We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a budget trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Aston Waikiki hotel is great for a family vacation. In all fairness, for those who like a bit more luxury, it isn't a 5 star hotel, but it did offer everything we needed. The location is great! The hotel is at the end of the Waikiki strip, close to the Diamond Head area (great location for a morning run). It is also right across from the beach which is wonderful! Yes, there is a section of the beach area that is currently under construction, but it's not like you have to walk a mile to find the next open beach area...maybe a block (if even). Plus, the fun part of Waikiki is walking down the beach anyway and seeing all the different hotels, etc. So, if you are looking for quiet and remote, you should probably not be staying in Honolulu period (Maui and Kaui are better islands for that).

Another nice feature is the breakfast, which offers an assortment of bagels, muffins, doughnuts and fresh fruit. In my opinion, I actually thought they had a generous assortment and they did a good job of keeping it stocked during the breakfast hours. Sure, it is just bagels and pastries, but it's more than what most hotels (even the nicer hotels) offer as part of the hotel stay package. If you want to fill up on eggs, sausage, etc., you may want to find an ihop or a breakfast place for that. We also liked that we could fill up our cooler bag to have snacks the rest of the day. We didn't have any issues with lines or crowds and were there over spring break.

There is a Wolfgang Puck and Subway right below the hotel which is nice for a cheaper meal. If you like to do a little exploring, just walk down the street towards the Royal Hawaiian hotel and you will find tons of food options and shopping. Everything is super close together.

The only negative feedback I have is that the rooms are indeed small and a bit outdated in style. However, I felt the rooms are clean and the staff does a good job of supplying fresh towels everyday and cleaning the room daily. In all honesty, you are not in your room much anyway and if you plan to be, I would question why when you are in a location as great as Hawaii.

Tips:
1. Don't rent a car for the entire time - the transportation is very good for getting you around the Honolulu area. It is not worth the daily parking fees that most hotels charge.
2. If you do want to rent a car, I would recommend it only for visiting the north shore and the Kailua beach area. Those are definitely must see areas of Oahu. The shaved ice in the North Shore area is fantastic!
3. Bring your walking shoes - everything is pretty close together in Waikiki, but the strip is fairly long and there are lots of things to see, so be prepared to walk.
4. The night life is fun for kids and adults. Lots of people doing their little shows on the sidewalks at night time. Yes, there are quite a few homeless people but they won't bother you if you don't bother them.
5. Wear your sunscreen! The sun is intense even if the weather only feels like 75 degrees.

Enjoy yourselves! The tradeoff for a less luxurious hotel is worth it if you want to make this a budget trip for you and your family in a place of paradise!

Stayed: March 2012
7  Thank Cbb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,250 of 3,942 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed Mar.23 week and found the hotel ok. Value is good for Waikiki but nothing really stands out about this property. $27 daily parking, ice cold pool that closes at 7pm just a couple of things we didn't care for. The staff we dealt with were friendly enough and no issues there. Our room (2206) was a basis room with a small but functional and clean bathroom. We had a good beach and diamond head view but very dissappointed the lanai's had no room for even a chair. If you want a balcony to sit and relax, make sure you're on the north side, not the south. Tiki's lounge was nice (good deals for happy hour) and supper there was good.
Overall a good location, decent value but a busy location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a fantastic stay. Room was quiet on 18th floor, nice view of the ocean but balcony a little small to sit out on without lanai door open. Tikis was great typically themed but friendly service and food reasonable. Amenities in hotel good, beds comfy,staff helpful. Pay for film, DVD and PS3 a reasonable cost if needed. Had an amazing stay with my teenage son, Hawaii truly is paradise, friendly and very family friendly.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to get above street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We loved our stay at the beach hotel. Great buffet breakfast every morning. You get a cooler bag so if you don't feel like eating poolside you can take breakfast back to your room, or to the beach, etc. Breakfast had lots of variety. We had the best views over Waikiki beach, and the beach right out front is the best beach spot in all of Waikiki. And it has shallow areas if you have kiddies. Lots of places to eat, drink and shop all walking distance. Shopping trolleys can take you to all the popular places if you don't want o walk. We did a lot of tours (with many different tour companies) and the Aston beach hotel was ALWAYS a pick up/ drop off location... Not all hotels are! A super convenient and lovely spot, would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2011
3  Thank island_hopper_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here in December/January and loved this hotel. Its not anything majorly flash but its in a perfect location and we ended up with the most awesome view of Waikiki Beach. You couldnt ask for anything better.
Stayed in a Junior Suite faced the ocean - room was not overly large by a suite standard but was good for us as we had our son in a cot so we had a bit of room to spread out and he had room to run around. We had a small table and 2 chairs in the room which we used to eat our breakfast while looking at our ocean view - got breakfast every morning from the buffet downstairs. Yes there isnt a hell of a lot of stuff to choose from but really there is cereal & bread & you can get an omelette if you pay $5.
Pool not overly huge but never swam in it - choose to swim in the beautiful calm ocean straight across the road which is protected by the rockwall.
Staff helpful & nice.
The only negative is it is quite a noisy hotel - the area just seems to pickup a lot of outside noise and yes you can hear it from the room. But it didnt ruin our stay - just added to the atmosphere.
We loved our stay here - wouldnt hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a High Floor Ocean View - Junior Suite adds extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,616 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
2,299 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,647 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Honolulu

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $258 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing