We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Check in, check out” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Check in, check out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Not sure where the five star reviews are coming from. We checked in on May 21st for a four night stay and checked out the next day. Room was 'old' and worn, view was of a most ugly high rise next door, only one elevator for an entire building, staff seemed disorganized, public areas very sterile feeling, hallways outside of rooms were creepy and plain, dinner was a disaster - food nearly inedible. I probably should give it a single star rating, not two. The hotel we went to was the Royal Hawaiian, a delight and a piece of old Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    445
    148
    52
    38
See reviews for
633
1,152
63
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

the halekulani is a little piece of heaven on the beach, very peaceful and quite. our ocean front room was completely renovated: lovely, innovative, and spotlessly clean. the lanai was very roomy, with a splendid view of the ocean and the evening entertainment. my only complaint about the room was the lack of a mini refrigerator. there was a cooler (which really didn't cool all that well). the staff was very professional and friendly, willing to help with any concern and answer all questions. our experience left no doubt that accommodating their guests is of the highest priority. the food was delicious and beautifully presented. make sure you treat yourself to their coconut cake and the breakfast buffet! we also had wonderful service poolside, enjoying the drinks of our choice and a menu with a great selection. do not hesitate to spend your hawaiian vacation here. staying at the halekulani made our holdiay in waikiki incredibly special and memorable.

Room Tip: we stayed in #1003, and wouldn't hesitate to request that room again. beautiful views of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grtlkskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My wife picked out this hotel based on review on Internet, it turns out this is one of the best hotels I have even been. Great breakfast, fabulous decor, in fact, not a single decor or paintings on the wall, simplely let the scenic views speaks for itself.

I love Janpanese way of simplicity. I just love it, will go back again with family.....

There's is also live music pm, a lot of wedding over there. The location is great. Guests are polite, and no screaming kids running around, even there are quite bit Japanese kids around.

Lov

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaiKevin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Halekulani met all of our expectations and more. Friendly and helpful staff all around the resort. That doesn't just include the Concierges, who were always helpful and kind whenever we had a question, but also the front desk (probably one of the easiest check outs ever), the doormen, the pool staff and people just wandering around the resort. Even security are friendly and kind.

As for the rooms, they are wonderful, spacious refurbished rooms with clean, modern appliances. I imagine that you would have wonderful views from most rooms in the hotel as it overlooks the beach from both sides.

There is a small beach just in front of the hotel which is clean and has plenty of room, meanwhile the pool is a good size with staff that will look after you all day.

Obviously the Halekulani is a little more expensive than other resorts, but you get what you pay for here, first class service and rooms.

Just a couple of comments; I think that the beds are good - not excellent like the rest of the resort - but perhaps this is something the Halekulani might consider looking at in the future. They were a little too soft for our liking.

Also, the Spa is very overpriced. My girlfriend had a one hour massage treatment and paid $220 for that; and apparently only had 40-45 minutes of an actual massage. The quality was OK.

Thank you to the staff at the Halekulani for making our stay so comfortable and we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Room with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank majicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at Halekulani last week for 4 days. I had heard great
things about this hotel so my anticipation was high. Unfortunately our
experience was not very good. We had an ocean front room which was blocked on
one side by the massive Sheraton hotel and on other side by hundreds of rooms
with balcony and zero privacy. Sitting on balcony felt like whole world is
watching you. The room as as small as it can get, old furniture. Closet opens up
from bathroom and bedroom, a strange set up. Only one small sink in bathroom. It
seems mattress was years old and springs were gone. We called and it was
replaced by a nice firm mattress. Sink did
not drain and so we called to have that fixed but problem remained. Safe
malfunctioned 3 times. We were told our room had a soft renovation. Amazing a
hotel which charged us $700 plus each day left all these issues alone. All this
happened within 3 hours of our arrival. We requested a change to even a lower
category room like an ocean view room, we were told nicely that it will be done
but it never happened despite my meeting their manager on duty twice a day. It
seems management is very polite but not interested in keeping customers happy.
There is no bar area outside near the pool. In the evening we had to sit in
outside restaurant to get drinks served. Restaurant food was very good but we had to
wait for 30 minutes though we had reservation. In summary, a very disappointing
stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are probably better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ravi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $742 - $969
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Odigeo so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing