We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mark h
Irvine, California

Dishonest manager

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
Hotel manager extremely unprofessional and dishonest. I had a valid reservation via Expedia and since they were oversold they would not honor it. However, I went to hilton.com and they had availability. Lied right to my face. Manager should be fired. I will never stay at a Hilton branded hotel again
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....management will lie right to your face
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review
Responded 30 Mar 2024
Dear Mark,
We're distressed to hear about your experience. Please accept our apologies for any confusion with your reservation and for any disappointment with how this was handled. We always aim to honor all reservations and aim to deliver respectful and forthright hospitality when speaking with guests. We'll look into your comments further, and we'd appreciate the chance to provide you with a more positive visit. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us offline so that we can assist you.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,002
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,088
  • Priceline
    AU$1,088
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$1,007
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$639
  • Hotels.com
    AU$640
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$525
  • Expedia.com
    AU$639
0.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$848
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$847
  • Algotels
    AU$649
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$665
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$595
  • Hotels.com
    AU$454
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$318
  • Expedia.com
    AU$453
0.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$777
  • Official Site
    AU$763
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$693
  • Hotels.com
    AU$857
1.1 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$431
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$454
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$379
  • Expedia.com
    AU$454
0.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$217
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Pool
Porte Cochere
AU$854
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$852
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$747
  • Hotels.com
    AU$826
1.3 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Beachfront
Pool
AU$296
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • Vio.com
    AU$230
  • Hotels.com
    AU$296
8.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveller rating
750
696
426
168
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
750
696
426
168
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree front desk the hilton hawaiian village valet parking within walking distance waikiki beach ala moana mall partial ocean view block shopping balconies lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Nice place to stay Upgraded my room upon arrival and had a very nice view of the beach and park across the street. Trees restaurant was a bit pricey and wanted $30 for a buffet breakfast that was really not worth the money. Good bell staff and desk staff. Pool is quiet and does get full sun until about 3 then starts to get shaded but a nice quiet place to relax and unwind.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Jeff,
It was wonderful to host you at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach during your recent getaway. We are delighted to hear that our convenient location, friendly staff, and upgraded rooms were highlights of your stay. Your feedback about the restaurant is much appreciated and we will be sure to share your opinion with them. We hope to have the privilege to have you as a guest again in the future!

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

I wanted to acknowledge the Valet Parking staff at the hotel. This staff greets you with smiles, information and kindness. As the first folks you meet when arriving, they embody the Aloha spirit.
The entire staff at this hotel - valet parking, check in, housekeeping - offered kind words, exceptional customer service and genuine kindness.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Antonia,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit. Our team is committed to providing high-quality guest service, and we’re thrilled to hear that we made a good impression on you. You can be sure we'll pass your compliments along. It was truly a pleasure having you here, and we hope you return soon!

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024

TLDR: Stay elsewhere.
So, I would have started by saying that this Doubletree would be a generally acceptable hotel in places like Boise or Charlotte--it's generally clean with comfortable beds, etc. But things really weren't great, and by any standards fell short in the end. To start, we had read that our reservation made by Hilton Grand Vacations wouldn't honor our Diamond Status. This was disappointing. It felt, however, a bit like we were being punished for this--we were assigned a small room on the bottom floor that never saw the sun. We had specifically requested a King sized bed, and instead were given two Queens. The front desk could only be described as curt--not welcoming, not sorry about the room, didn't care. Perhaps she anticipated our displeasure and acted accordingly. I should clarify that housekeeping staff always greeted us with a smile, as did the valet staff.

The room was, as I said, small, with low ceilings, full of two queen-sized beds. There was a patio that was plainly furnished with two chairs and nothing else. The shower was oddly one step up in the tiny bathroom. Sigh. We were resigned.

It's important to know that this hotel is at the end of Waikiki's main street--at the sort of slightly seedy end. Think prostitutes at the 7-11 kind of seedy, but it never seemed unsafe, even at night. Being removed from the more fashionable neighborhood did mean that there were more interesting and more affordable restaurants: there was truly excellent sushi directly behind the hotel, as well as two very good breakfast cafes (prepare to wait, but worth it) and an irish pub with live music. There is a food truck park at the end of the street, with a very lively setting and good selection of food options.

The hotel itself doesn't offer much charm. There's an openair lobby on above the street level--you might never visit it again after checking in. There's no bar, no garden to sit in--the pool is on the mezzanine. The restaurant has limited hours.

And here's the clincher. On our 4th morning, we started seeing cockroaches wandering through our room. Humungous tropical beasts of an insect. We notified the desk. They were largely unconcerned, but I hoped they might spray. Apparently not. The next night, the invasion intensified, and after the 4th roach crawled across the floor in the space of a few minutes, I demanded a room change. Again, not much interest, and no apology, but we were moved to a higher floor--with the king bed that we had originally requested. But still no view of anything other than another building.

So cockroaches are the final straw. Stay elsewhere. Find a charming Hawaiian hotel with a cool bar, an interesting atmosphere and NO cockroaches.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank beglisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at our property. We know how important clean accommodations and attentive service are to an amazing experience, so it's unfortunate to hear about the experience you described. Rest assured, all of your comments will be discussed with the appropriate teams and used to make improvements where necessary. Please consider giving us another chance in the future; we're confident we can deliver an incredible stay.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

My title says it all. You probably will not see Paris Hilton vacationing here. It is an older hotel, rooms are updated, painted nicely, clean sheets, and bathroom and shower clean. My shampoo, conditioner etc. dispensers were filled. Staff great service. Breakfast yes it 30 dollars but I spent 20 dollars at 7 eleven (open 24 hours, 4 min walk and we tried some different Hawaiian food) Remember, this is Hawaii $$$$ so adjust your thinking, not a “Five star world class hotel”. If you want to get a good night sleep from a long airplane ride go here.

Room tip: Walking distance to 7 eleven open 24 hours. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants and to the beach.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MargeMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Marge,
It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests. We're glad our clean, quiet accommodations impressed you and that you felt safe and welcoming while you were here. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Great location and amazing staff is worth the price and also great location , the pool is nice before night and the snacks amazing, great location too . The rooms are large with a particularly view of the ocean!

Room tip: Nice quiet pool and terro
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear Andy,
It was our pleasure to provide you with convenient, affordable accommodations. We're glad you enjoyed the pool and snacks. Our friendly staff will also be glad you felt welcome while you were here. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach!

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews