We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peni B

Quiet and private. Within 5 minutes walking distance of banks, shops, and markets

Review of Pagoda Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 June 2024
Quiet and private. Though near busy roads, the traffic noise does not reach indoors into guest areas. Within 5 minutes walk on even paved areas to Walmart, Asian market, Ala Moana Hotel, Ala Moana Shopping Center, Bank of Hawaii, and churches.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 June 2024
Peni, thank you for sharing your experience at Pagoda Hotel. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the quiet and private atmosphere, despite the proximity to busy roads. It’s great to know you appreciated our convenient location near various amenities and attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$567
  • Hotels.com
    AU$570
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$446
  • Expedia.com
    AU$570
1.0 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$1,035
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,038
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$917
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$824
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$827
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$647
  • Expedia.com
    AU$827
2.2 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$718
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    AU$683
  • Destinia.com
    AU$562
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$508
  • Hotels.com
    AU$448
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$308
  • Expedia.com
    AU$448
1.7 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$443
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$469
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$384
  • Hotels.com
    AU$469
2.0 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$282
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$321
  • Lol.travel
    AU$241
  • Hotels.com
    AU$321
2.3 km from Pagoda Hotel
Pool
AU$648
  • Official Site
    AU$701
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$551
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Pagoda Hotel
Beachfront
Pool
AU$363
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$266
  • Priceline
7.5 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
198
199
155
86
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
198
199
155
86
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating restaurant front desk sams club koi pond ala moana mall within walking distance convenient location enjoyed my stay ross walmart shopping aloha dvd convenience ohana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2024

Pagoda is a classic hotel, famous for their restaurant surrounded with koi fish. Hotel is conveniently close to Ala Moana Shopping Center and once a popular eating place, Like-Like Drive-In. Hotel is locally budget friendly.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marklapilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

marklapilio,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pagoda Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the unique ambiance of our restaurant. We are pleased you found our hotel to be budget friendly. We hope to welcome you back for another pleasant stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024

When making reservation was advised by Fidel that taxes and fees would be waived at check-in, he confirmed with supervisor. Upon check-in front desk clerk said no that’s not true and not sure where he got that information so I said OK I will contact him and get this figured out. We checked in and got in elevator, keys would not work to take us to the room. Someone else helped us get up there got to our room keys did not work. Had to call down front desk to have someone let us in our room, went down after a bit Got new keys made few hours later. Prior to getting ready for bed A baby cockroach is crawling on the bed! wake up to see a baby roach on the floor and baby roaches crawling around in the bathroom on the counter. later that evening went to the front desk asked if they can do something about the roaches and they said that they could spray so I said OK not realizing that someone would be knocking on my door at 9 PM to spray our room as we are getting ready to sleep! Next morning I go to the front desk and ask them if they Had some thing for the roaches (as they are coming through a crack on the bathroom counter and I see two more baby roaches on the bathroom floor ) Such as roach traps, the front desk lady states that guest normally buy their own and they don’t provide that. That statement from the agent already tells me that this is an ongoing issue so of course I speak those words back to her which means this is an ongoing problem, we head out for the day come back and our room is not cleaned, call down to the front desk to see when our room will get cleaned and they advised that they clean every fourth day??? Well, no wonder they have a cockroach problem! Do not stay there unless you want to sleep with one eye open, I definitely do not recommend this place. You get what you pay for.

Room tip: Be sure to sleep with one eye open live cockroaches crawling around
Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigate296074
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

The hotel regrets any inconvenience experienced during your stay. It is concerning to hear about the issues with the room keycards, and the condition of your accommodations. The hotel takes cleanliness very seriously and strives to maintain high standards. The management is dedicated to correcting any issues that detract from the guest experience. The feedback is valuable, and we are committed to making necessary improvements. Your comments will be shared with the relevant teams to ensure better service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024

Great local location with walking distance to more local shopping and transportation. No tourist type chaos and high prices as this is away from the mecca of hotels. Although it doesn't have that high luxury type of hotel vibe, it has high practicality and amenities value of a more local experience.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timtor003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

timtor003,

Pagoda Hotel is delighted to hear that you enjoyed its prime location and the unique, practical experience it offers. We're glad you appreciated the convenience of nearby shopping and transportation options, away from the busy tourist areas. We hope to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2024

Kitchenette exhaust runs noisily. The pillows were too hard and not pliable which gave me neck pains. I find it odd that for the daily room rate I was paying, I had to "co-pay" $5 for morning breakfasts.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ray N Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Ray N Y,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay, including noise and discomfort. Your comments regarding the breakfast fee and the kitchenette have been noted. We appreciate your perspective and will take it into consideration as we continually strive to improve our guests' experiences.

We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2024

Hotel is a bit run down but it gives it character. The hotel has been in the neighborhood for a a long time. If you want upscale, head to Waikiki instead. As a hotel guest, we receive a $5 voucher for breakfast at their restaurant. It's no gimmick. I selected an omelet off their menu (had many other break options available for $5 too) with orange juice for $5.24 with tax. Hotel also has a koi pond, that we can feed. Request a new renovated room facing Ala Moana Center. Highrise construction still not completed.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KeikiHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

KeikiHT,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pagoda Hotel. It is delightful to hear you appreciated the character and history of our establishment. Our breakfast vouchers are indeed a wonderful perk, and we're glad you enjoyed your meal. The koi pond is certainly a unique feature as well. We appreciate your feedback regarding the room preferences and construction. We are constantly working to ensure a pleasant stay for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews