day.

Travelers should know they need to check more than just the beds here.

Room Tip: ALWAYS ALWAYS check the bathroom for left behind laundry -- drapes for dust (especially if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrandieRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Nice clean hotel, bug free. Very close to Kings Island. Outdoor pool was nice, great breakfast, beds comfortable, spacious rooms. They offer laundry at this facility. There is free internet with a printer. In the lobby you can purchase snacks and drinks, the kids loved this option. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chl0e01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel was not bad the only problem we had was they didn't get to cleaning our room on our second day there until 3:45 pm.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocoakarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We didn't need a lot from a hotel ... clean, quiet (of course that depends on the other guests), decent beds/pillows, auto thermostat control, refrigerator, and oh no evidence of bed bugs. We experienced all that plus a very professional front desk staff at night and day. Maybe there's been a management change since the time of the poor reviews? I personally couldn't get over the incredible value of a room priced in the 60's so close to a major amusement park.
I will plan to stay again if I ever make a return trip to visit the park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSG911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cincinnati North-Mason
10.8 km away
Best Western Plus Hannaford Inn & Suites
10.9 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
Comfort Suites Forest Park
Comfort Suites Forest Park
#27 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.3 km away
TownePlace Suites Cincinnati Northeast/Mason
24.9 km away
Best Western Clermont
Best Western Clermont
#17 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Northeast

Property: Comfort Inn Northeast
Address: 9011 Fields Ertel Rd, Cincinnati, OH 45249-8261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#15 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price range (per night): $114 - $216
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Northeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Northeast Hotel Cincinnati
Comfort Inn Cincinnati
Cincinnati Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Northeast Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing