We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Aaron E
Lafayette, Louisiana

Pied-a-Terre in Honolulu

Review of The Equus
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2024
This would best be described as a boutique hotel. The room was large with all the amenities, including a balcony and great bathroom. The staff were super helpful. It was like having my own studio apartment in Honolulu. I would stay here again.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: The elevator is slow and can hold you up a couple of minutes.
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this review
Responded 13 May 2024
Thank you for choosing The Equus and for taking the time to share your review! We're delighted to hear you felt like you had your own cozy studio apartment in the heart of the city. It sounds like the spacious room, lanai, and amenities made your stay truly comfortable. Our staff is always happy to assist, so we're glad they exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Equus again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,036
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,036
1.2 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$825
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$826
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Porte Cochere
AU$635
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$635
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from The Equus
Beachfront
Pool
Exterior
AU$675
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hyatt.com
1.9 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$346
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
8.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$579
  • Algotels
0.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$614
  • Algotels
1.5 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$417
  • Expedia.com
    AU$510
0.9 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$420
  • Algotels
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$238
  • Algotels
1.6 km from The Equus
Pool
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,205)
Filter reviews
2,205 results
Traveller rating
1,312
579
206
61
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,312
579
206
61
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family owned hotel ala moana red lobster aloha spirit waikiki beach abc store street level within walking distance small hotel convention center light sleeper small pool coffee maker heart of waikiki rene puka hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 2,205 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2024

This must be the place you select for an authentic, warm, aloha spirt. The Equus boasts so much charm from the moment you enter the building. The staff is like no other, treating you like family. My personal experience with Lincoln gave me insights into why this building possesses such good energy and allowed me the opportunity to personally thank the owner as he sat at the bar doing his daily routine. This establishment is unique and becoming rare. Trust me, this must be the place. Mahalo nui for allowing us the celebrate a dear friend's new orbit *birthday* in style and grace!! Until we meet again! A hui hou!! (((♡))) jazze

Room tip: Ask questions, learn and grow!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Aloha Jazze and mahalo nui loa for your kind words! We're so happy to hear The Equus felt like a home away from home for your friend's birthday celebration. Lincoln is thrilled you enjoyed his company, and the whole team appreciates you recognizing their aloha spirit. We strive to create a unique and warm experience, and reviews like yours make it all worthwhile. A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

We chose The Equus in order to avoid Waikiki's gigantic resort-type chain hotels and are glad we did. The location was perfect for conference-goers, just a 12-minute walk to the convention center and next door to some eateries and cafes. The beds were large if on the soft side; the AC worked well; the shower was hot and had good pressure, though it was quite small; and the balcony was lovely. As far as complaints other reviewers have made, we didn't notice outdoor noise much and didn't mind that our room didn't look like a resort. It was comfortable and clean. Do note that the elevator can take quite a while and there are only 4 people allowed in at a time.

We especially appreciated the welcome drink, the kind front desk staff, and the warm and excellent service by Ben at the Paniolo Bar. The breakfast and drinks were solid, especially Ben's avocado toast. Also, the price was great compared to everywhere else nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JessicaK784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Mahalo for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our friendly, comfortable, family-owned boutique alternative to the mega resorts that cover most of Waikiki. We're thrilled you enjoyed the service, especially Ben at the Paniolo Bar—we'll surely pass on your compliments! A hui hou! We truly appreciate your support of The Equus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

Excellent service, especially from Lincoln and Ben 🥥☺️. We stayed here 2 nights before boarding our cruise. We prefer a smaller hotel rather than the big ones! Your close to everything 🍍🍍
PS/ owner very nice also, he even carried our luggage 😁

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Mahalo for the fantastic review! We're so happy you chose our boutique hotel for your pre-cruise stay and that you enjoyed the personalized service, especially from Lincoln and Ben. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words!

We understand the preference for a smaller, more intimate atmosphere, and we're glad you found our little slice of paradise ideal. It sounds like you had a wonderful time overall! Being a family-owned business, we take pride in creating a welcoming environment and we cherish your support. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2024

The Aloha spirit is alive and well at the Equus check in/customer service with Rene Kahumoku. She noticed that somehow I had a duplicate booking, and contacted me right away. I was not able to find the company that had made the reservation, but she tracked them down, and made sure they gave me a full refund for the extra booking. Her service was the best I have ever encountered and turned a nightmare into a sweet dream. Thank you, Rene!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Mahalo for sharing your amazing experience and kind words about Rene! Her spirit truly shines, and we're grateful for her dedication in going the extra mile for you. Rene will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Mahalo for choosing The Equus! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

I chose this hotel because I wanted to support a local, family-owned business instead of a global chain so I knew my money would go into the community; if that is not important to you, there are tons of other options.

The room was mostly good but it could use some improvements - little things that would not require an entire renovation. E.g. there was an iron but no ironing board; there was a manual safe but no key provided; housekeeping came every day but did not wipe down the sink before or during my stay. Another thing - the rooms open to an exterior hallway and do not have deadbolts, so that is another thing to consider.

The staff is very friendly and your stay comes with a complementary drink. It's conveniently located within walking distance to the Ala Moana Center mall and the Ala Moana beach, but not so close to all the tourists closer to Waikiki. The best perk is that the shower water is HOT.

Room tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor; there is a pool and bar by the 2nd floor rooms.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you for your review and for choosing to support our local, family-owned boutique hotel! We truly appreciate your desire to keep your dollars in the community.

Your feedback is valuable to us as we strive to continuously improve. We'll definitely consider your suggestions as we want to ensure a 5-star experience for all of our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, complimentary drinks, and convenient location near Ala Moana Center and the beach!

As we work hard to further enhance the guest experience, we hope to once again convince you to choose The Equus for your next stay in Waikiki. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews