We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$481
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Expedia.com
AU$634
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
AU$412
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anthony L

Awesome Queen Kapiolani

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Aug 2021via mobile
Took my summer business/Vacation to Oahu. Stayed at the Queen Kapiolani in Waikiki. The locations was closest to Safeway, Leonard's bakery, and Diamond Crater Hike. Few blocks from surfing. So it was Ideal.
My room had a nice unobstructed view of the zoo, Diamond Head and the Beach.

The Hotel crew did a wonderful job of parking my Car and keeping my room clean. The room was very spacious. Bigger than my friends room at the Sheraton.

The Queen Kapiolani is also pet friendly. My room was very clean and never noticed any pet odors. Coming back to Oahu I will definitely stay at Queen Kapiolani.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Aloha A6875DWanthonyl,
Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and loved our convenient location in Waikiki and room views. Glad to hear that our valet and housekeeping team provided you with excellent service and we will be look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warmest Mahalo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$468
  • Hotels.com
    AU$597
  • Expedia.com
    AU$597
  • travelup.com
    AU$561
1.0 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$787
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$775
  • travelup.com
    AU$826
  • Hotels.com
    AU$775
1.2 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$327
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
  • Hotels.com
    AU$360
  • travelup.com
    AU$359
1.3 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Official Site
AU$604
  • Booking.com
    AU$585
  • Destinia.com
    AU$487
  • Priceline
    AU$783
0.9 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Beachfront
Pool
Booking.com
AU$368
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$395
  • Vio.com
    AU$304
  • Expedia.com
    AU$395
1.1 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$595
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$594
  • Destinia.com
    AU$495
  • Expedia.com
    AU$557
2.5 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$817
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$782
  • travelup.com
    AU$639
  • Expedia.com
    AU$782
1.4 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Expedia.com
AU$344
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$344
  • Agoda.com
    AU$215
  • Priceline
    AU$344
10.6 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$1,375
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,375
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,118
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,266
1.3 km from Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (1,889)
Filter reviews
1,889 results
Traveller rating
1,310
376
106
44
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,310
376
106
44
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond head honolulu zoo dole whip coffee roasters surf shop waikiki beach kapiolani park beach chairs and towels third floor bell desk junior suite pool deck fitness center valet staff amazing hotel city view the location is perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 1,889 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

So impressed with this hotel. Clean, comfortable, great atmosphere and services (including surfboard rentals), best bed on our stay, fantastic restaurant, great views, perfect location. Wish we’d stayed here longer. We’ll be staying here for sure when we come back some day.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davebQ8280RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Aloha davebQ8280RA,
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful, 5 star review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and loved our comfortable rooms, restaurant services, location with attractions nearby, and surfboard rentals in our lobby. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warmest Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

We finally got a chance to return to Waikiki and of course we booked our stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Our first visit to the Queen was in 2001 and this trip was our 16th stay. As always the charm of this hotel is their staff. Many of the current staff were there in 2001. We were greeted by Theresa and Jarris and both remembered us and so glad to see us. Calvin and Kavia were extremely helpful on our trip, also got to finally talk to Scott who also has been there for a few years. Jocelyn has been a mainstay at the front desk and has always been so help us. The rooms were clean and housekeeping as always does an amazing job. Dustin and his crew do and amazing job. As you can see the majority of my review revolves around the staff of this hotel. They will do what they can and even go out of their to assure your satisfaction. The only thing that I could say is they could help Josh out at the valet in the morning. He was alone much of the time and really scrambling to take care of everyone. Overall you can't go wrong staying at the Queen. However, do yourself a favor and get an upgraded room the standard rooms are a little cramped. I have recommended this hotel to some of my friends and they all have been happy.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Aloha RennyS7R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on you return visit to the Queen Kapi'olani hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and appreciate your comments on staff friendliness. We will be sure to recognize our team members mentioned for providing you with great service throughout your stay. Your recommendations to friends are also greatly appreciated and we will look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable time.
Warmest Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

I am very happy with my experience at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Some of the things are out of their control because of C19 however, they made the best out of it and made guests stay comfortable as expected.

Registration at the Front Desk was fast and very thorough with additional covid information. They double check the Safe Travel screening so logging on before checking in would save a lot of time. Elevators are 4 person max, but there are 3 so not much wait time. The day time can get active, just asked the staff for access to the stair; they will allow you.

The Deck restaurant is on the 3rd floor tends to get very busy so making reservations are recommended or just go on OpenTable.com. You'll thank me later.

Beach is close, less than 5 minutes as well as other food options. For late night hunger, we just UberEATS. OMG grill was so good. Parking is a little tight which is understandable. There a lot of people coming down to Hawaii. Our view was everything, especially since we are coming from Chicago. The real highlights about our trip is the excellent service from the front desk staff. Had multiple great conversations with Allan during the evenings. Theresa gave us recommendations on food. Len with some coffee tips. Everyone was amazing. They are very kind and helpful. Forgot the maid name, but she was amazing. Will surely come back.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 307kcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Aloha 307kcc,
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful review. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments on our restaurant services, front desk check in process with Covid 19 protocol, room views, and convenient location in Waikiki. We will be sure to recognize our team members for providing you with friendly service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another enjoyable experience.
Warmest Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

We had a very nice family staycation that even included our little dog. It is great to find a pet friendly place, and one that was clean and recently renovated. We had a great room with a nice ocean and zoo view. The employees were very friendly from the bell staff, front desk and especially Julie. We definitely look forward to another staycation at this property.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawaiidave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Aloha hawaiidave2013,
Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your wonderful, 5 star review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your comments on our pet friendly property, room views, and staff friendliness. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team members and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay!
Warmest Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Overall, the hotel was great. Chose Q.K. Hotel for the following reasons: ratings, location, views, proximity to the beach, and on-site parking. After a successful check-in with our chosen airline and passing the Safe Travels Hawaii requirements which included the Q.R. code, we, my party of 4, after being given our bracelets, to signify we are all good for travel. After a long 9 hour flight from the mainland, we were all shock at our treatment at check-in at the hotel. This was on August 1, 2021 at around 5PM. For the positives, our whole vacation was great and worth the expense. This was the vacation of our dreams to escape the nightmare of the covid virus. I would like to give a big shoutout to the best bell staff especially Kawal in the A.M. and David in the P.M.. They went above and beyond to assist us thereby erasing our initial bad experience. Also, thanking the housekeeping staff and the hotel staff who address the issue of our broken fridge and replaced it with a brand new one in no time. The one negative was the bathtub floor which was slippery, the lack of help aides, and the lack of storage for our bathtub toiletries. This is just minor. But, it would be more satisfying if management reach out to me in regards to our traumatic check-in. Therefore in conclusion, my rating changed from average to very good.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Queen Kapiolani Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Aloha Maria B,
Thank you for staying with us here at the Queen Kapi'olani hotel and for sharing your valued feedback. We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you had with your check in experience and will be sure to follow up with Management for future improvement. Glad to hear that our staff members in housekeeping and Kawai from our bell team provided you with friendly and helpful service for the remainder of your stay and that you were able to enjoy other aspects of your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for a more enjoyable experience.
Warmest Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews