We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days. Some rooms in the hotel are currently being refurbished but we knew about it beforehand. The location of the hotel is fantastic, walking distance to Waikiki (10-15min) in a very peaceful and quiet area next to Kapiolani park. I haven't rated the hotel with 5 stars due to the small room size, lack of kettle/coffee machine in the room, very small bath towels and the refurbishment works which theoretically start daily at 9am but in practice you can start hearing the noise from 7:30am. Everything else exceeded our expectations (cleanliness, comfy bed, new decor, L'occitane toiletries...).

The staff is very friendly. Upon our arrival we were given a room on the third floor. We booked an Ocean Superior room but could only see palm trees out of the window so asked at reception whether they could give us another room and we were relocated to the 8th floor which had the Ocean view we were dreaming about. The hotel has a helpdesk with a very friendly person who provides you with as much information as you need about places to visit, activities to do during your stay, etc.

The hotel has a parking area ($23/day) but if you don't want to pay the daily rate you could safely park your car on the street (there's plenty of free parking on the opposite side of Kapiolani park). If you rent a car through the hotel's website beware that the prize doesn't include the compulsory car insurance ($35-$80 per day!!).

There's a small convenience store next to the hotel (for which there's a one off 10% discount for the hotel guests) and direct access to the beach. The New Otani Kaimana is very good value for your money. Recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms above 4th floor to avoid palm trees blocking your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Young_couple-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 505 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

The new Otani is in the perfect location in Waikiki! Walking distance to the main attractions
and minutes to Diamonhead. Visit the Waikiki aquarium or Kapiolani park across the street.
It lies right on the water and has rooms with great views!! While it is a little older
the location, views, bar & restuarant are wonderful. We asked for a microwave which was
perfect for a quick oatmeal breakfast along with the coffee and fridge in the room. Staff
was always available when needed. The beach front is a common place for many local swimmers and we often saw many turtles swimming right in front of the hotel. Plenty
of snorkleing right in your own little beach!

Room Tip: Ask for suite with wrap around balcony-great views from every location! Beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We visited the New Otani because my boyfriend had wonderful memories of staying there many times before...he couldn't wait to return. Boy, was he shocked and stunned! The room was so small' we didn't have anywhere to put our two suitcases...nasty old tile and grout in the small bathroom. The old louvered door to the bath was layered with dust and old grime. Ick...we were unable to upgrade after trying, trying, trying....so we left after two nights. Be careful! The pictures on their website don't show any of the nasty old rooms...they only photograph the renovated suites. The restaurant breakfast and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Countryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Nestled in the foothill of Diamondhead and literally within the confines of the Kaplolani Park with it's ancient banyon trees and multitude of birds ,it's hard to believe this oasis is just a 5 minute walk away from world class shopping, restaurants, cultural and sporting opportunities galore. The staff is Japanese, precise and service oriented. Our room(#614) was spotlessly clean with beautiful ocean and mountain views.there is a fridge, iron, ironing board, robes, extra pillows for the asking and a coffee pot, which you should request as soon as you arrive.closet and drawer space is cleverly designed which made unpacking a snap. This is our third trip to Hawaii and it was definitely the most relaxing and fun.... It's all about location, location, location, which this place has in spades. If i could change one thing I would have asked for room617 which has a wrap around lanai, but what the hay, we spent most of our time outdoor on the secluded beach(which does have a life guard) ( beach mats and towels are in the lobby, free for the asking, we usually had the beach to ourselves! Nirvana!!!!!or venturing forth toward Kalakaua avenue via the beachfront flagstone and mortar esplanade that connects the beachfront to the commercial center of Honalulu. It's wide enough to accommodate both a slow lookie lookie or a fast calorie
burner. Beautiful either way.we stopped for lunch at the Sheridan Waikiki (rum fire terrace bar) but it was way too frantic With kids running roughshot over their harried parents . We just squeezed our hands, finished our Mai Tais and returned to our Otani ..... Don't miss brunch in the Hau tree Lanai, a favorite of discerning locals. Make a reservation to avoid disappointment!!!!! Do stay on the 6 Th floor or higher for the most glorious views. You will be so glad you have discovered this gem!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsunder106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The pictures look NOTHING like the rooms -at least not the standard rooms. The rooms were "new" in the 70's maybe but definitely nothing modern about them now. We asked the front desk if there was another, renovated room and he was rude and sarcastic.

There were leftover hairs in the bathroom, we could hear our neighbors TV, alarm clock and conversations through the walls - not their fault. The walls are just that thin.

If I could do it over, I would have selected a more affordable place downtown. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Autumn G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Aloha and thank you for selecting The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Hawaii, and for your comments made on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service, and when you feel that we had failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know. The Moderate room is our most economical room out of the 16 other categories we have here on property. We apologize if you had any misconceptions of the room itself. Our website does list an accurate description of the each of the categories, which includes the size, view and photo, so guests will expect the kind of room they paid for.
We are currently undergoing full renovations to our ocean view rooms. The hotel is committed to make continuous investments to its facilities, aimed to maximize the quality and ambiance guests have come to expect at when visiting. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Staff & Management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,565 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,487 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
585 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Honolulu

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $228 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing