We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Tranquility in the Middle of Bustling Waikiki”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Luxury Tranquility in the Middle of Bustling Waikiki”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've been to the Halekulani seven times in the last 11 years and it does not disappoint. Relaxing is not a word that you associate with Waikiki, but the moment you set foot in the open air lobby of this fine resort, there is an immediate sense of peace and calm. This won't necessarily be to everyone's liking. The decor, the floral arrangements, the rooms are all understated.

The service is wonderful, very quiet and discrete. The rooms are very automated, and you can just press a button by a console on the bed table to signal your needs. The bathrooms are set up to double as dressing rooms and have separate shower stalls and baths. The rooms are a good size for Waikiki, and the suites (I had a Pool view suite) are very luxurious.

Food is really superlative, they have their own bakery on premises, so breakfast is particularly good. I've tried all of their restaurants except for La Mer, and they are first rate. In particular, House Without a Key is a great place for an informal meal.

While the hotel does not front a wide section of Waikiki beach, the pool, with its distinctive tiled Orchid bottom, is heated and usually not crowded.

There are two particularly special Halekulani experiences that I would recommend. One is to go the House Without a Key in the evening to see Kano'e Miller, a former Miss Hawaii, dance the Hula to the tunes of a live Hawaiian Band. The classiest act that you will see in Hawaii. The other is to order a Japanese breakfast and enjoy it on the terrace of your room. The breakfast consists of grilled fish, rice or rice porridge and pickled vegetables. It's a great alternative to an American breakfast and no other Hawaii hotel (not even the Four Seasons) does as it well.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, and fall asleep to the sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank upperwestsider72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    468
    156
    52
    39
See reviews for
665
1,207
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel was highly recommended by travel agents and was told to stay here if we wanted a truly special and memorable stay. However it did not live up to our expectations. Whilst the hotel is well maintained, I did not find the service to be outstanding. The check-in receptionist seemed distant and cold and despite requesting a high room floor prior to arrival, we were given a 2nd floor room. The room decor is outdated as is the bathroom. I did like the layout of the wardrobe as a walk-through to the bathroom.

The restaurants were nice but not any different from the other 5* hotels in Hawaii. Having stayed at the Royal Hawaiian just the week before, we much prefer the RH as the rooms and service were of a much higher standard. RH is also of much better value considering we paid $100 less per night.

Halekulani is a good hotel but having stayed at many luxury hotels in the world, this hotel is not one I am planning to return to and is by no means anywhere near my favourites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SYD-YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Just got back from our annual trip to Hawaii. Spent a few nights here again at the Halekulani. After reading the other reviews, I just dont know that I have more to add to this. This place is truly a slice of heaven! Very serene and peaceful. The service is incredible. The people who work here are amazing. After the craziness of the holidays and gloomy east coast weather, this is the one place I learn to find my "happy place" and smile again. It is pricey but whats a couple days of being spoiled!? I told Santa this would be a great gift! And he did not disappoint! We could of gone to Maui for a few days, but we opted to return here and just be pampered. The pool is fab. Sure the beach is very small, but its an easy walk to the water. Sunset dinner at Orchids is a must. Food is decadent and amazing and Rob our waiter was excellent. Him and Chris waited on us hand and foot and actually took the time to chat and enjoy conversation. We were never rushed. And the Mai Tais at House W/O a key is also a must do. (I dont even like sweet drinks, but you have to try them!) Its a great place to get away from it all, the kids and reality and just find romance again with the one you love! Next year I am going to have to stay longer!! Im already sad Im not there. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The garden view is not bad and this year we had the partial ocean view facing Diamond Head. Awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank azharleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were only here for one night as a stop over on our way home but we really enjoyed it. The staff were quite amazing with the concierge running to get me some US dollars to pay the cab driver (I had run out of cash and he wouldn't take a card). The restaurants were great with a real island atmoshpere right on the beach. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We can't afford a stay in this wonderful hotel but we never miss happy hour and outstanding local entertainment at their oceanfront setting.

Drinks are a fair price and the staff is welcoming.

During peak season be sure to go early to avoid lines of people at this romantic setting.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b25b25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $703 - $1,043
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia APAC, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing