We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Vincent A

Great find in the middle of everything

Review of The Equus
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 June 2024via mobile
This was a last minute trip due to a death in the family . The Front desk is great even the housekeeping were nice they helped make a rough time better ! The rooms are not the 500$ type but are comfortably and the WiFi is speedy fast for work zoom /teams calls. It does have a great location. Too ..Linelle is the best !!!Thank you
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this review
Responded 5 June 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are deeply sorry to hear about your loss. We are grateful that you chose The Equus during such a difficult time. It truly warms our hearts to know that our front desk staff, housekeeping team, and especially Linelle, were able to offer some comfort during your stay. Please know that our entire team sends their condolences. We hope for brighter days ahead, and if your travels bring you back to Waikiki, we would be honored to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,035
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,034
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$1,010
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,035
1.2 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$632
  • Hotels.com
    AU$634
  • Destinia.com
    AU$501
  • Expedia.com
    AU$635
0.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$808
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$809
  • Algotels
    AU$621
  • Expedia.com
    AU$809
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$751
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    AU$759
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$684
  • Hotels.com
    AU$850
1.5 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$327
  • Hotels.com
    AU$461
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$307
  • Expedia.com
    AU$461
0.9 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$435
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$459
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$389
  • Hotels.com
    AU$459
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$204
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Algotels
    AU$188
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
1.6 km from The Equus
Pool
Porte Cochere
AU$832
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$767
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$600
  • Expedia.com
    AU$767
1.7 km from The Equus
Beachfront
Pool
AU$294
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$222
  • Hotels.com
    AU$294
8.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,206)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveller rating
1,313
579
206
61
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,313
579
206
61
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family owned hotel ala moana red lobster aloha spirit waikiki beach abc store street level within walking distance small hotel convention center light sleeper small pool coffee maker heart of waikiki rene puka hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2024

Incredible hospitality, clean rooms, great location. Kollett was warm and informative both on the phone and during check-in. Her restaurant recommendation was perfect. Jacquie met our request for early check-in…by 4 hours. After a long flight, it was wonderful to be greater so well and to have access to our rooms right away.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseeV8930QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

Mahalo for the fantastic review! We're so pleased Kollett and Jacquie made your stay at The Equus exceptional. Their hospitality and attentiveness are what we strive for. We'll be sure to recognize their outstanding service. Please come back and see us again soon. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2024

We want to thank the following staff: Ben, attentive bartender, Yulia made us feel welcome, Duane, kept parking safe, Auntie Rene, greeted us like family, Lincoln, made sure we had the best experiences, Mat: created a relaxed welcoming atmosphere. Anita: coffee artist, makes the best pastries, Housekeeping, happy and demonstrated care in their work. Linda very friendly, Fe: kept us safe all night, Kolette helped us get chairs for polo. Beach chairs and towels are free to guests. The bed was comfy and clean. Nice family hotel.

Room tip: Staff are very proud that this hotel is the last privately owned hotel in Waikiki, and that pride shows through in staff care for customers
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Mahalo for the amazing review! Our team is thrilled you felt like family. From Ben's coffee to Auntie Rene's warm welcome, Lincoln's activity tips to Matt's relaxed bar vibe, and Anita's delicious pastries to our friendly housekeepers, everyone here works hard to make The Equus a special place. We're glad you enjoyed your comfy room, free beach gear, and our commitment to supporting local businesses. Mahalo for choosing The Equus, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2024 via mobile

Absolutely wonderful staff.

Lincoln was professional, helpful and was great to chat with when he had time between bookings.
Suzanne and Matt on nightshirt were very knowledgeable and friendly. It made it nice to just sit and chill in the cafe. Drinks, maybe food.
And in the mornings Pete was the best. Good breakfast. Great coffee. My sister loved that he spoke French as well.
I wrote another less personal review about this being a place for people who understand the power of buying locally. (That account got locked out) This is a great place. Loads of fun. No better place in Honolulu to stay.

Room tip: Bring a noise machine and cash for tipping
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Mahalo for this fantastic review of The Equus! We're so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with our staff. Creating a friendly and welcoming atmosphere is important to us, and it sounds like Lincoln, Suzanne, Matt, and Pete truly embodied that spirit. We'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024 via mobile

Equus review
Ben: very attentive bar tender. Makes great morning coffee
Yulia: greeted us with a complimentary drink and made us feel very welcome.
Duane: made sure we had a safe parking place.
Auntie Rene: greeted us like family. Check in was so easy.
Lincoln: took the time to ensure we had tickets to the best attractions recommending ways we could get the most from each experience.
Matt: made us relaxed, which caused us want to spend time in the bar rather than going out to eat somewhere else.
Anita: she makes all the pastries, and they are to die for. Her morning coffee is pure art. She also made us feel like family
Housekeeping. I wish we would have met each of you personally. Jackie is the manager. She has a great team. We heard two of the housekeepers talking, and they were happy and demonstrating care and support of each other. So nice to see. We knew we were staying at a hotel that cares about their employees. And the rooms were very clean.
Linda: only met her once when returning towels and beach chairs. Yes, they are available free to guests.
Linette: she attends the front desk. She also recommended activities we might enjoy.
Fe: she works the front desk at night. Had only a short conversation, but she was very nice. Best of all she kept us safe all night.
Kollett: she helped us get chairs to take to Polo.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Mahalo nui loa (thank you very much) for sharing so many heartwarming details about your recent stay. It truly means the world to us that you felt like family here.

We believe our team is what makes The Equus special, and your kind words about Ben, Yulia, Duane, Auntie Rene, Lincoln, Matt, Anita, Jackie and her housekeeping team, Linda, Linette, Fe, and Kollett absolutely made their day!

Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2024

There is no better place to stay on Oahu than this perfect little Boutique Hotel. Where else do you look forward to going downstairs and hanging out with the staff in the cafe/bar and mingling with locals from the area who also go there to hang out after work? Clean rooms, Close to everything. Knowledgeable staff that helped me find the things I. looked for from my Youth when I grew up here. Its the only independently owned hotel in Waikiki. Their service seems focused on helping family businesses in the area survive while treating guests to the not so tourist side of their stay here. Can be kinda loud in the morning but it Waikiki. And also, walking distance to the largest outdoor mall in America the Ala Moana center. I will nver stay anywhere else when I come here.

Room tip: Bring sound machine to drown out noise. And Plan time to hang out in the cafe.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

Wow, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Equus and found it to be the perfect home base for exploring Oahu.

We take a lot of pride in creating a welcoming atmosphere where guests can feel like they're part of the community. It sounds like you really embraced the chance to connect with our staff and local patrons at the Paniolo Bar & Cafe – that's exactly the vibe we strive for!

We're glad our knowledgeable staff could help you rediscover some of your favorite spots from your youth. As the last family-owned and operated hotel in Waikiki, we appreciate your support and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews