We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hermy G

Avoid! Do not stay here.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2024
Really really disappointed in this hotel, especially given the brand. We paid extra to have an ocean view suite. It was not a suite at all. It had a bedroom that was separated by 4 strange divider doors that didn't even close fully. The other room was a lounge with kitchenette. There was one 2 seater couch and no additional seating.

The issue was us was the constant banging and clanging noises in our room, which were constant through the day and night. We stayed for 9 nights and had peaceful blissful silence for the first 2 nights. The remaining 7 nights can only be described as hell on earth. The metal banging happened every minute or two. At first, we thought someone was trying to break into our room in the middle of the night. We thought it was our air con so we turned it off. But the noises continued throughout the night. We spoke to reception the next morning and they sounded surprised but said they'd get maintenance to check it out. We got back later in the day to a msg on the answer machine telling us that the noise was due to the air conditioning, it was normal and "there's nothing we can do about it" (I saved a recording of the voice msg on my phone). We looked to see if we could move hotels but the short time proximity meant the prices were astronomical. Neither of us got much sleep the remaining 6 nights, as we were constantly being woken up by the noises.

What should have been a relaxing and restful 10 days away has resulted in us leaving absolutely exhausted from lack of sleep and can't wait to get home. I spoke to reception upon check out to let them know we didn't enjoy the stay due to the noises. Elsa was lovely and said she would look into it. Then offered me 2 days resort fees ($70) refund. I explained that I wasn't interested in any refund, I just want them to sort the noise so other guests don't have to experience it. Still, I found the $70 refund an absolute kick in the face, given it cost over $3000.

Pros of the room: the aircon worked well. It is noisy coming into the room (the fan goes very hard) but it cools the room quickly. The rooms appeared to be sound proofed next to each other. We never heard any sounds from next door, above or below us which we enjoyed. We were on the 17th floor and could hear the road noise due to holes and gaps in the door joinery leading to the balcony.

Cons: on top of the above, the short was also very bizarre. It would be lovely and hot and very good pressure and then suddenly, pressure would drop and it'd either go boiling hot or freezing cold. I checked that the other room occupant wasn't running a tap to impact on the shower and he wasn't. This would happen every 1 or 2 mins during the showering. The shower would also make really loud screeching sounds just prior to the change in pressure and temperature. This didn't bother us enough to complain, as we take relatively quick showers.

A male at check in also had terrible customer service. He was standing by a computer not serving anyone, meaning there was only one person checking people in. The queue got to about 6 people before he decided to start helping. He checked me in then I asked for him to change a $20 bill so I could tip the porter. He told me he was finished for the day so I'd have to join the back of the queue to be helped by another staff member. He didn't explain where the pool was, where the restaurant was. We didn't know anything. We didn't know the wifi password. He handed us our cookies then walked away, within a few minutes that it took me to put my purse away, collect my bags, he had changed his t shirt and collected his bag and was walking out of the hotel. We later found out that double tree now offer a cookie for allergy sufferers, which my companion would've needed. This male did not offer me that option (and I didn't know it was an option).

To conclude, customer service seems like it is not a priority at all for this hotel. As others have said, they should not carry the Hilton brand. I did not see evidence of bugs in our room, however we both woke on different days with bits on our bodies. Can't confirm if they happened in the hotel or not though.

We would absolutely never stay here again and would not recommend it to anybody.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review
Responded 30 May 2024
Dear Hermy,
We appreciate you reaching out to share your thoughts regarding your recent experience at our property. It saddens us to hear we were unable to meet your expectations, and that you were disappointed with your time with us. Please accept our apologies for any noise disturbance you encountered from the air conditioning in your room; while this is certainly not a usual occurrence, we will address the concerns you raised with our maintenance team to ensure this is resolved. We're also sorry for any unfortunate interactions you had with a member of our front desk team during check-in; we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service and hospitality and regret that we were unable to deliver this on your arrival. Your feedback is invaluable and allows us to continually monitor guest satisfaction and areas where we need to be doing better. Thank you for your valuable comments.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,002
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,088
  • Priceline
    AU$1,089
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,087
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$537
  • Hotels.com
    AU$640
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$525
  • Expedia.com
    AU$639
0.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$848
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$847
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$630
  • Expedia.com
    AU$846
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$595
  • Hotels.com
    AU$454
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$319
  • Expedia.com
    AU$454
0.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$777
  • Official Site
    AU$763
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$693
  • Priceline
    AU$858
1.1 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$431
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$454
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$379
  • Expedia.com
    AU$454
0.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$205
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$173
  • Expedia.com
    AU$235
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Pool
Porte Cochere
AU$854
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$825
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$640
  • Hotels.com
    AU$826
1.3 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Beachfront
Pool
AU$296
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • Vio.com
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
8.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveller rating
750
696
426
168
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
750
696
426
168
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree front desk the hilton hawaiian village valet parking within walking distance waikiki beach ala moana mall partial ocean view block shopping balconies lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2024

Stay away- Hotel has bedbugs- They are making zero attempts to try to make up for this experience.
The Hilton name doesn’t represent respect and appreciation for their customers. The customer service is not what you would expect from such a well known brand. Very disappointing

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

What you have described is far from a normal experience with us. Guest satisfaction is one of our highest priorities. While we treat our property regularly, we will be sure to have our pest control team look into all of your comments further and make improvements where necessary. In addition, we encourage you to reach out to us offline so that we can gather more information and better assist you. Thank you, and we hope to hear from you soon.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024

We upgraded to have ocean view.
Room was spacious, king, chairs, 2 tv’s. Hotel Not exactly beautiful Hawaii style. Restaurant was simple, nothing pretty or inviting. Although fish fry was good.
Cafe to go items were good. Pool was ok at best
Our room had a Sun deck and does need care. Sun screens were shredded - Our view to the ocean.

Short walk to nice restaurants and gorgeous views. Also to stores and tour pick ups. Nice walk to Lovely hotels to visit as well. Hawaiian Village is one of them.
I guess surprised it wasn’t nicer and awesome for being in Hawaii Hilton’s usually are.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank carol2327043
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2024

Dear Carol,
Thank you for sharing your experience at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach. We're glad you enjoyed your spacious room, the convenience of nearby restaurants, and our location's easy access to beautiful views. We also appreciate your feedback on the aesthetics of our hotel and the condition of our sundeck. Your insights are invaluable in guiding our improvements, and we look forward to enhancing your next stay with us.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Hotel manager extremely unprofessional and dishonest. I had a valid reservation via Expedia and since they were oversold they would not honor it. However, I went to hilton.com and they had availability. Lied right to my face. Manager should be fired. I will never stay at a Hilton branded hotel again

Room tip: Stay somewhere else....management will lie right to your face
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markhU7992DQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Dear Mark,
We're distressed to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any confusion with your reservation and for any disappointment with how this was handled. We always aim to honor all reservations and aim to deliver respectful and forthright hospitality when speaking with guests. We'll look into your comments further, and we'd appreciate the chance to provide you with a more positive visit. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us offline so that we can assist you.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Nice place to stay Upgraded my room upon arrival and had a very nice view of the beach and park across the street. Trees restaurant was a bit pricey and wanted $30 for a buffet breakfast that was really not worth the money. Good bell staff and desk staff. Pool is quiet and does get full sun until about 3 then starts to get shaded but a nice quiet place to relax and unwind.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Jeff,
It was wonderful to host you at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach during your recent getaway. We are delighted to hear that our convenient location, friendly staff, and upgraded rooms were highlights of your stay. Your feedback about the restaurant is much appreciated and we will be sure to share your opinion with them. We hope to have the privilege to have you as a guest again in the future!

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

I wanted to acknowledge the Valet Parking staff at the hotel. This staff greets you with smiles, information and kindness. As the first folks you meet when arriving, they embody the Aloha spirit.
The entire staff at this hotel - valet parking, check in, housekeeping - offered kind words, exceptional customer service and genuine kindness.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Antonia,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit. Our team is committed to providing high-quality guest service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. You can be sure we'll pass your compliments along. It was truly a pleasure having you here, and we hope you return soon!

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews