We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel All Round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel All Round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I started off our Honeymoon with a 3 day stay at the Halekulani. We were told by our driver that Halekulani means "House Befitting Heaven"... and the hotel lived up to its name. The staff if very friendly and attentive. As soon as we arrived, we were whisked up to our room for an in-room check in (no waiting in line or long check in process before finally getting to your room). Since it was our honeymoon the management left a large fruit plate with a bottle of champagne and a hand written note welcoming us, in the room. A very nice touch.

The room had a beautiful view of the ocean with a nice sized balcony. The Bathroom was huge, with a sink, vanity, and separate soaking tub and shower. All of the amenities and linens (bed, bath, robes) were plush. The room had a refrigerator that was stocked twice daily with complimentary water. The rooms were cleaned not once, but twice a day. In the early part of the day housekeeping would come and do a full cleaning of the room, in the early evening while we were out to dinner they would come back and turn down the sheets, straighten up the room if it needed, and change any wet towels we had. Each night we would come back to find a new little gift on our bed (a sea shell with a poem, truffles another night with a "house" recipe, a cute key chain with hand carved mini flip-flops). The breakfast buffet had something for everyone: standard "American Breakfast" options like pancakes, eggs, baked pastries, coffee & tea; Japanese options like seaweed salad, miso soup, & sashimi, and local Hawaiian fruits and recipes. Plus, every morning they would also set up a coffee station in the lobby so that you could grab a coffee to go. The service during breakfast was top notch. Our waiter made sure to go above and beyond to make sure we were happy.

The hotel is centrally located in Waikiki walking distance to a number of restaurants, shops, and other hotels. It rained one day while we were there and the hotel staff put out bins with umbrellas throughout the hotel for the guests to take and use. The beach directly in front of the hotel is small, but you can easily walk down the beach to a bigger area a few feet away. The pool was very nice...and again, we got great service by the pool.

The spa offered a great selection of services and their staff was attentive and very professional. Whenever we vacation, the spa is a must for us, and the Halekulani's did not disappoint.

The business center was great as well. Large, with a number of computers so you don't have to wait, and an attendant on hand in case you require any assistance. It also had its own bar containing coffee, tea, juice, water, and soda, and couches and televisions where you could sit and read a book.

There may be bigger or more modern hotels in the area, but I would find it hard to believe that there is any place with better attention to detail and service than the Halekulani. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for the best Ocean View. Lower rooms may have a view partially blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mspr1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,759
    457
    149
    52
    38
See reviews for
640
1,179
66
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Well, this review isnt of a recent stay but we had our wedding here back in 2010 and we couldnt be more happy with our choice. Everything was great, from working with the wedding coordinators, banquet and hotel staff, the service was 5 star all the way. If you are considering having your wedding in Waikiki, Halekulani is the place to be. When taking all the costs involved you may think Halekulani is way over the top, but you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We recently travelled to Honolulu with our 2 children 17 and 19 and after much research chose the Halekulani. We did not go wrong in anyway. The hotel is located in the heart of Waikiki - great for shopping and dining with easy access to all Waikiki has to offer yet quiet and elegant once inside the hotels grounds. The service is outstanding from reception to concierge, restaurant staff, maid service etc - nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. We stayed in the rooms that are yet to be refurbished but they are extremely well maintained and well appointed. The stand alone shower was the strongest we had on our trip. The convenience of outer connecting rooms (rather than interconnecting) is great for families and the view overlooking the Ocean and Diamond Head was worth the splurge. Breakfast was included in our package rate and we ate daily at House Without a Key overlooking the ocean - a beautiful setting and a great buffet breakfast. The beach area in front of the hotel is very small - there isnt enough room to sit on the sand but the hotel's pool overlooking the ocean is lovely and one of the largest in Waikiki.
We can't wait to return to this hotel - heaven in Honolulu.

Room Tip: Diamond Head Ocean View rooms, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dhnafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I recently returned to Halekulani for a 14 night holiday, and it was absolute heaven. The staff are exceptional, they are what really make this hotel stand out from the rest. Every single staff member who greeted us the night we checked in welcomed us "home".

We visited Halekulani for the first time in July/August 2011 for a 10 night stay, and we were so blown away, we decided to return for our fortnight holiday in January.

The hotel is undergoing a renovation project at the moment, so there were a few teams of builders on-site, but they were so discrete that you did not notice them. The rooms have been very tastefully re-fitted with updated furniture and outdoor furniture that at first glance you do not notice the changes.

The huge wide screen tv is excellent.

The wardrobe can be accessed from both the room and the bathroom, so you are able to have both doors open and have a lovely sea view from the bathroom! The in-house toiletries are nothing fancy but worked a treat.

We received a hand written note from Gerald Glennon the General Manager welcoming us back, that was tucked into a lovely floral arrangement in our room upon our arrival, alongside 2 papaya halves, with fresh lime. A cheese board and a bottle of their house red wine was also left for us. The wine was delicious!

The nightly entertainment is enchanting, and the musical men even provide a sunset countdown for you, and take the time to point out the green flash.

We dined at all the hotel restaurants, and returned to Orchid's no less than 6 times for their Onaga "Orchid's Style" dish that has been on their menu for 20 years.

We will be counting the sleeps until we can return to Halekulani and count ourselves exceptionally lucky to be able to have this fabulous hotel as part of our life now.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CJJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

My stay at Halekulani this past January 2012 was suberb! The service is top notch (such as what you can expect from a Four Seasons), the food was delicious, and the room was maintained impeccably without any disturband on your privacy or time (they clean it twice a day and leave you little gifts each night that are truly nice keep sakes). I hope to stay at one of their suites on day on an anniversary in the future. Using whatahotel.com to book my stay was hugely beneficial as well as a tip. They were able to get me an upgrade, daily brunch (and this is no normal brunch - one of the best on the island) daily and free parking for my stay for the same price as one room category below. This was such a treat since it was my Baby Moon!

Room Tip: Ocean front is beautiful - use whatahotel.com!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimEunhae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $785 - $988
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotelopia so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing