We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ann W
Honokaa, Hawaii

Big Rooms, fantastic location at this neighborhood style hotel 🌺

Review of Pagoda Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
Went to see James Taylor at Blaisdell and was able to walk there from here, less than 1 mile away.
Not having to negotiate traffic or the stress of parking is huge. 🌺

Shopping from this location is a breeze. Everything from Walmart to AlaMoana is only a stroll away.
A must stop shop is Don Quixote, Japanese quality and what a variety of local and foreign: gifts, food, and housewares.

The front desk will give you a packet of fish food to feed the numerous quantity and colorful koi at the floating restaurant next door. My favorite burst of color thing to do. It's like a living painting.

Breakfast can't be beat for guests, costing only $5.00. WOW!

Easy to take The Bus or UBER to crowded Waikiki...and then return to this neighborhood style hotel where the rooms are huge and the staff are friendly.

A hui hou Pagoda...see you next time.
Ann (from the BI)
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Come and relax...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Agency / Consultant at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 May 2024
KahanaK9, thank you for sharing such a delightful experience at Pagoda Hotel. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, the vibrant koi feeding, and our economical breakfast for guests. Our team members appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return. Until then, a hui hou!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$567
  • Hotels.com
    AU$570
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$446
  • Expedia.com
    AU$570
1.0 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$1,035
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,038
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$917
  • Expedia.com
    AU$986
2.1 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$824
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$827
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$647
  • Hotels.com
    AU$827
2.2 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$718
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    AU$683
  • Destinia.com
    AU$562
  • Priceline
    AU$764
2.3 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$508
  • Expedia.com
    AU$448
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$308
  • Hotels.com
    AU$448
1.7 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$443
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$469
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$384
  • Hotels.com
    AU$469
2.0 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$282
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$321
  • Lol.travel
    AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$321
2.3 km from Pagoda Hotel
Pool
AU$648
  • Official Site
    AU$701
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$551
  • Trip.com
    AU$834
2.5 km from Pagoda Hotel
Beachfront
Pool
AU$363
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$363
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$266
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
7.5 km from Pagoda Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
198
199
155
86
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
198
199
155
86
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating restaurant front desk sams club koi pond ala moana mall within walking distance convenient location enjoyed my stay ross walmart shopping aloha dvd convenience ohana
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Great location within walking distance to Ala Moana Center, restaurants, shopping, main streets to the freeway and Waikiki. Less traffic and congestion than Waikiki. Reasonable rate, very affordable compared to the beach resorts. Well maintained property, nice rooms and amenities. Discount coupon for breakfast at hotel cafe.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1ikdvf1uff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taylor Shumate, Owner at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Pagoda Hotel. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed our prime location close to the main attractions, as well as the affordability of our rates. We take pride in maintaining our property and offering enjoyable accommodations. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we truly appreciate the acknowledgment of our efforts. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Great Central location for riding the bus. Beautiful lobby and pool area. Just a few cleanliness issues that come with an older hotel. Our room still showed signs of its former (rude) guests: gum in the cracks of the shower walls, lipstick on the mirror, group signatures on the mirror when the bathroom fogs up. We didn't end up using the kitchenette partially due to the few cockroaches we saw. We were told that housekeeping would come on the 4th day but apparently the first day we checked in doesn't count (?). They came after the 4th night (which is the 5th day). Housekeeping also came at 8 am and told us they had to enter right then and won't come back later so we had to wake up and get out right away. Front desk was always very helpful. Air conditioning unit was a bit loud but effective. Fairly comfortable stay for a good price. $5 breakfast was delicious!

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eliu738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taylor Shumate, Owner at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Eli, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's good to hear you appreciated the central location, inviting lobby and pool area, and the overall value during your stay. Your remarks about the cleanliness of your room and the timing of our housekeeping services are definitely noted. Our team aims to provide a hassle-free experience, including prompt and efficient housekeeping. It is also unfortunate to hear that you experienced some disturbance from the air conditioning system. We acknowledge your helpful comments about the kitchenette and the challenges with the air conditioning - they'll be valuable in improving our services. On a positive note, it's pleasing to learn our front desk was instrumental and you found the breakfast delightful. Thank you for choosing us and for your invaluable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Great place to stay to rest and reset for the next day. With all the site seeing and dining places on the island and money you're going to spend, the Pagoda hotel is a very good place to just rest. The Pagoda hotel does show signs of aging. Also, it is walking distance to Walmart if you needed a quick something like drinks and snacks for your hotel stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank islandpride2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GenManager-GM, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

It's heartening to hear that your stay at the Pagoda Hotel served as a comfortable base for your explorations on the island. We appreciate you highlighting our convenient location near local amenities like Walmart. We acknowledge that our hotel has a rich history, and we're continually making improvements to enhance the comfort of our guests. Your words are welcomed, and we hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Hotel rooms are extremely run down! The room had roaches on the bed and the counter, hair in the tub and on the floor. During the middle of our stay we had to move rooms due to the next room leaking from the room above, we returned back to our room to find the toilet empty and tub full with backed up crap. Gross! I called the front desk and to have someone check on it. They did have us move across when maintenance went up to find it more difficult to resolve giving the time of the evening it happened.
Check in was a unnecessary confusing nightmare that could have been simplified if (Lynda?) was more friendly and was aware that we could not hear her behind her mask and glass. The rudeness did not help! Please be aware that the first person you encounter is the face and first impression for your hotel. Please continue to have the front of the house trained in guest services and especially tonality. It makes a huge difference!
This did not leave a good lasting impression to be return guest.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Travel12U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GenManager-GM, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

We sincerely apologize for the conditions you encountered on your recent visit. Our team is devoted to maintaining a clean and comfortable environment, and your experience is not reflective of our usual standards. Additionally, we value the importance of first impressions and understand it's crucial that our colleagues offer the highest level of service. We appreciate your feedback and will utilize it to reinforce our training protocols and rectify these issues. This may not have been the experience you anticipated, but we hope you'll give us another opportunity to deliver the high-standard stay we normally provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024

HORRIBLE!!!! PLEASE STOP BOOKING HERE! ROACHES, ANTS, MOLD!!! LOCKS YOU OUT OF YOUR ROOM CONSTANTLY!! HORRIBLE STAFF AT THE FRONT DESK! PLEASE I BEG DONT STAY HERE. we booked 8 rooms for business and every single room had the same experience!! please turn from this hotel.

Room tip: DONT BOOK HERE! NO MATTER WHAT PLEASE! SAVE YOUR TROUBLE
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Journey01230739381
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GenManager-GM, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

We appreciate the feedback.

We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward.

We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews