We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feed back”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 14 May 2017

The front desk associates were professional, personal, and helpful. The housekeeper was helpful and friendly.
I felt comfortable upon arrival and the hotel was appropriate in appearance, odor, and feel.
Perfect central location for business. There adequate shopping locations, restaurants' and tourist attractions within a mile radius.
The ocean is located about 3 miles from the hotel and can be reached by walking.

Room Tip: The room was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dkikau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our ideal location close to Waikiki beach, shopping, and dining, as well as our comfortable rooms and friendly staff. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again for another great stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

The people at Pagoda Hotel were super helpful and nice. However, the hotel itself was in such bad shape I could not wait to check out. The pictures online do not really represent what it looks like in person. The room I checked into was very outdated and the bathroom needed a renovation - there were hard water stains around the tub's drain. It was also weird that the wall right by the bed was mirrored and that there was a sink right by the bed. The AC unit is a wall unit and every time it would turn on, it sounded like a car engine. I was also by the pool which mean I heard everyone screaming day in and out (the pool was also very very tiny).

The location was great because it was walking distance to the Ala Moana Center but that's really the only highlight - the location.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennifercJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Aloha Jennifer and thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our ideal location near shopping and attractions is a popular convenience that we are pleased you enjoyed, as well as the service from our friendly and dedicated staff. However, we are sad to hear that the room was not as updated as you had hoped and apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced with the A/C and outside pool noise. Your valuable feedback will be shared without leadership team for careful consideration and improvement. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

We stayed at the Pagoda for 2 days while in Honolulu for a reunion. We knew it was a budget hotel, but decided we'd try it to save some money rather than staying at an expensive hotel in Waikiki. The staff was always friendly and helpful. On arrival we were told our room was being changed to one that had a newly remodeled bathroom, which I really appreciated. The room was basic, but clean, the bed was comfortable. There was a microwave, a small fridge, and flat screen TV. The restaurant with bar is attached to the hotel, and both appeared to be clean. The food is buffet style, but we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. The bar area was warm and inviting, the staff very friendly. The hotel is 3.5 blocks from the largest outdoor mall in the world, called Ala Moana. They have a very large food court there with many choices, plus restaurants. Food we had there was very good. The shops are mostly high end plus Macy's, and it's a great place to walk through, get some exercise, and people watch. One of the best amenities with the Pagoda is that the room rate includes free shuttle to Waikiki Beach and Ala Moana Shopping Center (and anywhere in between) and back every half hour from about 9a.m. to 9p.m. Overall, our stay was fine, no complaints or unhappy surprises and the price was right. I would stay at the Pagoda again if it was a short stay, but probably not for a longer vacation where I'd prefer a little more luxury and a place closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been partially remodeled if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Aloha and thankyou for taking the time to share your review. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us while visiting for a family reunion! Your comfort and convenience are very important to us and we're glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable bed, various room amenities, friendly staff, and convenient location with shuttle to the beach and other attractions. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with our leadership team. We hope to welcome you again for another stay soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Great location and great price. It's far from the main beach, but very close to walmart and the large shopping center. It's also within a 15 min walk to a small park and beach area on the other side of the mall. I had a little "sticker shock" for hawaiian hotels, so when I was looking for a one night layover hotel, this one hit the spot. It's clearly old, and in need of updating. There was a funky smell in the hall on my floor, but the room was clean and the funk didn't smell in there. The A/C was very loud, but it worked, so I wasn't going to complain. Would stay again on a layover, but would be unlikely to stay for extended period. The staff I interacted with were all super friendly and check-in and check out were a breeze.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Aloha Jennifer and thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your layover with us and glad that our friendly staff and convenient location satisfactorily met your needs. We strive to provide great value to our guests through our amenities and excellent customer service. Though we are a bit further from the beach we do offer an efficient shuttle service into Waikiki and to Ala Moana. Your feedback is valuable as it helps us improve and will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to welcome you for another great stay in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

My wife and I recently visited Honolulu for a medical convention and my company booked us at the Pagoda Hotel due to its lower rates. It looked nice enough from the online photos, so we decided to stay. Our room was large and had a king-size bed. It had a window air conditioner which worked well. That's the good news. The entire hotel needs to be updated. It is in downtown Honolulu, far from the popular Waikiki Beach area. There are not a lot of restaurants around the hotel, except their own on-site restaurant, which has old facilities and limited selection. It is conveniently located near a WalMart and a Walgreen's and local grocery stores.

On a brighter note, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. From check-in to check-out, we were treated very well. Another plus was the DVD rental program which was included in the room rate. We watched a different movie every night. However, during the week we stayed there, the water was turned off completely during one weekday morning and the hallway carpeting was replaced over four days.

Next time, we will personally pay the difference and stay at a higher class hotel (Hilton Waikiki Beach Resort or the Ala Moana).

Stayed: April 2017
Thank George Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AA H, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Aloha George and thank you for sharing a review of your stay. We strive to make our guests feel welcome with excellent customer service and lots of aloha spirit so we are pleased to know that our friendly staff took care of you while you were with us and that you enjoyed our DVD rental program. However, we are sorry to hear about the other aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced with the water and hallway recarpeting. We are continuously improving to make your next stay even better and appreciate your feedback. Your review will be shared with our leadership team for careful consideration. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
265 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,453 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $183 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing