We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Palms Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend/coworker who visited Hawaii for a wedding two years ago (arrangements were made by the bride, who is from Hawaii, and also now a coworker). So I felt fairly comfortable booking this hotel despite the lowish number of stars (I normally don't even consider a property with less than three stars). This hotel had a number of pros: the rate, location, cleanliness and comfort. I had a view of both Diamondhead and the ocean from my balcony (yes, an actual balcony that I could sit out on), and I was paying almost nothing by Honolulu standards! I could easily access the beach and any number of the premier hotels and shopping centers nearby.

On the con side, the street was rather noisy and the furniture dated. But the pros more than made up for it. I would take this hotel any day over the upscale, overpriced hotel I stayed at after I left Oahu.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mizladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha mizladee:

It's always great to hear that word of mouth recommendations brought you to the Aqua Palms and better yet that you enjoyed your stay!

Please feel free to contact me directly for your next visit.

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    778
    346
    99
    51
See reviews for
390
793
206
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Palms Hotel for 17 days this past January.

First the pros - the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. I can't say enough nice things about them. The pink trolley stops right in front of the hotel. The overall location was good for us - we walked to the beach, park, ala moana shopping center and many restaurants all within 15 min or less. In the lobby you can get free regular coffee and free apples. Also you can request beach towels for no charge.

The cons - the room was small and showed wear. Nothing like the picture on the web.
I have a picture of a spot of mold growing on the wallpaper below my headboard. The bathtub was really gross having been re-enameled but with most of the enamel peeling off. Even after bleaching out before every use I felt bad giving my toddler a bath in it.
The balcony was extremely dangerous for my 2 year old - her head and entire body fit easily through the bars. I don't know what the code is for this (maybe it's standard?) but I would not let her outside at all which further cut down on our very tight living space.
The in room coffee pot is ok, it's small and enough for maybe two cups of coffee. The pool was also small but adequate but because of a building across the street it loses sun for appx. 2-3 hours a day (about 1:30-3:30pm).
The free wifi internet only works in the lobby.
Overall, If I came back to this island I would not stay at the Aqua Palms again.

Room Tip: The side away from the street is much more quiet and worth requesting if you don't want to sun y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdubb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha jdubb77:

I'm disappointed to hear that you would not return to the Aqua Palms!

Upgrades and refrsehing of the property is scheduled for this year and would hope that you would give us another opporunity to serve.

I am delighted to hear that the staff were very friendly and helpful, they are one of the best features of the property!

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here over presidents weekend...because all of the other hotels we normally stay at were sold out. The room is small but is comfortable. I appreciated the quiet. The room has a 42 inch plasma TV and free internet. We ended up walking a little farther to get to places, however with all the good eats in Waikiki, it was nice to get some exercise and there is a ton to look at along the way.
There is a pool, but it is pretty small, so do not expect a great pool experience.
All and all it was a pretty good back up hotel...would definitely consider it next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronco-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha Bronco-6:

It was great having you with us over the President's Day Weekend! I'm glad you got to experience us and am excited to hear that you would stay with us again!

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Luv
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a small, "boutique" style hotel - nothing fancy, but the location is perfect. It's right across the street from the beachfront Hilton Hawaiian Village property, which has a fireworks show every Friday night. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and it's only a 10 minute walk to "where all the action is". There's even a convenient, 24 hour coffee shop a few steps from the hotel. I've stayed at the Aqua Palms twice and I've been satisfied. There's free coffee available and a weekly "Managers Reception" in the lobby from 5-6 pm that offers a free cocktail, snacks and live music. I'd definitely stay here again. The staff and service is wonderful and the value can't be beat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamond-luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha Diamond-luv:

It is great to hear when we have repeat guests, especially when they say they will return again!

Please be sure to contact me directly for your return visit so that we may be sure to take great care of you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Mahaer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My sister and I just spent 10 days at the Aqua Palms Waikiki. Like other reviewers had mentioned the hotel is in need of renovations. That being said the place is scrupulously clean, the staff is friendly and approachable and the manager truly cares about the comfort and satisfaction of her guests. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and would likely not even look at staying elsewhere if I were fortunate enough to return to Honolulu. From the complimentary apples and lemon ice water in the foyer to the Managers reception on Thursdays with live entertainment, drinks and snacks, attention is paid to every detail to ensure a pleasant stay for their clientele. I've travelled a fair amount and have stayed at some very posh hotels but have never felt more comfortable. If you care about a five star appearance this may not be the place for you. If you care about being treated like a five star guest this is the place for you. Maholo to Patty and her staff for making our trip such a pleasant one.
On our last day of holidays we met an elderly gentleman who told us about a place at the Ala Moana Shopping Centre called Shirokiya (it's beside Macy's and within walking distance of the hotel). It is two stories of a variety of fresh Japenese foods that are very inexpensive and a nice change to what is available at the local ABC stores.
Also we were prepared to rent a car for at least a portion of our trip. It turns out that their transit system is very efficient. You can literally go anywhere you want to on the island for $2.50 (exact change required). The concierge can help you with the schedule. The Expedia representatives are very helpful as well. Of course they would like to sell you their tours and if you want a hassle free way to go that may be desirable. We found it wasn't any big deal to take the bus.
We went to the North Shore, The Polynesian Cultural Centre, Pearl Harbor, Chinatown, The Bishop Museum to name just a few (all accessed by bus). We only travelled during the day so never felt vulnerable. There were some pretty interesting locals on the buses, friendly and willing to give advice about places they would recommend to visit.

Room Tip: Room 518 had a nice view of the city and Diamondhead with two queen sized beds and a full lanai. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happytravellers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquapalmsandspa, General Manager at Aqua Palms Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha happytravellers88:

As stated we may not be a 5 star hotel but we do all we can to make our guests like 5 STARS!
All of us at the Aqua Palms are here to make sure that everyone has a memorable stay in the islands and I'm delighted to see that was the case with you!

Please be sure to contact me directly for your next stay with us! It was our pleasure to serve you!

Me ke Aloha Pumehana,
With Warmest Aloha,

Patty Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Palms Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Palms Waikiki

Property: Aqua Palms Waikiki
Address: 1850 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $188 - $308
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Palms Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Palms Waikiki is a boutique hotel located 1 block to the beach and across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This hotel is a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and in close proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center. During your stay, you'll enjoy convenient guest room comforts like Aqua BLISS pillow top beds, 42-inch LCD TV's, a mini-refrigerator, a microwave, iHome alarm clock radio, credit card laundry facilities, and a coffeemaker. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Palms Waikiki allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki/Ala Moana Shuttle service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. Also includes access to the fitness center, pool and sundeck with a barbeque grill, and coffee and water service in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Aqua Palms Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Palms Hotel
Aqua Palms Honolulu
Aqua Palms Spa Honolulu
Aqua Palms Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing