We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
beglisc
Seattle, Washington

Nope.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Jan 2024
TLDR: Stay elsewhere.
So, I would have started by saying that this Doubletree would be a generally acceptable hotel in places like Boise or Charlotte--it's generally clean with comfortable beds, etc. But things really weren't great, and by any standards fell short in the end. To start, we had read that our reservation made by Hilton Grand Vacations wouldn't honor our Diamond Status. This was disappointing. It felt, however, a bit like we were being punished for this--we were assigned a small room on the bottom floor that never saw the sun. We had specifically requested a King sized bed, and instead were given two Queens. The front desk could only be described as curt--not welcoming, not sorry about the room, didn't care. Perhaps she anticipated our displeasure and acted accordingly. I should clarify that housekeeping staff always greeted us with a smile, as did the valet staff.

The room was, as I said, small, with low ceilings, full of two queen-sized beds. There was a patio that was plainly furnished with two chairs and nothing else. The shower was oddly one step up in the tiny bathroom. Sigh. We were resigned.

It's important to know that this hotel is at the end of Waikiki's main street--at the sort of slightly seedy end. Think prostitutes at the 7-11 kind of seedy, but it never seemed unsafe, even at night. Being removed from the more fashionable neighborhood did mean that there were more interesting and more affordable restaurants: there was truly excellent sushi directly behind the hotel, as well as two very good breakfast cafes (prepare to wait, but worth it) and an irish pub with live music. There is a food truck park at the end of the street, with a very lively setting and good selection of food options.

The hotel itself doesn't offer much charm. There's an openair lobby on above the street level--you might never visit it again after checking in. There's no bar, no garden to sit in--the pool is on the mezzanine. The restaurant has limited hours.

And here's the clincher. On our 4th morning, we started seeing cockroaches wandering through our room. Humungous tropical beasts of an insect. We notified the desk. They were largely unconcerned, but I hoped they might spray. Apparently not. The next night, the invasion intensified, and after the 4th roach crawled across the floor in the space of a few minutes, I demanded a room change. Again, not much interest, and no apology, but we were moved to a higher floor--with the king bed that we had originally requested. But still no view of anything other than another building.

So cockroaches are the final straw. Stay elsewhere. Find a charming Hawaiian hotel with a cool bar, an interesting atmosphere and NO cockroaches.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jan 2024
We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at our property. We know how important clean accommodations and attentive service are to an amazing experience, so it's unfortunate to hear about the experience you described. Rest assured, all of your comments will be discussed with the appropriate teams and used to make improvements where necessary. Please consider giving us another chance in the future; we're confident we can deliver an incredible stay.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,002
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,088
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,087
  • Priceline
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$537
  • Hotels.com
    AU$640
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$525
  • Expedia.com
    AU$639
0.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$848
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$847
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$630
  • Expedia.com
    AU$846
0.9 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$595
  • Expedia.com
    AU$454
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$319
  • Hotels.com
    AU$454
0.4 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$777
  • Official Site
    AU$763
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$693
  • Expedia.com
    AU$857
1.1 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$431
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$454
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$379
  • Hotels.com
    AU$454
0.8 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$205
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$173
  • Expedia.com
    AU$235
1.0 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Pool
Porte Cochere
AU$854
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$825
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$640
  • Hotels.com
    AU$826
1.3 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Beachfront
Pool
AU$296
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    AU$236
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
8.6 km from DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveller rating
750
696
426
168
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
750
696
426
168
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree front desk the hilton hawaiian village valet parking within walking distance waikiki beach ala moana mall partial ocean view block shopping balconies lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

My title says it all. You probably will not see Paris Hilton vacationing here. It is an older hotel, rooms are updated, painted nicely, clean sheets, and bathroom and shower clean. My shampoo, conditioner etc. dispensers were filled. Staff great service. Breakfast yes it 30 dollars but I spent 20 dollars at 7 eleven (open 24 hours, 4 min walk and we tried some different Hawaiian food) Remember, this is Hawaii $$$$ so adjust your thinking, not a “Five star world class hotel”. If you want to get a good night sleep from a long airplane ride go here.

Room tip: Walking distance to 7 eleven open 24 hours. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants and to the beach.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MargeMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2024

Dear Marge,
It's always a pleasure hearing from our guests. We're glad our clean, quiet accommodations impressed you and that you felt safe and welcoming while you were here. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Great location and amazing staff is worth the price and also great location , the pool is nice before night and the snacks amazing, great location too . The rooms are large with a particularly view of the ocean!

Room tip: Nice quiet pool and terro
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear Andy,
It was our pleasure to provide you with convenient, affordable accommodations. We're glad you enjoyed the pool and snacks. Our friendly staff will also be glad you felt welcome while you were here. The next time you're in the area, please come see us again at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach!

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2023 via mobile

The staff were very friendly but everything else was average at best. Room was a bit dated. Mildew smell in the hallway. Tiny balcony that barely accommodated two chairs. On a very busy and noisy street.

It’s not too far from the beach at the Hilton Hawaiian Village but it is about a 20-minute walk to get to the main Waikiki Beach area.

Not a lot of dining options within a 5-minute walk.

If you are looking to be close to the beach without paying beachfront prices you can do better if you stay several blocks southeast of this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelergreggp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2023

There's no doubt that you can always expect remarkable service anytime you visit here and our team will be thrilled to be recognized for their hard work. However, it is our mission to ensure that our accommodations are a reflection of our high standards. You can be sure that your feedback will be addressed, and we welcome another chance to impress you in the future.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2023

So - I'll start by saying that I'm one of those people who thoroughly read through online reviews before deciding on which hotel to book. While I'm partial to the Hilton brand, I still do significant research beforehand. After reading a handful of negative reviews regarding the DoubleTree in Waikiki, I gotta admit, I was a bit nervous going in. Nonetheless, I still decided on this property for a one-night stay, and I gotta tell you - I disagree with all the negativity. I had an absolutely wonderful stay! Checking in was extremely quick and efficient, my room was lovely, clean and spacious (with fantastic views!), and while my interactions with staff were few, they were always extremely friendly and accommodating. Location is in the heart of an extremely substantial amount of shops, restaurants and nightlife. Perhaps I'm easy to please, or that I really kept things simple for this stay, but nonetheless, I would most definitely stay here again, I had such a positive experience. No complaints whatsoever. Only a tremendous amount of gratitude. Thank you, DoubleTree!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

What a wonderful review to receive. It's so good to hear you enjoyed so much about your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach, especially our dedication to cleanliness, prime location, and all the comfort and amenities we provide our valued guests. We appreciate you giving us a chance to impress you, and we cannot wait to welcome you back for another five-star stay. Thank you.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023 via mobile

I preface this review with the fact that I’m an HHonors Lifetime Diamond and a college hospitality management instructor, so I have very high expectations, especially for Hilton properties.

Strengths:
*Front Desk Staff was always very friendly. Henry was especially accommodating both with picking our room AND finding us a new one on the 2nd day (see opportunities below.)
*Rosalinda was our housekeeper for 4 days. A very sweet lady who was so helpful. We don’t need or want full housekeeping when we travel but she always grabbed the trash and refreshed whatever we needed.
*Rondel from maintenance was a rock star. I met him in the elevator and mentioned our fridge wasn’t working. Without having to call in a formal maintenance request, he showed up at our door with a new fridge. Another day, there was a leak in the back of the toilet. Rondel showed up and quickly fixed it.
*Our dinner for that evening was in the fridge when it went out, but TinaMarie, front desk manager, made it right by crediting the food + off our bill.
*All of the Bellmen were super cool and helpful with answers about where to eat, etc.

The whole team was especially helpful though the texting tool on the Hilton App.

Another super fun feature was the FREE coconut leaf hat making class in the lobby on Tuesday! (See pic)

Areas of opportunity:
*Two beds are normally our preference for longer stays and all of the upgrades were to king beds. The first night, we stayed with the 2 bed option and that was a mistake. The bathroom was sooooo small, it was almost unusable. The shower was very small (maybe 4’ x 4’) and up a stair. The toilet was so close to the wall that your leg blocked you from reaching the TP AND the sink was a pedestal so nowhere to put your stuff. Henry, mentioned above, hooked us up with a much better room, even though only 1 bed for the other 4 nights.

*The other challenge is the food & beverage credit which is technically my ongoing complaint with the Hilton corporation, rather than this particular hotel. Several years ago, they took away the FREE breakfast and instituted a food & beverage “credit.” At some properties, this credit covers breakfast; at others it does not! This property was especially disappointing in this regard. The very average breakfast buffet (scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, several breads, a few fruits, hot and cold cereal was $29.95 AND that was the only breakfast option on which to use our $18 credit. NOBODY on the planet needs a $30 breakfast (unless Jon BonJovi is serving it!) We found more value in spending it on the dinner menu. One day when we couldn’t get to the restaurant during dinner, I had to grab 10 bags of M&Ms from the pantry store.

If I was the GM, I would institute a cold-buffet option for 1/2 the price. $15.45 + tip = $18!!

NORMALLY, I would automatically ding the property 1 star for the lack of FREE breakfast, but honestly, I can’t this time because the people were all so amazing!! Mahalo!!!

Room tip: Avoid 2 bed standard room Don’t pay for an ocean view - there isn’t one. They were nice about giving us a key to the pool after checkout
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank WIWeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana - Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. As a Hilton Honors Diamond Member and hospitality management instructor, your kind words regarding the exceptional service provided by our team are greatly appreciated. It's encouraging to hear you had positive experiences with room changes, housekeeping, and prompt maintenance. We also appreciate your constructive feedback on the room size and breakfast credit system. Despite the issues you mentioned, we're glad our overall service quality met your expectations. Your insights are valuable to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alana - Waikiki Beach.

Shaun Ono,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews