We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
USD 677
USD 654
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 379
USD 350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 286
USD 249
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 281/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aqua Oasis(Honolulu)
USD 285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 426
USD 371
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 339
USD 310
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
USD 306
USD 262
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 717
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
756
659
184
64
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
756
659
184
64
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfort derussy parkwine and cheese receptionpartial ocean viewfull kitchenbbq areaacross the streetone bedroom suitekalakaua avenueala moanacity viewstreet noiseminute walk to the beachvalet parkingbeach chairsfitness centerfriday night fireworkssmall balcony
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Luana Waikiki many times in the past few years, three times this present year. The reasons ... Location, Outstanding Hospitality, and, above all, Staff Conviviality.

Situated at the edge of Fort DeRusssy Park, the quieter end of Waikiki, it affords one a very short walk through the Park to the beach. To savour the hustle and bustle of the shops, restaurants, bars and night life of Waikiki, these are a mere two blocks along Kalakauha Avenue towards Diamond Head. In the opposite direction, the ever-evolving and increasingly "upscale" Ala Moana Shopping Centre awaits!

We have always arranged for a room with kitchenette on the highest floor possible on the Diamond Head side. It faces the Park and has a fine partial ocean view. The vistas are excellent as no high-rises are immediately in front. The same can be said for the opposite side towards the lush mountains.

Daily room house-keeping is thorough and the staff are efficient and very friendly. Public spaces are immaculate, the pool deck is extremely comfortable, the two barbecues are great for those wishing whip-up "your inner-chef" dinner bills of fare, and should you be at the hotel on a Monday, Wednesday, or Friday between 5:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m., the Manager's wine and cheese reception is excellent. Music with a graceful Hula dancer bring a lovely ambience whilst you chat with guests from far and wide.

The daily Resort Fee lists many items to make you stay memorable. This past visit we took advantage of the touring bicycles and did a very early Sunday morning cycle out past the Diamond Head Lighthouse and beyond to the Waialae Golf and Country Club in the Kalaha District of the Island. Also available are beach chairs, floats, tubes, and other sun-worshipping paraphernalia. Current DVDs are free from the kiosk on the mezzanine floor.

Kudos go to the very affable manager Rudy Fao and all the staff with whom we dealt. Jacqueline and Sunny at guest services, Elton and Jess at the front desk, Trace who manned the luggage and signed out the beach items, Destiny who manages and oversees Housekeeping, and Mark and all the greeters and servers who make the Manager's Wine and Cheese so enjoyable. The valet staff stationed outside at the driveway's edge always offer welcoming pleasantries as you enter or leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Best park and ocean views are on the Diamond Head side. Request as high a floor as possible. Having a kitchenette is extremely convenient.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snowridge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for a perfect 5-star review. It is wonderful to see that we have exceeded your expectations throughout your visit. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our signature amenities and a big Mahalo for commending our team from housekeeping to our guest services.

Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The manager's reception was good even though it was crowded and not enough chairs. The service was outstanding. Everyone was helpful and take pride in their work. I reserved a studio with partial ocean view but I got one bed room with view of ocean and Diamond Head. Even though glasses were filthy and yucky, the service made up for that.

I left my IPad when I left. As soon as I noticed, I contacted and it was reported to lost and found. They made all the necessary arrangement, and shipped it to me in Japan.

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FantasticJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for a perfect 5-star review. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay but am glad to hear about the many other things that made your stay a memorable one. Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the luana Waikiki. The staff was great, especially Diana. She was very courteous and friendly and did a great job cleaning the room and a great asset to your company. Enjoyed seeing and talking to her every day and hated to leave her behind, we wanted to bring her to Tennessee. Very sweet.
William Carmichael

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha Bill C,

Thank you for a fantastic 5-star review. It is wonderful to see that we have exceeded your expectations. We agree that she is an asset to our team and we definitely appreciate you recognizing and commending Diana. Thank you for staying with us and Mahalo from our team!

Thanks,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Fantastic hotel in Waikiki....I searched for a long time before booking a hotel in Waikiki due to the expense of the hotels, I chose this one for the location, free wifi, free bike hire, pool and great value price...it did not disappoint spotlessly clean and bright with friendly staff. We booked the last 4 days of our holiday at the Disney hotel and I really missed my lovely balcony overlooking the park and the hustle & bustle of Waikiki ....shopping, restaurants and beach all on your doorstep. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever lucky enough to return to Oahu :) only downside was the expensive car parking but it was nice having valet parking after a long day sightseeing

Room Tip: upgrade to partial ocean view, lovely park view from the balcony different from the other hotels in Waikiki which overlook other balconies
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Louisemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha,

Thank you for writing a perfect 5-star review and Mahalo for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to see that we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,
Sunny Chan
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Hotel location is pretty good. Not far to walk to Royal Hawaiian, Lewers Street etc. Rooms are comfortable, clean, nicely furnished and decent for the price. Pros - price, location, comfortable room. Cons - staff slack maintaining drink station in lobby - tea and coffee offered in the mornings included in resort fees was always out of stock and had to wait a long time when asking staff to restock, gym is open only limited hours, outlook from hotel balcony is horrible - best stay inside. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the side of the hotel not adjoining the service station. The views out this side of the building are horrible.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2015

Aloha Danielle P,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay but am glad to hear that you found the location a good one along with the other pros that were listed. I would like to take this opportunity to ask that you contact me directly to hear more about your experience. You can reach me at sunny.chan@aqua-aston.com

Thanks,
Sunny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews