We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nancy D

Nice Boutique Hotel

Review of The Equus
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2024via mobile
Excellent service, especially from Lincoln and Ben 🥥☺️. We stayed here 2 nights before boarding our cruise. We prefer a smaller hotel rather than the big ones! Your close to everything 🍍🍍
PS/ owner very nice also, he even carried our luggage 😁
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this review
Responded 29 Apr 2024
Mahalo for the fantastic review! We're so happy you chose our boutique hotel for your pre-cruise stay and that you enjoyed the personalized service, especially from Lincoln and Ben. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words!

We understand the preference for a smaller, more intimate atmosphere, and we're glad you found our little slice of paradise ideal. It sounds like you had a wonderful time overall! Being a family-owned business, we take pride in creating a welcoming environment and we cherish your support. Please come back and see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,035
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$809
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$216
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from The Equus
Pool
AU$294
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$294
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
8.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$596
  • Algotels
0.1 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$687
  • Algotels
1.5 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$405
  • Algotels
0.9 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$459
  • Algotels
1.3 km from The Equus
Free Wifi
Pool
Porte Cochere
  • Hotels.com
  • Westin.com
    AU$698
  • Expedia.com
    AU$767
1.7 km from The Equus
Beachfront
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$859
  • Algotels
1.6 km from The Equus
Beachfront
Pool
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (2,206)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveller rating
1,313
579
206
61
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,313
579
206
61
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family owned hotel ala moana red lobster aloha spirit waikiki beach abc store street level within walking distance small hotel convention center light sleeper small pool coffee maker heart of waikiki rene puka hawaii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024

The Aloha spirit is alive and well at the Equus check in/customer service with Rene Kahumoku. She noticed that somehow I had a duplicate booking, and contacted me right away. I was not able to find the company that had made the reservation, but she tracked them down, and made sure they gave me a full refund for the extra booking. Her service was the best I have ever encountered and turned a nightmare into a sweet dream. Thank you, Rene!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Mahalo for sharing your amazing experience and kind words about Rene! Her spirit truly shines, and we're grateful for her dedication in going the extra mile for you. Rene will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Mahalo for choosing The Equus! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

I chose this hotel because I wanted to support a local, family-owned business instead of a global chain so I knew my money would go into the community; if that is not important to you, there are tons of other options.

The room was mostly good but it could use some improvements - little things that would not require an entire renovation. E.g. there was an iron but no ironing board; there was a manual safe but no key provided; housekeeping came every day but did not wipe down the sink before or during my stay. Another thing - the rooms open to an exterior hallway and do not have deadbolts, so that is another thing to consider.

The staff is very friendly and your stay comes with a complementary drink. It's conveniently located within walking distance to the Ala Moana Center mall and the Ala Moana beach, but not so close to all the tourists closer to Waikiki. The best perk is that the shower water is HOT.

Room tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor; there is a pool and bar by the 2nd floor rooms.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you for your review and for choosing to support our local, family-owned boutique hotel! We truly appreciate your desire to keep your dollars in the community.

Your feedback is valuable to us as we strive to continuously improve. We'll definitely consider your suggestions as we want to ensure a 5-star experience for all of our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, complimentary drinks, and convenient location near Ala Moana Center and the beach!

As we work hard to further enhance the guest experience, we hope to once again convince you to choose The Equus for your next stay in Waikiki. Mahalo nui loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

Nice quaint hotel very family oriented. Lincoln and the rest of the staff were fantastic! They were very accommodating and helpful getting us around the island. There are several beaches very close with at least two within walking distance. We will definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Aloha and mahalo for the lovely review. We're happy you enjoyed our family-friendly vibe as well as Lincoln's superb service. We appreciate you choosing The Equus and we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024

We’ve been coming here for years and we’ve never been disappointed. Close to the gorgeous Waikiki beaches but quietly tucked away from the riff raff. The paniolo bar is the real gem here- a cozy watering hole for both locals and guests. Always plenty of characters and bartender Matt is both talented and a pleasure to talk to. We’ll keep coming back!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Freeman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're always delighted to see a familiar face back at The Equus! We strive to create a charming and relaxing atmosphere, and it sounds like we've achieved that for you.

We're particularly happy to hear about your appreciation for the Paniolo Bar. It truly is a gem, offering a cozy and welcoming space for guests and locals alike. Matt is one of our superstars and we're thrilled to hear he made a lasting impression.

Your continued loyalty means the world to us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful and personable, and accommodated our special requests, arranging cab rides and early checkins around our flight schedule. Nice view. Would book here again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Odyssey08519304808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris White, Guest Services / Front Office at The Equus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Mahalo for the fantastic review! We're thrilled you enjoyed the clean room, comfortable stay, and the beautiful view. Our staff takes pride in being helpful and accommodating, so we're glad they exceeded expectations with your cab rides and early check-in. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews