We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfied” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom/full kitchen suite on 16th floor with a spectacular view of Diamond Head and partial or obstructed view of the ocean. The rooms were clean on our arrival. The kitchen was fully equipped with all the cooking and washing utensils needed. Some of the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downsides were, a towel railing or hook was missing, the blind in the bathroom needed replacing as some of the slats were broken or bent and this made it somewhat awkward if the men were working outside the window and you needed to use the toilet. The location was ideal for us. Close to tour bus pickup points, just a 5 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute walk to the closest supermarket (not including the 82 ABC stores). Also, it was just the right distance from the main drag of Waikiki to opt for a quiet night in the room away from the hussle bussle of constant traffic and people, or to enjoy a good walk to be amongst the laid back and at times busy lifestyle that has to offer. All in all, our family enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kissendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Aloha Kissendon,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, service, location, and view. All of our two bedroom units have an unobstructed and spectacular view of Diamond Head. Our full kitchen provides great value so you don't have to go out to eat every day. By just eating one meal per day in the room provides great savings. As you found out, Waikiki Beach is a very close walk from our hotel, as well as the bus stop, restaurants, shops, etc.

Mahalo also for letting me know about the missing towel ring in the room. I've already advised our maintenance dept to replace it. My apology for this.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until the next time, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    614
    255
    88
    59
See reviews for
781
204
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

First, there is construction going on and the balconies are inaccessible. The rooms are tired and desperately need updated. The location is three or four blocks from the beach. The only bright spot was the very nice lady at checkin.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USFlyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Aloha USFlyBoy,

Mahalo for your candid comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm concerned about your comment about our rooms looking tired as all of our rooms have been recently renovated. If it wasn't for your compliment about the service you received at check-in, I would have questioned whether or not you stayed in a Aston managed unit.

I would appreciate hearing from you as to what unit you stayed in so I can personally inspect it. I also apologize that your unit had no access to the lanai. This is due to the exterior enhancement project and for the safety and well-being of our guests. While this is true for some of the rooms have no access to the lanai, the majority of our rooms do.

Mahalo for taking the time to share your comments and I hope I hear from you about what room you stayed in. I can be contacted at doug.okada@astonhotels.com.

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This hotel/condo building is 3 blocks from the beach and there are many restaurants and shops within a short distance. The building itself is clean enough but dated not especially attractive.
The rooms are clean and spacious, beds are comfortable enough, and there is a kitchen which I could see being very useful. There is a pool and tennis courts and a sunbathing deck.
There is exterior construction going on until Sept 2012 which I was informed of three days before I was set to arrive. It did not impact us as it does not happen on weekends. All in all the place is "just ok". Clean, family oriented, convenient. However, the $10.00 daily mandatory resort fee for services which we had no use for is absolutely unacceptable, dishonest and is nothing but a way to gouge customers. This is my first experience with these fees and i have since learned that customers must speak up about these charges if hotels are ever to stop this practice. I did complain at the desk which was useless. The fees are disingenuous and anti- Aloha.

Room Tip: upper floors on either side will have views above the 15th floor . Avoid the 6th floor poolside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sand-Darwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Aloha Sand-Darwin,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us during your visit to our beautiful island. Based on your comments, I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your candid feedback about our Amenity Fee program. On occasion I do receive negative feedback about this mandatory fee, but overall the reception has been very positive.

Our Amenity Program is exactly that. Amenities. It's different from a resort fee that many other hotels charge. Our program includes unlimited use of DVD movies & video games, daily coffee & tea, daily newspaper, in-room internet, local & toll-free calls, and in-room safe. All of our rooms are equipped with a Playstation2 to play the movies and video games.

Again, Mahalo for staying with us and I hope we'll see you again soon. Until then, Mahalo and. . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in this condo-like hotel and it worked out great for us. Having a kitchen made it easier to get going in the morning because we didn't have to go out for breakfast every day. Also, we were able to bring home leftovers from other meals and heat them up later. We heard the jack hammers, but most of the time we were not in the hotel during the day since there was so much to see on Oahu. There was signage explaining the work being done on the exterior of the building. The hotel rooms were remodeled recently too. The employees were great!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelerforfun49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Aloha travelerforfun49,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. I especially appreciate your comments regarding the exterior enhancement project being done here. Yes, if you're out exploring our beautiful island for most of the day, the project isn't a problem. Mahalo also for your kind words about our service. Please know that I will share this with our staff.

I'm also happy to hear that you found great value in our accommodations. By eating one meal a day in the room can save you a great deal of money, and yes, you can bring left overs back and warm it up when you're hungry again.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit. Until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This hotel is not 3 star and would struggle with 2. It is old and run down. We checked in and no one mentioned the construction. Then at 8.30am the jack hammers started - right on our balcony. Yes 4 feet from the couch. The noise terrified our 15 month who was bawling his eyes out. Call after call got us no where. What annoyed me most is they would have known the construction was scheduled yet no one said a thing at time of check in or any other time. They should never have put any one in that room knowing there were jack hammers at 8.30am. Aside from that there are only 4 elevators and we waited upto 5 minutes as elevator after elevator went past full. The pool is very dated the outlook from the rooms is less than desirable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Aloha Mark P,

Mahalo for your candid remarks regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of the staff and management of the Aston Waikiki Sunset, my sincere apology for the inconvenience that you and your family experienced during your stay with us.

Yes, we have a project being done to the exterior of the building and we're doing our very best to minimize the inconvenience to our guests. If I recall correctly, you were with us at the beginning of the project and since then we have learned a lot about the schedule and what to expect.

Again, my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Property: Aston Waikiki Sunset
Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $271 - $403
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing