We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal travellers place to stay, close to everything, right on the beach, always plenty of people around too.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal travellers place to stay, close to everything, right on the beach, always plenty of people around too.”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I sayed here for a week and a half at the end of August and really enjoyed it. Stayed in an 8 bed dorm, not very spacious but clean and ideal if you just need a place to sleep and shower! Perfect location, less than a minutes walk from the gorgeous beach, shops nearby, bars within 5 minute walk and plenty of places to eat too. Communal area good, everyone kicks off their evening there but shuts at 10pm, a bit too early but something to do with noise apparently. Would reccomend!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aetaylor1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    251
    121
    32
    33
See reviews for
8
43
347
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Hal (fake name) is the one who is the wet blanket, never smiles. the other staff is friendly & helpful. Have previous stays, some of the stuff is upgraded, like the generic pb & j to name brand.
Have more staff in the morning to clean. have kept out some of the drunken party animals (good) who used to make late night entries. the social is good, a melting pot usually only seen in DC.
Lockers in room is new, as is the security camera in the Lounge area. Location is good.
Need a supermarket close by not an ABC store, fast food gets old fast. location location, location.
one block walk to beach, & all night fast food. bike rental is next door.Go out & meet the world !!

Room Tip: rooms with kitchens & bring your own groceries., higher floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here for 3 weeks, and I loved it! They had a discount going, book 6 days get the 7th free, so I got 3 free nights! If I had any questions, the front desk was super helpful. There was dinner every night in the lounge, and it was always great. There was a little wifi cafe (that it took me forever to notice!) that sold a cheap, delicious breakfast and lunch every day.

I had a few sets of roommates that I spent a lot of time with, and everyone was SO friendly; guests and staff alike. They have women's only dorms, but I stayed in a COED, because I didn't care (and why take the women's only room if I was indifferent?). They were so accommodating.

Great for younger travelers, in groups or solo. Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, request a room on the lowest floor (which is the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I loved this hostel from the moment I set foot in the place. Just the way it is set-up makes for a great common area where meeting people becomes second nature. I highly recommend this hostel if you are planning on meeting some new friends. Also clean, good priced and friendly staff!

Room Tip: ask the staff they can ethier point you to a "crazy room" or "quiet room" but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

Hostel was exactly as expected for $30 a night. Basic but very clean, with kitchenette and plenty of extras like free breakfast and local phone calls. Doug was great and went out of his way to help, as was the other guy on reception. Unfortunately the same couldnt be said of the ladies - they just werent as keen to help. So if you are looking to book tours or need help on what to see I'd say ask the guys. It was quite a noisy hostel but that didnt bother me.

I almost didnt stay here due to other reviews about bed bugs - but glad I did as we had no problems.

Maholo.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivethejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,260 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,399 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Beachside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Property: Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Address: 2556 Lemon Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $50 - $227
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Waikiki Beachside Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii Tax ID# TA-208-436-2240-01 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Beachside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waikiki Beachside Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beachside Hostel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing