We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
USD 483*
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
USD 227*
USD 194*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 239*
USD 212*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 274*
USD 258*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ramada Plaza Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
USD 239*
USD 147*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 201*
USD 188*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 550*
USD 452*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 209*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 329*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
USD 273*
USD 266*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,849)
Filter reviews
1,849 results
Traveller rating
788
682
232
93
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
682
232
93
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool arealovin ovenlemon waterstreet noisekuhio avetwo blockssmall kitchenettehot tubfull kitchenboutique hotelone bedroom suitefood pantrybus stopbeach towelsshort walk to the beachtravel agentfirst trip to hawaii
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,849 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a WONDERFUL place to stay, and compared to other Waikiki prices it is a terrific value! All of the workers are so friendly and seem to genuinely care. Me and my husband were staying here to get married and once the workers saw me in my dress they left us champagne, chocolates, and toasting glasses when we were looking to stay in some of the typical honeymoon hotels, the Ko Olina, Turtle bay etc they treated us as "o another wedding" where as the Bamboo went out of their way to do something for us. Every Thursday they have free live music, drinks, snacks, the workers hula dance, and they have a portrait drawer who is free but accepts tips and if you get your portrait drawn you will WANT to tip! They are fantastic! The only thing that could have been a bit better would be the cleanliness, our sheets were not fresh when we got there, and there was some mold spots on the ceiling, also our house keeper washed our dishes for us (which i didnt expect) but they were all REALLY dirty. So I would suggest checking your dishes when you arrive, but any issues they were more than happy to fix. Also Waikiki is not the easiest place to park, and we were not able to park in their garage for most of our trip because it was full so we had to park in the hotel next door which is REALLY steep, and has no elevator or any easy way to get up/down if you are not staying in that hotel. So I would advise reserving your parking space ahead of time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexZaundria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Aloha Kiri J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your very special time with us.

We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed the amenities when you returned to the hotel after your wedding and that we could make it a little bit more memorable for you. We are delighted that the staff was friendly and were able to fix the issues you had encountered upon your arrival. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our weekly manager’s reception and the many talents we have the opportunity to showcase. Please know that I have passed on your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper regarding the cleanliness of your room and it will be addressed with the staff so that we do not repeat this occurrence.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Aqua Bamboo was a clean, comfortable urban hotel located a few blocks from Wikiki beach. We stayed in a suite. During the day the room was noisy , but we had no problem sleeping in their comfortable beds at night. The kitchen was TINY. There was barely enough room for two to sit down. Also, the room did not have wi fi, only a cable Internet connection. The small pool area was attractive and relaxing. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindadrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Aloha Lindadrp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so happy to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and in a great location – just minutes away from Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants. We are also thrilled that you found that staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay.
I would like to apologize that the kitchen in your room was small for your liking. We do offer some rooms with full kitchens which may be more suitable for your next stay. Also, we do currently have wifi in the lobby and at the pool, however we are moving towards changing the cable internet in the rooms to wifi as well, so that’s something to look forward to.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The hotel is good but not excellent. Good value for the price they charge. It does have everything you need and is comfortable. I had a kitchinette room, which was good to have breakfast and not spend money/time eating out. I do reccomend staying here. Downside is the pool. which is not very big and expensive parking lot. Hawaii is great, so the hotel is not very important! This property is well located and walking distance to Waikiki and good restaurants around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiggyNui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Aloha ZiggyNui,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are pleased to hear that you found the convenient location of the hotel to benefit you during your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you recommend our hotel because of our amenities and comfort. We are disappointed that you were not pleased with our pool area or parking rates. We do our best to create a nice relaxing are for our guests to enjoy and also have the convenience of parking on property. We are limited on physical space; however we definitely try to utilize our space to its fullest potential and offer competitive rates for primary parking in Waikiki.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

It was an amazing trip to Hawaii. The hotel is close to everything, restaurants, ABC stores, International Marketplace, Waikiki Beach and Waikiki Strip. My family enjoyed walking every night to the waikiki strip. Staff was always helpful and accomodating. I also loved the free drinks at the lobby, I brought a water bottle for our trip and was very useful, as we fill it up with lemonade or iced tea and bring it with us to the beach. I also enjoyed the weekly manager's reception held during thursday's. Overall, I would reccomend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Aloha Sheila M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you found the convenient location of the hotel to nearby restaurants, shops and Waikiki Beach to benefit you while you were with us. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as the beverages in the lobby and our weekly manager’s reception, the Bamboozle. We are delighted that the staff was helpful and accommodating during your stay.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Arrival:
Stayed here end of April/ begining of May. When we arrived as someone previously said we were greated very warmly, I was expected at least an "Aloha, welcome to Hawaii type thing" with maybe some conversation of if this was our first trip, blah blah but that didn't happen however we were checked in promptly.

Room:
We stayed on 8th floor facing the street and this was fine. But if you stay there and the construction is done on the pool side i would recommend a room facing that. I was really nervous coming here because of the previous two reviews about cockroaches, so when i got there i was sure to scope out our room. To my dismay I did see one cockroach under the bedside table that was dead. I called front desk and they sent someone up to get it, im really afraid of bugs so didn't want to deal with that. After seeing that I was a bit uncomfertable the rest of the days expecting to see more but thankfully we did not! The room was ok, from a quick look it looked pretty, but generally it was pretty tiny (had to get really organized to lay suitcases out because there wasn't much room). We had a small kitchentte that would have been ample to make food in the room (you can ask front desk for items like toasters, frying pans, etc.). We dirtied only a plate and knife two days and each time housekeeping cleaned those up. The bed sheets had some stains which was kind of gross, my feeling is if theres a stain that won't come out then the sheets should be tossed. There was a large closet with a safe that was nice. The balcony was ok, we didn't go out there really becasue there wasn't any chairs to sit on. We also weren't bothered by the noise from the street too much.The bathroom was also just ok. I guess in general this place looks ok on the surface until you acutally get in a room and then you start to notice the imperfections (stains here or there on walls and/or sheets, a dead bug under your nightstand, a dirty mirror, an outdated shower...).

Lobby/pool area:
Lounge was nice, couldn't get wifi in rooms only in lobby/ pool area. Only could get connected if you had laptop and ethernet cable. Just ask front desk right away because you need to connect to their wifi then go to a website and create a temporary account for logging onto wifi. The lobby had apples and 2 different types of refreshments (iced tea, lemon water, lemonade, etc.) each day. There was a coffee machine but it wasn't great at all. They also had a computer which seemed pretty expensive to use. The pool area was lovely. Nice lounge chairs and places to sit and eat a meal or suntan. Clean pool and little hot tub. There was a place for getting massages. The only bad thing was there was construction going on, on the balconies facing the pool so there was some noise from this from 9am - 5pm daily...it was definately not that quiet but for some reason it didn't distract me from relaxing at the pool and im pretty senstivite to noise like that...

Towels/ Beach chairs:
No designated spot on beach for this hotel, but they do offer towels or beach chairs at the hotel which you can bring to the beach yourself. The chairs aren't big or heavy as they aren't the full lay down ones, just little seats. The beach is so short of a walk it isn't a big deal at all like 2 blocks thats it.

Service:
Generally I found the men that worked there to go above and beyond to treat you well and take care of you. The women were nice but jsut didn't seem as friendly. There is luggage storage and they will even call a cab for you. Note we jsut took genearl taxis to and from the airport, a private fixed rate taxi for 30$ each way would have been our best best as taxis cost more with the amount of traffic you have to wait in.

In general I think what this place really needs is a good deep cleaning with touch ups and or replacements of ratty stuff, but the location is great within easy walking to lost of shops, restaurants and the beach. I did not feel this was at all in anyway in a worse location than any other hotel on waikiki that isn't directly on the beach. This is a city so remember you will see some homeless people no matter where on waikiki you go. But the crime rate here is very low and I would not be worried about walking around here day or night really. Of course if walking in the night you employe the same caution as you would in any other city. The pool area is really nice and is enjoyable if your not wanting to get full of sand that day!

Oh and FYI they have a weekly managers gathering on Thursdays from 4:30 - 5:30 pm where they ofter their signature cocktail and some light snacks for hotel guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LEH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Aloha LEH85,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We appreciate your honest feedback, good and bad as this is a vital tool for our improvement and growth. We are thrilled that we were able to succeed in areas such as our relaxing, private pool area, weekly management receptions, and friendly staff. We are pleased to hear your opinions on the areas we can improve upon and I will definitely bring these up with the appropriate departments.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews