We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for....”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I wanted a cheap hotel room and that is exactly what I got. Bathroom floor was disgusting -even after requesting that the floor be cleaned again-still GROSS. I ended up scrubbing it myself -cloths came up pretty darn black! The single bed was comfortable but the queen needs a new mattress-it had large 'dips" in it. Didn't rent a car so no comment on the parking charge-please remember folks that you pay for parking EVERYWHERE on the island and parking space is at a premium.
Noise-well maybe I am just getting old but it think the door slamming and partying should be done by midnite.... Nope - 2:30am the "exchange students" were still out and about.. Security did get them to quiet down tho.
This hotel seems to be a mecca for language students and backpackers. OR the elderly. There was lots of early 20s folk and the balance seemed to be the elderly. Saw no families here.
The Location was super tho! Only one block from Kuhio Ave and about 3 blocks from the beach. Very central and easy to get to.
I would stay here again -now that I know to bring earplugs and Lysol wipes.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room. Street or City view means you look at a wall or the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YellowknifeFrozenOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    245
    117
    53
    40
See reviews for
140
273
79
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I needed to attend a seminar for 5 days in Honalulu.
Cheap Tickets connected me with White Sands and I couldn't have been happier!
I was able to cook 2 meals a day in room. Had all I needed. Centrally located in Waikiki,walking distance to beach,food stores,shopping and public transportation which I used everyday!
There is a sufficient pool,hot tub and the most awesome locals running this place!
Once per month they celebrate their staff with a luncheon on site and include awards!
Is that happening at Marriot?
I would return to White Sands with out a doubt!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the White Sands Hotel in Waikiki. The Service desk was most kind and helpful. Cristina, Christlina and Christy-Ann were so pleasant to work with. Meeting Josiah at the tour desk was also a pleasure. Room service was especially good with the diamond jewel Harlene doing a super job for us. Ron at the service desk helped us out alot especially with the internet. Just a super experience in our lives staying at the White Sands Hotel. Kud

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOlsOns32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were flying out at 11:30 and decided to save some extra $ by staying here. We were given a room with 3 single beds. I felt as if I was back in a dorm room. The TV was awful. Only 7 American channels came in. There was hair all over the bathroom and in the sheets. We did manage to push together two of the beds to take a nap. The $15/nt parking is just another add-on. Positive is the location is two blocks from the strip and a block from some resteraunts.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soki816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Centrally Located -- 5 minutes from Beach !

Friendly Staff ! --- Our room was old and the kitchenette area is very small -- but for 1-2 people it will do. It is NOT the cleanest place !!!.

Dissapointed that the jacuzzi never worked -- and the Pool is FREEZING ! The little waterfall by the Jacuzzi was cute .

But if you can get it for a descent price -- its ok !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 km away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.9 km away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.2 km away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.7 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.3 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $158 - $254
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing