We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay In Historic Southern City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay In Historic Southern City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here after a week in New Orleans. It was perfect planning. The pace of life in this southern town and the easy going nature of the Doug, the Inn Keeper, made it a nice adjustment from the more franic (and fun!) pace of The Big Easy.

The home is beautiful, well preserved and has much charm. The optional 5:00 Hospitality wine & light hors d'oeuvres was a nice touch we have not seen at other B&Bs and we enjoyed the chat and learned much history of the town, house and suggestions for what to do and where to eat. I specially enjoyed my early morning coffee on the 2nd floor veranda (or gallery as they say in New Orleans). It was tranquil and the screened in porch was beautiful.

As to the town, the Inn Keeper loaned us a guided tape of the National Battlefield that he keeps for guests. The battlefield is an amazing place and the exhibit on the USS Cario is a special treat. Don't miss the Court House Muesum. It was amazing to see so many artifacts up close.

We spent two night at the Baer Inn. It was a special time in a beautiful home in an interesting town. We have fond memories of our time there.


Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip_from_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    25
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
104
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a great find! Doug was an exceptional host, friendly and attentive with great attention to detail. The breakfast was delicious, as was the evening drink and cake. The room was grandly decorated and extremely comfortable - it had a shared bathroom across the hall but I had specifically chosen it as it was the cheapest room - with noone else in the other room it shared with this was not a problem for me.

Vicksburg was a lovely town to spend time in and I wished I could have stayed longer - although there is not much happening there on Easter Sunday!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in the Scarlett room for 2 nights during Easter week. The room was large and comfortable as was the bath. The breakfasts were tasty and substantial enough to see us through until dinner. The host, while a somewhat recent (5 or 6 years) transplant to the area, is a history buff with strong customer service skills. He was very helpful with recommendations for local activities and eateries. Parking is secure behind a gate. Baer House is convenient for walking to the series of historically significant buildings in the area and the Riverwalk, Coca Cola museum, etc. My only complaint was lighting: there is only a bedside stand and lamp on one side of the bed and the bathroom lighting was not adequate for this 60-something to apply makeup, etc. All in all, a wonderful, fairly-priced B&B.

Room Tip: rooms vary somewhat in price; there are also 2 that share a bath and are commensurately priced: ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralvalleygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed in the Scarlett room. The bed was great and the room was very comfortable. What a beautiful home! The breakfasts were good and the happy hour wine and snack were nice.
It was like staying in one of the homes on the tour in Natchez. The Bear House is on the tour in Vicksburg by appointment. Doug has done an amazing job on furnishing the home and in decorating. Doug is a good host and the Baer House Inn was a great value.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have private baths. The Scarlett room did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My daughter (20) and I stayed in the Bonnie Blue Room for one evening. Our room was gorgeous with just the right touches to make it comfortable as well. Doug, the owner, was a superb, interesting host and so well-versed in the history of Vicksburg. He provided us with wonderful recommendations for dinner and sight-seeing. Doug also spoiled us with a nice cake and glass of wine before dinner. In the morning, he prepared and served a refreshing and tasty breakfast. The Baer House is a beautifully decorated home and one of the jewels of Mississippi.

Room Tip: There is so much to do and see in Vicksburg that I recommend staying for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
#1 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
3.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vicksburg
3.7 km away
Courtyard Vicksburg
Courtyard Vicksburg
#4 of 30 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Duff Green Mansion
Duff Green Mansion
#3 of 11 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 km away
Bazsinsky House
Bazsinsky House
#1 of 11 in Vicksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.4 km away
The Corners Mansion
The Corners Mansion
#4 of 11 in Vicksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1117 Grove St, Vicksburg, MS 39183-2913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price range (per night): $163 - $232
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic Vicksburg. Walking distance to restaurants, museums, antique shops, book stores and coffee shop. All rooms in the main mansion. Full breakfast with each stay, social hour, gardens with gazebo and pergola, 4 porches and historic 2-story 4-hole outhouse - not to be missed! Off street parking. Weddings venue, catering available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing