We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location OK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Sacramento
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Location OK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I only spent one night in this hotel I was on my way to the Federated States of Microneisa and it met my needs. However, I first checked with the Hilton Hawaiian Village and there were not room reservation avaiable, that is the place to stay when you are in Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierrared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    750
    316
    77
    48
See reviews for
494
598
120
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was my first time to Hawaii. I stayed with my family for 9 nights. The hotel itself was clean, the service was always prompt and the staff friendly.

I am in a wheelchair, and I found the wheelchair accessable bathroom to be the best I have used in a hotel. The only issue with the room is you could hear everything the people did in the rooms next door. The kitchenette was helpful if you wish to save money and eat in.

The lifts, although handy, would hardly ever go to the level you wanted. You had to keep your finger on the button of the floor you wanted to go on, or else it would go up before it went down again.

A short walk to the beach and main street of Waikiki made this an excellent location for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank punchbuggy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My family just stayed at this hotel. And as vacations go, we totally enjoyed our stay! We were seldom in our room but while there we experienced nothing but friendly good service...we requested extras daily as we had four guest and we love coffee and they were always happy to help out bell helpers, reception everyone was great! What it lacks in interior flair it makes up for in guest services... the location is PERFECT! Pink trolley half a block away, the beach minutes from the door, tour bus pick up at the front door or half a block a way for the larger trips... totally worth every cent! ENJOY !!!

Room Tip: the kitchenette was terrific...had what we need to save a little cash for breakfast and snacks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

we stayed here for the second time December 2011/January 2012. we were welcomed as soon as we got out of the taxi and our bags were taken care of. we went up to the lobby where we were quickly checked in, nice to see Clayton again and he welcomed us so warmly with an Ohana welcome gift. we had requested our same room as last year which he were given. Clayton helped us with any info we needed, and spoilt us on New Years eve! we felt so at home,
the hotel is clean and the housekeeping staff do an excellent job. all the staff were wonderful.
we find the location perfect across from the food pantry, with Keoni,s downstairs. just a short stroll to the beach.We used the free pink trolley ride to Ala moana many times.
we will never stay anywhere else. thanks again to Clayton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brettnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the Ohana East for 6 nights. On my reservation form I asked for a quiet location as I have sleep problems. Again, when I checked in, I mentioned it again, and asked to be away from the elevators. When we went upstairs, we discovered we were only one door away from the elevators. They weren't extremely loud- sounded sort of like a wave crashing, but it was enough to wake me up. (light sleeper). The next morning I asked about changing rooms and was told I'd have to wait for the manager who wouldn't be in til 10, but they'd leave him a message.We had a tour booked and didn't return til after 8 pm. There was no message from him, and I was too tired to move then anyway. By the next morning we had our stuff spread out, and had another tour, so we decided to just suffer. The next few nights were worse as more people moved into the hotel and the walls were very thin. We could here people talking in the next room, and many toilets flushing.
If you can sleep through anything though, it isn't bad. The location is great- we ended up only spending 20 minutes on Waikiki Beach so it would have been a waste of money to stay closer to the beach. The room size was fine- I found the shower roomy enough. There was some dirt on the toilet seat when we first got our room.
The balcony was too small to sit on, but we didn't have time for that anyway. The bed was also not very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runrgrlOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OHANA Waikiki East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Property: OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Address: 150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3292
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $203 - $334
Hotel Class:3 star — OHANA Waikiki East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHANA(R) Hotels by Outrigger is our mid-tier, off-beach leisure brand where guests will find local hospitality and convenience in paradise. Located in central Waikiki, this Waikiki hotel is just a 7-minute stroll to Waikiki Beach, next door to The International Marketplace and one block from Kalakaua Avenue's shopping and entertainment. OHANA Waikiki East provides safe, clean and well maintained mid-tier accommodation proudly supported by long serving hosts, many who have been with the Outrigger family for over thirty years. OHANA Waikiki East is unlike beachfront resorts where you may choose to spend your time indoors. Rather, it is an enjoyable home base for your Island adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Cancelon, Hotelopia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your OHANA Waikiki East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana East Hotel Honolulu
Ohana East Honolulu
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing