We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
209
310
232
128
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
310
232
128
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location beach equipment budget hotel farmers market boogie boards small hotel light sleeper mini fridge abc store shops and restaurants block waikiki hawaii hyatt koa mats aloha
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

My friend had a very spur of the moment stay here for less than 24 hours. The hotel was in a great location and was very close to pretty much everything we wants to do while we were there. The person at the front desk for checkin, Courtney was her name I believe, she was great! So super friendly and answered all of our questions! The room was exactly what we were looking for, straight to the point. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better!
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank rbeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha RBeezz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your five out of five star review! We will definitely let Courtney know how much you appreciated her amazing guest service. She is part of a great overall team who prides itself in the solid ability to deliver warm guest service to our valued visitors. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Mahalo nui loa,
Carolyn Ncube
General Manager
Stay Hotel Waikiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We stayed at the Stay Hotel for 7 nights. The hotel is in a great location, one street back from the beach and close to shops and restaurants. The rooms and hotel areas are clean.

When we first arrived, we were on the third floor. The noise levels seem to be amplified through the corridor between buildings and the room only has shutter windows that don't block out any noise. For three mornings in a row we were woken at 4am with truck reversing sensors, garbage trucks emptying bins and construction noises. One night we even had someone throw bottles at our room windows. We wouldn't recommend the third floor (Unless the hotel gets sealed windows, which I would highly recommend for a more comfortable stay for guests), we did ask for a room change half way through and while it seemed difficult, we ended up on the 6th floor which was a lot better, although the wifi doesn't work the higher you go.

Majority of staff members are wonderful, others may need a little more customer experience training.

The hotel is reasonably priced, but not the cheapest in the area. Note there is a fee of $15 per day + gst that is payable at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above level 5 (lower rooms are very noisy)
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EliseH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha EliseH9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We regret that you had such inhospitable neighbors while you were staying on the third floor of our hotel. From your re-telling of this event, it sounds like the culprits may have been residents of the neighboring apartment, and we will do our due diligence to investigate this matter so as to avoid any future disturbances. Our $15 + tax per day amenity fee covers a comprehensive package of convenient amenities that our guests value especially since we have one of the lowest amenity fees of hotels in the immediate area. We appreciate your recognition of the warm hospitality of our team, which is relatively new. They welcome the opportunity to refine their guest service skills, and we see significant strides in this area every day. Wishing you a speedy return to the islands and happy and safe travels going forward.

Mahalo nui loa,
Carolyn Ncube
General Manager
Stay Hotel Waikiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

It is very good 3 stars hotel. The location was perfect, walking distance to the beach. The place was clean and the service was very good. We left our luggage in the hotel storage for free, twice. We could also leave the passports and valuables in the hotel safe. The rooms are very simple, but have a TV, microwave and a fridge which was very handy. The only thing, the air conditioning system was aged and noisy like a tractor, making it almost impossible to run it at night.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha Aklu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and for rating your overall experience a four out of five stars. Our AC units have been working overtime this season cooling down the humid weather outdoors. We are currently upgrading the units that have seen better days, and we thank you for pardoning our progress in this regard. Wishing you happy and safe travels back to the islands. See you again soon!

Mahalo nui loa,
Carolyn Ncube
General Manager
Stay Hotel Waikiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

What I loved most about our recent stay here was the beach accessibility. For a budget hotel, the location was really good and convenient to the beach, stores and places to eat. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was not of a 5-star luxury hotel, but it was pretty decent.

The only issue we had was the parking. We were informed that the parking fee was $47/night. If you are lucky, you can try to find some street parking by Ala Wai Blvd, which is about a 5-10minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BL_827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha BL_827,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to know that you found our team's hospitality and our amazing location to be highlights of your stay. Our parking fee of $45 plus tax per day covers the convenience of parking in our limited-availability garage that offers in/out privileges. While there are several parking options (both free and paid) in the general area, it is important for visitors to be mindful of the strict street parking rules in and around Waikiki as well as the many restrictions that paid garages enforce. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you for another visit in the islands, and we wish you happy and safe travels going forward.

Mahalo nui loa,
Carolyn Ncube
General Manager
Stay Hotel Waikiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Although not in the first row to the famous Waikiki beach, Stay Hotel is well located right in the middle of the Waikiki area. The hotel is relatively cheap why it also seems to cater to young people who might otherwise consider a hostel. If you are two backpackers travelling together you might as well go here (and also enjoy having fresh sheets and towels!). Rooms are simple and decent. There is a karaoke bar on the lobby level which has a good long and cheap happy hour. If driving a car, I suggest not to use the hotel’s parking offer as it is much cheaper to park by the zoo (usd 1 per hour) and since it is easy to find a spot here. But in general a really good place to stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Flemming_Meineche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn N, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha Flemming_Meineche,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Our hotel is indeed perfect for budget savvy, fun-seeking travelers, who wish to have a solid central base for rest and relaxation from their days' adventures. While there are many hostels in Waikiki, we are in fact a hotel in every sense of the word with private rooms and bathrooms, room cleaning service, and daily amenities. Located just a short block away from the best part of Waikiki Beach, we are an unbeatable value. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the islands. Until then, happy and safe travels to you and yours!

Mahalo nui loa,
Carolyn Ncube
General Manager
Stay Hotel Waikiki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews