We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
123
143
129
64
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
143
129
64
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floating restaurant sam's club front desk ala moana center convenient location within walking distance an older hotel short stay ross walmart toaster aloha refrigerator dvd ohana
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017

The people at Pagoda Hotel were super helpful and nice. However, the hotel itself was in such bad shape I could not wait to check out. The pictures online do not really represent what it looks like in person. The room I checked into was very outdated and the bathroom needed a renovation - there were hard water stains around the tub's drain. It was also weird that the wall right by the bed was mirrored and that there was a sink right by the bed. The AC unit is a wall unit and every time it would turn on, it sounded like a car engine. I was also by the pool which mean I heard everyone screaming day in and out (the pool was also very very tiny).

The location was great because it was walking distance to the Ala Moana Center but that's really the only highlight - the location.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennifercJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Aloha Jennifer and thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our ideal location near shopping and attractions is a popular convenience that we are pleased you enjoyed, as well as the service from our friendly and dedicated staff. However, we are sad to hear that the room was not as updated as you had hoped and apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced with the A/C and outside pool noise. Your valuable feedback will be shared without leadership team for careful consideration and improvement. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We stayed at the Pagoda for 2 days while in Honolulu for a reunion. We knew it was a budget hotel, but decided we'd try it to save some money rather than staying at an expensive hotel in Waikiki. The staff was always friendly and helpful. On arrival we were told our room was being changed to one that had a newly remodeled bathroom, which I really appreciated. The room was basic, but clean, the bed was comfortable. There was a microwave, a small fridge, and flat screen TV. The restaurant with bar is attached to the hotel, and both appeared to be clean. The food is buffet style, but we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. The bar area was warm and inviting, the staff very friendly. The hotel is 3.5 blocks from the largest outdoor mall in the world, called Ala Moana. They have a very large food court there with many choices, plus restaurants. Food we had there was very good. The shops are mostly high end plus Macy's, and it's a great place to walk through, get some exercise, and people watch. One of the best amenities with the Pagoda is that the room rate includes free shuttle to Waikiki Beach and Ala Moana Shopping Center (and anywhere in between) and back every half hour from about 9a.m. to 9p.m. Overall, our stay was fine, no complaints or unhappy surprises and the price was right. I would stay at the Pagoda again if it was a short stay, but probably not for a longer vacation where I'd prefer a little more luxury and a place closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been partially remodeled if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Aloha and thankyou for taking the time to share your review. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us while visiting for a family reunion! Your comfort and convenience are very important to us and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable bed, various room amenities, friendly staff, and convenient location with shuttle to the beach and other attractions. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with our leadership team. We hope to welcome you again for another stay soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Great location and great price. It's far from the main beach, but very close to walmart and the large shopping center. It's also within a 15 min walk to a small park and beach area on the other side of the mall. I had a little "sticker shock" for hawaiian hotels, so when I was looking for a one night layover hotel, this one hit the spot. It's clearly old, and in need of updating. There was a funky smell in the hall on my floor, but the room was clean and the funk didn't smell in there. The A/C was very loud, but it worked, so I wasn't going to complain. Would stay again on a layover, but would be unlikely to stay for extended period. The staff I interacted with were all super friendly and check-in and check out were a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Aloha Jennifer and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your layover with us and glad that our friendly staff and convenient location satisfactorily met your needs. We strive to provide great value to our guests through our amenities and excellent customer service. Though we are a bit further from the beach we do offer an efficient shuttle service into Waikiki and to Ala Moana. Your feedback is valuable as it helps us improve and will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to welcome you for another great stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

My wife and I recently visited Honolulu for a medical convention and my company booked us at the Pagoda Hotel due to its lower rates. It looked nice enough from the online photos, so we decided to stay. Our room was large and had a king-size bed. It had a window air conditioner which worked well. That's the good news. The entire hotel needs to be updated. It is in downtown Honolulu, far from the popular Waikiki Beach area. There are not a lot of restaurants around the hotel, except their own on-site restaurant, which has old facilities and limited selection. It is conveniently located near a WalMart and a Walgreen's and local grocery stores.

On a brighter note, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. From check-in to check-out, we were treated very well. Another plus was the DVD rental program which was included in the room rate. We watched a different movie every night. However, during the week we stayed there, the water was turned off completely during one weekday morning and the hallway carpeting was replaced over four days.

Next time, we will personally pay the difference and stay at a higher class hotel (Hilton Waikiki Beach Resort or the Ala Moana).

Stayed: April 2017
Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Aloha George and thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We strive to make our guests feel welcome with excellent customer service and lots of aloha spirit so we are pleased to know that our friendly staff took care of you while you were with us and that you enjoyed our DVD rental program. However, we are sorry to hear about the other aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced with the water and hallway recarpeting. We are continuously improving to make your next stay even better and appreciate your feedback. Your review will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We were arriving late for our trip tp Honolulu,and wanted a comfortable place that had a car rental on site so i could rent a car the next day,because I did not want to drive that night with little sleep. I booked the Pagoda and was please with the hotel and its attached restaurant.It is an older hotel, that has updated most of it's basics, like the beads chairs painting etc. things like sinks bathtub are somewhat dated but clean and work. It had a comfortable feel, and the staff were accommodating.For us it hit all our needs. We really liked the gift shop it had everything, and the staff on duty was great.

Room Tip: I do not have one
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jgr6b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews