We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for It's Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. The location is great, only a couple of blocks from the ocean and all the activity of Waikiki, without the high prices. Our room was clean & in good shape except for the AC units. We had a suite (a free upgrade they gave us) with a master bedroom & twin beds in the main area. The AC unit in the master bedroom made a loud squeeking noise, so we slept in the main room, where its unit was just loud. Our room was on the street, so you heard a lot of traffic all the time. Ask for a poolside room. We also have a full kitchen which meant we could make meals if we wanted.

If you can live with the noise (remember you are in a city), I would recommend the hotel. The pool area is very lovely. They have beach chairs and mats availabe for guest use. Free coffee & tea in the lobby. The staff was very helpful.

If you are on a budget & want to stay near the beach in Waikiki, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Aloha TravellingFloyd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded suite with the full kitchen. We are in the midst of replacing all of our AC units as we understand that they can be noisy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Outer Sanctuary and our complimentary amenities offered in the lobby as well as finding our staff to be helpful during your stay with us.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 867 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Bed was comfortable, however we could not use our balcony as they were working outside, rooms are average, very noisy (even with ac going). Pool area small, but nice. Wifi in lobby is terrible. Property is well located, just very dated.

Room Tip: Face the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tropicaltrip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Aloha Tropicaltrip_12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. Your honest feedback is very valuable to us as tool for our improvement.

We apologize that you were inconvenienced by the exterior renovations being done to the property. The balconies on the side of the building being worked on are closed and locked for our guest’s safety. We do understand that this is not what is expected for a relaxing vacation, but the renovation will benefit the structure of the building and that along with our guest’s safety is of top priority to us.
We also regret that you experienced difficulty with our internet service. We have been in constant contact with our contracted internet provider to improve the service of both the in-room service and wifi service in the lobby and poolside.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed at the Aqua Bamboo with my husband for several nights mid-January after reading all of the reviews... and seeing the price compared to other hotels. You are only a block away from all the big oceanfront hotels, so we would walk over there and have lunch or a cocktail, but were happy to retreat back to the Aqua Bamboo.

I requested a courtyard-facing room (looking at pool) and this was honored. I had read many other reviews on Tripadvisor suggesting this and I am glad that I did. The view was great and it was pretty quiet. The renovation noise was pretty distant.

Pros:
Free coffee, tea, ice water and lemonade in lobby
Free newspaper & apples
Beach chairs and beach towels available
Charming pool area
View of ocean from lanai
Wifi at pool

Cons:
The property feels a bit worn and aged despite inside renovations
Wish there was WiFi in the rooms rather than needing a USB cord, but cords are provided free of charge so that's a good thing.

For the price and location, I certainly recommend this room.

Nearby dining suggestion: If you want to the right about half a block there is a great local restaurant called "Ruffage." Excellent smoothies, acai sorbet bowl, and chicken teriyaki bowl all at extremely reasonable prices. Definitely recommend this for some cheap local food!

I also highly recommend going to Roy's if you want to spend more and have a more upscale experience -- best food I have ever had.

Overall, I would recommend Aqua Bamboo for the price, pool and location.

Room Tip: Courtyard-facing high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Aloha Jessica G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your courtyard view room and our many complimentary options that we offer. We are so happy that you benefited from the convenient location to the beach and many dining and shopping spots. Also, just to inform you and our other Trip Advisor followers, we are in discussion about our options regarding the replacement of the in room internet with wifi service, which we hope to have a plan implemented this year.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

When we checked into the hotel, we were informed that since we were only staying one night, they upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge! And the suite was REALLY nice. There were two private lanais and a small kitchen. The beds (there were two) were very soft. I particularly liked the bathroom: all the towels had orchid flowers tucked in the folds, and the floor of the shower was black river-rock type stuff.

We really stayed a short time, so I can't talk about the location of the hotel. Parking was just next door in another hotel's garage, but was an extra charge - $20 for 24 hours, though you could enter and exit as much as you wanted. The ambiance was as beautiful and relaxing as I had hoped, and the staff were very nice. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Aloha Stephanie E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded suite and the intimate and relaxing atmosphere of the hotel. We are also pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I had booked the Bamboo after reading a review of it in the book "Oahu Revealed" by Andrew Doughty. He called it a "Gem" and so do I. It was my first trip to Oahu and I was a bit overwelmed by the size of Wakikii. Hotels everywhere! Aqua Bamboo is not one of those huge hotels. It has a gorgeous private pool area, lovely rooms and it's close to everything. We were lucky and got the Penthouse Suite. We travelled with family and we each had our own private room and bathroom. Loved the Lanai! Perfect place to be for the New Year's fireworks. We were front and center! Our bed was so comfortable. There was a Sauna in the master bath! Chairs,mats or floats for the ocean? They have an area to borrow theirs for NO charge! We were a bit disappointed that the spa was closed, we were going to get mani-pedis, but, there was a great place for that right next door. Maybe they can turn the building for the spa that is next to the pool into a tiki bar. Now that would be awesome!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. Suites are not that much more expensive and are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Aloha OhioVeronica,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade to the Penthouse Suite and that you enjoyed all the luxuries it offers! We are also delighted that you found comfort in our cozy, intimate atmosphere and that you found the location to benefit you during your time with us.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
496 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,617 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Honolulu

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $214 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing