We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed a week at the hotel recently and it was a very enjoyable experience. The one bedroom unit facing Diamond Head was very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped so we were able to cook most evenings. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and it it down the quieter end of Waikiki which suited us well. Car parking is conveniently located next door and easily assessible.
The bed was one of the best we had ever slept in!
Staff were also very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macca41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Aloha Macca41,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, accommodations and location.

There's great value in staying with us as you found out. Eating out every night can get expensive so by just eating one meal a day in our room will save you lots of money.

Mahalo for your great comments and we look forward to your next viisit. Until then, Mahalo and . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 614 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent a week here and really enjoyed it! The hotel isn't on the beach but it's just a short walk down and close to all the action. We walked everywhere, even with our toddler and infant. I liked that it wasn't on the strip but off a little so we didn't get all that beach noise. We had a nice view of Diamond Head as well. The pool was nice and the full kitchen a plus! I would have rated it 5 stars but it could use a little updating furniture and bedding wise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah58504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Aloha Sarah58504,

Mahalo for your great comments on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, service and location. Yes, we're in the quiet part of Waikiki and it's just a 6 minute walk to Waikiki Beach and a few more minutes to most of the major attractions.

Our full kitchen makes it very convenient for families, especially for the young children. You can prepare their meals and save lots of money too.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

There are 12 of us stayed for 12 days starting on 18/02/2012 - 27/02/2012. We had a fantastic time and staff are very helpful. We enjoyed every moment in that place. Room are so tidy and clean all the time. Everything in the kitchen spotless and clean can't complain. We feel at home every minute we entered the front door. I am looking forward to come back soon.

Room Tip: Corners suites are larger and sunny nice view to the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REPEKA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Aloha REPEKA L,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for your kind words about our service and accommodations and especially about feeling at home. I will be sure to share this with our staff as it's important for them to know that their effort to provide exceptional guest service is both recognized and appreciated.

Mahalo for posting this on TripAdvisor to share with all of our readers. We look forward to your next visit and until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Some of the reviews of this place were a little off putting but I think some people are maybe too fussy or just want to complain!!

As a group we had a single and 2 bedroom condo on the 27 floor. The double room was well set out with a good kitchen and had everything we needed. It had a great view of diamond head and the ocean. The single room was just as well set out with an ocean view. Unfortunately this room had the balcony door locked due to the renovations going on outside but this didn't affect us greatly- we were there to be out doing the touristy things, going to the beach, etc- not sitting in the room! There was also a laundry room on the floor which was put to good use. The 6th floor has an area for free wifi which was useful - unfortunately no wifi in the rooms only landline internet.

Otherwise it was a great place to stay and I would happily recommend it and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ausbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Aloha Ausbk,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you found great value in our accommodations and enjoyed our location and service.

Yes, two bedroom units have a great unobstructed view of Diamond Head, and in my opinion, it's the best in Waikiki. As for your one bedroom unit, my apology about not having access to the lanai. For the safety and comfort of our guests as well as the safety of the construction workers, the contractor has restricted access to the lanai in the areas they are working on. Your understanding is greatly appreciated.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights starting on 2/11. The unit we had was a 2 bedroom with Diamond Head view on the 28th floor. The condo was nicer than we expected. Everything in the kitchen was new. The linens were also new. Jennifer who greeted us upon our arrival could not been more gracious and helpful. All of the staff we encountered were great.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Diamond Head side has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Aloha lsfexec,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations with our service and accommodations and I'm sure you also enjoyed the spectacular view of Diamond Head. I forwarded a copy of your posting to Jennifer as it's important for her to know that her efforts to provide exceptional guest service is both recognized and apprecitated.

Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,572 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Honolulu

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $231 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotelopia so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing