We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LyndaLovon

Love it!

Review of The Equus
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 June 2024
Wonderful little boutique hotel in the middle of Waikiki with a cute little European style café bar. The staff is absolutely lovely. The rooms are comfortable and cozy and I recommend getting the executive king on the top floor because it’s the most roomy and the beds are so comfortable. The horse decorations are nice too. It’s close to the convention center and to the Ala Moana mall & across the street from the beach where you can surf and swim. Be aware there is no elevator to get to the second floor so you do have to carry luggage up a short flight of stairs and there’s no turn around to pull a car in but they do have parking. As a local resident, this is going to be my go to Waikiki getaway place. Love it❤️
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this review
Responded 17 June 2024
Mahalo nui loa for your fantastic review! We're so thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our boutique hotel. We take pride in creating a comfortable and charming atmosphere, and it sounds like we hit the mark!

We're especially happy to hear you loved our friendly staff and on-site bar & cafe. Having a local like yourself choose us as your Waikiki go-to means the world to us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$602
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$598
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$495
  • Expedia.com
    AU$601
0.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$582
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$572
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$483
  • Expedia.com
    AU$571
1.5 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$382
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$351
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$265
  • Booking.com
    AU$501
0.9 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$809
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$776
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$618
  • Hotels.com
    AU$778
1.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$361
  • Expedia.com
    AU$383
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$327
  • Hotels.com
    AU$384
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$398
  • Hotels.com
    AU$339
  • Vio.com
    AU$240
  • Expedia.com
    AU$338
1.6 km from The Equus
Pool
Porte Cochere
AU$932
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$930
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$738
  • Hotels.com
    AU$934
1.7 km from The Equus
Beachfront
Pool
AU$295
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$296
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$226
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
8.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$1,452
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,449
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$1,241
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,331
1.2 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,211)
Filter reviews
2,211 results
Traveller rating
1,315
581
207
61
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,315
581
207
61
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family owned hotel ala moana red lobster aloha spirit waikiki beach abc store street level within walking distance small hotel convention center light sleeper small pool coffee maker heart of waikiki rene puka hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,211 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2024

Stayed here for the first time and was absolutely glad I did! A very intimate and personal Hotel in all the best ways. It's the type of place that the staff wants to know you personally and they take the time to make your stay one you'll want to never forget. The rooms are clean and comfortable, not anything over the top but definitely everything you would need. I'd much rather spend my money on a more personal and attentive experience than to have a hot water maker or a tiny microwave anytime. Auntie Renee at the lobby was incredible! She took the time to be sure that any questions or Arrangements I needed was met. Anita, Matt, and Ben, at the were the most awesome bartenders ever. The drinks Were well poured and So friendly and Interesting To talk to It made you want to cancel your flight and stay a little longer. The price, location, and staff, at this hotel makes it an easy choice next time I stay in Waikiki.

Room tip: Don't be afraid to go in the pool it's not as cold as it looks! The water is clean and clear and you don't smell like chlorine when you get out. It's a perfect refreshing spot to spend time and it's right next to the bar!
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacific I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

Mahalo for the review! We're thrilled you chose The Equus for your first visit to Waikiki. It sounds like you experienced exactly what we strive for: a friendly, intimate atmosphere with staff who go above and beyond. Auntie Renee, Anita, Matt, and Ben are all fantastic, and we're so happy they made your stay at The Equus unforgettable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2024

This has been myself and my Hubby's go to for a very long time 14+ years now, I found it online before we flew back to Kaua'i from NZ what got me to book was the lure of Art Deco Decor and comfortable beds.
It did not disappoint arrived dropped bags went up the road to our favorite diner Wailana Coffee House, back to room climbed into bed with late checkout and OH WHAT zzz'sville Bliss...Comfortable bed like sleeping on a fluffy cloud, best pillows, and I always travel with my pillow but no need to even unpack it :)

This is why when we travel to Honolulu for business or a stop over this is always our Hotel of choice 🤙 , Front desk service 5*s+, Paniolo Bar and Cafe 5*'s+ the staff the drinks and the food especially the vege burrito breakfast if your lucky to get before it runs out 5*'s+, house keepers and other onsite staff 5*'s and you'll probably see the owner Mike there eating and chatting while he works.
Check out all of the complimentary gifts 😎

Room tip: The Breakfast Burritto is the BEST and the coffee to go with it :)
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loreleisunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2024

We are so grateful for your amazing review! 14 years is a long time to keep coming back, and it truly means a lot to us that we’ve been your go-to spot in Honolulu.

We appreciate you recognizing our incredible staff – from the front desk to the housekeeping crew, everyone here strives to make your stay feel special. And yes, there's always a good chance you'll bump into Mike, the owner, chatting up guests at the Paniolo Lanai Bar & Cafe.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another relaxing visit. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2024 via mobile

This was a last minute trip due to a death in the family . The Front desk is great even the housekeeping were nice they helped make a rough time better ! The rooms are not the 500$ type but are comfortably and the WiFi is speedy fast for work zoom /teams calls. It does have a great location. Too ..Linelle is the best !!!Thank you

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are deeply sorry to hear about your loss. We are grateful that you chose The Equus during such a difficult time. It truly warms our hearts to know that our front desk staff, housekeeping team, and especially Linelle, were able to offer some comfort during your stay. Please know that our entire team sends their condolences. We hope for brighter days ahead, and if your travels bring you back to Waikiki, we would be honored to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024

Incredible hospitality, clean rooms, great location. Kollett was warm and informative both on the phone and during check-in. Her restaurant recommendation was perfect. Jacquie met our request for early check-in…by 4 hours. After a long flight, it was wonderful to be greater so well and to have access to our rooms right away.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseeV8930QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Mahalo for the fantastic review! We're so pleased Kollett and Jacquie made your stay at The Equus exceptional. Their hospitality and attentiveness are what we strive for. We'll be sure to recognize their outstanding service. Please come back and see us again soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2024

We want to thank the following staff: Ben, attentive bartender, Yulia made us feel welcome, Duane, kept parking safe, Auntie Rene, greeted us like family, Lincoln, made sure we had the best experiences, Mat: created a relaxed welcoming atmosphere. Anita: coffee artist, makes the best pastries, Housekeeping, happy and demonstrated care in their work. Linda very friendly, Fe: kept us safe all night, Kolette helped us get chairs for polo. Beach chairs and towels are free to guests. The bed was comfy and clean. Nice family hotel.

Room tip: Staff are very proud that this hotel is the last privately owned hotel in Waikiki, and that pride shows through in staff care for customers
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Mahalo for the amazing review! Our team is thrilled you felt like family. From Ben's coffee to Auntie Rene's warm welcome, Lincoln's activity tips to Matt's relaxed bar vibe, and Anita's delicious pastries to our friendly housekeepers, everyone here works hard to make The Equus a special place. We're glad you enjoyed your comfy room, free beach gear, and our commitment to supporting local businesses. Mahalo for choosing The Equus, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews