We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Waikiki!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay in Waikiki!”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Clean, large, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a fantastic daily breakfast. You cannot beat the value! The pool is small, but the beach is only about a block away. There is an ABC store close by for water and incidentals and also a Safeway about a mile away. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amomnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear amomnus,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you got the most bang for your buck while staying at the all new Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It would be a pleasure to be of service to you again in the near future.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    1,088
    293
    76
    41
See reviews for
1,005
959
134
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had a great time staying at Hyatt in waikiki. The hotel is recently renovated.The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was nice and big and the beds extremely comfortable. Different variety for breakfast served outside. There's a pool as well but we spent our time at the beach and never used the hotel pool. Nicely located close to Kuhio avenue as well if you need public transportation in order to go to Hanauma bay, Diamond head, Ala moana center etc.
We returned to Waikiki after a week in Maui and chose a different hotel, but regretted our choice and wished that we had booked Hyatt for the rest of our stay as well. Grab Charlies taxi to & from the airport with $ 29 flat rate:)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noreen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear noreen_11,
Mahalo for your review. We are flattered to learn that you had such a wonderful and comfortable stay at the all new Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Glad you enjoyed our central location in Waikiki, and we hope to be your preferred hotel when you return to Oahu.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

Clean big rooms.
Most comfortable beds and pillows - king size.
Views are amazing.
Air con
Cable tv
Free Internet
Lovely breakfast buffet - free daily.
Great room staff
Free apples and coffee
Huge tv!!
Great location less than a block from beach, bars, bus, zoo.
24 hour food!
Nice big bathroom mirror and sink.
All this for $151 a night between two people??? BARGAIN!!!

This is my fifth trip to Waikiki and I've stayed here every time and it just keeps getting better.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeroDDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear chicken1979,
Mahalo for your review. We are so happy to hear how much you loved staying at the all new Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Also, we are glad you found our service and accommodations to be a bargain. Thank you for your dedication and continued loyalty to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewer, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the renovations to the wonderful new Hyatt in August of 2011 for 9 nights. I have to hope that it has improved as there was no pool, we had cock roaches, and a TV from the 80's.
Beds and Furniture in the hallways so had to make our way around to get to our room.
Construction also started at 7:30 AM and being from the east coast that totally was not good for the vacation.

Had I known it was going to be a Hyatt I would have asked if I could have at least gotten points for my stay as that would have been a bonus.

Some positives are:

Close to the beach, which is amazing.
The staff was always pleasant.

Room Tip: I always choose a high floor and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rellen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear rellen1,
Mahalo for your review. A lot has changed and improved since your last stay in August 2011. We apologize that you had to endure old amenities, insect invasions and construction noises during last time. Since we were not technically a Hyatt Place during that time, we unfortunately cannot grant you Gold Passport points for your previous stay. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the all new Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for a new beginning.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in May. The rooms are spacious and modern with a very comfy bed.
The staff are are very friendly and happy to help with anything. The free daily breakfast is a great added bonus. The pool is a bit small but with an amazing beach 1 block away it doesn't really matter. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we ever came back to Waikiki.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor in an ocean view room. It was great to wake up each morning and see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,288 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $269 - $424
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing