We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Very good hotel, well positioned and reasonably priced. Good alfresco breakfast buffet and centrally located. Convenient for the trolley tours and right opposite the beach. Worth having an ocean view but expensive. Hawaii is a paradise and has to be seen.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view if you have the extra funds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bungaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,160
    1,829
    676
    220
    147
See reviews for
1,612
1,995
188
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,090)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Having been to Honolulu before I knew what Waikiki was like. The Hyatt was in the middle of the shopping and restaurants on the strip. We had a rent car and explored the island every day and would only be at the hotel only in the evening. I was not happy about the resort fee and the parking fee but I knew in advance about them so not too much to say about suprises. Our first room was backed up to the elevators, the desk said that it might be a noise problem when we checked in and they were correct. We asked for a room away from the noise and were moved without issue.
The most amazing part of the hotel is the pool. It is a small regular pool but it was so crowded that you had a hard time finding a chair. With a fantastic beach across the street and even better ones a short drive away I did not get the attraction with the pool. I thought maybe the drinks were free but that was not the case.
We stayed here for four days and the front desk was great. As the title says the hotel is a good hotel in the Waikiki area if that is what you want.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators. We were not in our room enough to get our money's worth of a ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We have shared your compliments with the front desk. We are glad you took advantage of the nearby beaches and knew in advance of the parking and resort fees. We hope that you will stay with us again if you intend on returning to Waikiki.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt for 10 nights for our honeymoon this May. Overall, the hotel was very nice, with great facilities and lovely staff. However, there were a few things we were disappointed with. We had booked a city view room but when we walked in there was no view, only some scaffolding and decking with lots of litter on it. Our room was also next to the lift which meant there was a constant humming noise. We did complain and were given a much better room within a matter of hours but even though we explained that it was our honeymoon we weren't given anything in way of an apology. This was disappointing when we later spoke to other guests and found out that they had been given complimentary meals and bottles of champagne for much less inconvenience and for simply being on their honeymoon.
The other thing that left us with a bitter taste in our mouth was when we checked out we were given a bill for over $100 for the daily amenities charge, which we had never been told about when we checked in. The charge is apparantly to cover bottles of water in your fridge each day, complimentary use of the phone, towels at the pool, and various other things, which would have been great have we had we have known about them!
We still had a great honeymoon but it would have been better if it weren't for the above issues.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that you did not have a more favorable experience. While we do not know the exact circumstances of your visit it appears from your post that more could have been done to make this better. We have shared your comments with the management team responsible for many of the one on one interactions you reference. We are certain they will follow up with their team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Honolulu for three nights at the end of our five-week holiday in the US. We were very disappointed with the room and service. We booked a standard room and paid for an upgrade to an ocean view room with Regency Club access using points. This was confirmed by telephone prior to our visit and on the morning of our stay. When we arrived at the hotel we were told there was no ocean view room available. However, the person beside us at check-in was offered a free upgrade to exactly that type of room. After complaining, the room we were given did have an ocean view but was in the Ewa tower, not where the club is.

The room was old, tired and badly in need of refurbishment. It was also noisy - we complained about noise from above at around midnight one night. We specifically requested a turn-down service (which you have to ask for - it's not automatically provided), but when we returned from dinner around 10pm the room had not been serviced.

After our first night, and complaints about service and the booking not being honoured, we were moved to another club room in the main tower with an ocean view which had apparently just become available. This room was also old and tired - not much difference to the other room except on a higher floor.

The Regency Club was quite nice, and appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. Also the pool area is good, with reasonable service for drinks and food.

Very disappointing overall for the Hyatt brand in terms of room quality and service. It is one of those big, touristy hotels where you are just a number - there is no personal service here. We wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FoxyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay. We regret that you did not have a better experience and assure you we have forwarded your comments to the front desk team for review. We will also share your turn down experiences with our housekeeping staff. We are sorry that you did not feel more welcome by staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Great hotel, excellent service. Loved the fact that we could get beach chairs for the beach complimentary at the pool, rather than have to pay $60/day for lounge chairs and an umbrella on the beach. Excellent location, clean hotel. However we were on the 31st floor and it did take quite a while for the elevators to go both up and down. Also, our room was never cleaned until after 2pm. That aside, we had excellent service and the location can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbartlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We have shared your comment with our new director of housekeeping for review and further discussion. We thank you for your post and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,106 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $359 - $807
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing