We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back for seconds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our first tropical vacation was in Waikiki, at Aqua Bamboo, for 10 nights in January. We chose it based on TripAdvisor reviews. Upon arrival, our room was on the renovation side, but we were moved the next day. Great, friendly staff. Clean hotel. Super convenient. We loved it so much we're headed back for another visit in April.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GetAway032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Aloha GetAway032,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so pleased to hear that our friendly staff was able to accommodate your needs for a room away from the construction. It is also wonderful that you found the central location to be a benefit to you while you were with us!

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in April! (Please contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com as I would be delighted to oversee your next stay with us!)

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 843 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just what we wanted -- a bit quieter part of Waikiki but really just a block away from the main drag & the beach. Our room had a beautiful big lanai and was a lovely place to hang out over the morning coffee. Room was spotless, appeared to be recently re-done. It isn't a four or five start hotel, but given the price Aqua Bamboo far exceeded my expectations. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Aloha Dave O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide the Aqua experience we are so well known for. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and lanai for relaxing, but were also able to experience lively Waikiki just minutes away.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was our first stay at the Aqua Bamboo. It is a smaller hotel which made it feel very homey and comfortable. I loved the quiet pool area with the trees, plants, and waterfall. A great place to relax.....and you could take your own food and drinks there which was awesome. IT is quite close to the beach and close to the action as well. The street tends to be noisey but it didn't bother me after the fist night. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: we had a corner suite with a kitchen...it was bright and sunny but noise from the street could be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Aloha Faye R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing outer sanctuary along with the convenient location to Waikiki Beach. We are also thrilled that the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay!

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Our stay at the Bamboo started out wonderful, nice staff, beautiful room... but it went downhill from there. We had to kill more than 10 cockroaches in about 30 minutes. I know in a tropical area its common, but the hotel we had transferred from (Ohana West: wanted a nicer room for our romantic getaway) had no signs of roaches. When we went to front desk they said they'd send someone to spray, so we went for a walk. When we came back it was obvious nobody had done anything (we had wedged a towel under the bathroom door in an attempt to barricade ourselves from roaches). I also want to mention that Raveena on front desk, as much as she was friendly at first, when we came to her with our problem she seemed apathetic and not very helpful at all. She had an attitude like it was our fault, and that we should feel bad for bringing our problem to her (I actually hesitated going to front desk because she might be there) Needless to say, I had to call again and someone came up. Then we killed many more and decided this was not a relaxing place to stay. Dan at front desk offered us the Deluxe Luxury Suite for free, but we just wanted out of the hotel. He accommodated us by sending us to the Aqua Aloha Surf where we were lucky to receive a free upgrade to a deluxe suite. Overall, it was a pretty hotel, but I can't recommend a hotel where you have to kill a roach every 10 minutes. It was also a loss because we lost our beautiful ocean view, but at least we couldn't find evidence of roaches at the other hotel.

Room Tip: Check reviews to see if roach problem still exists. Request Pacific monarch or pool facing rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Aloha JAG91,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured regarding the little pests you found.

We undergo monthly treatments to regulate this challenge as best as possible, and when we receive citations such as yours, we call them to treat the problem rooms immediately. As we are in a tropical environment, they are quite at home here with the warm sunshine and coastal breezes. We do our very best to make sure they do not disturb any of our guests, however it is a constant problem we attend to.

We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback. Please know that the entire team at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this problem is taken care of. Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

If you are looking for a clean place at a reasonable price for Honolulu, this is an acceptable place. It's certainly not a 3 or 4 star hotel. It's very average.

The rooms are clean but the furniture is old and beat up. Literally every piece of furniture is chipped, scuffed or the paint has rubbed off. The rooms are small and the ceilings are 8 foot. The rooms are very "cave like" in some respects, although they do have balconies with sliding glass doors with helps. There is no central air conditioning, only window units.

That being said, the location is good -- only a few blocks from Waikiki Beach and from all the shops. The rooms are clean and they have all the basics. In fact, each of our rooms (we were traveling with my in laws) had a small kitchenette. The price is also good, considering it is Hawaii.

This is a place to stay if you are on a budget and don't really care about being in a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisBTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Aloha DennisBTR,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I can certainly understand and share your disapointment. Please know that we are taking steps to better maintain our facility. I have discussed your comments with our management team, and we are very sorry for our inability to achieve the Aqua experience for you and your family. Please know that we will include your feedback as we plan for future improvements. We take great pride in a job well done and accept responsibility when we fail.

Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,931 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $202 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing