We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,478)
Filter reviews
4,478 results
Traveller rating
3,142
934
262
92
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,142
934
262
92
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe studymorimoto restaurantsunrise pooliron chefday bedpool areawaikiki beachala moana shoppingour honeymoonadult poolamazing hotelmain poolmin walkpool staffred lobsterturn down servicepartial ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
3,971 - 3,976 of 4,478 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

What a great place! The staff are very courteous and professional, the design and layout are amazing and we're looking forward to dining in the Iro Chef Morimoto's restuarant tomorrow night! When we first checked in the receptionist advised that we had a 'run-of-house' room where we would be on the lowest floor (3rd) and possibly hear the nightclub but luckily no noise and our so-called city-view room actually has views over the marina, hilton lagoon and the beach so it's great. The TV is huge, bed is massive and the little features like free sarongs and a eukele to play are pretty cool. Looking forward to our next 4 nights here!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Mattd1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The Modern Honolulu has chic decor, a perfectly nice location, and cozy rooms. But the hotel's staff is indifferent and untrained, the food is mediocre, the amenities are lame or missing, and with the elevated expectations they set with their marketing, it's a double letdown. In a nutshell? It's a "whatever" hotel.

We stayed for four nights over a weekend, and our biggest qualm by far was the staff. I'm still rather annoyed (borderline angry?) at how nobody gave a darn that we were guests there. The front desk staff were robotic at check in ("we have this on the second floor, and that on the third floor, blah blah" without eye contact). When we got to our room, it was still being cleaned -- and it continued to be cleaned for about 20 minutes -- while we waited awkwardly on the bed.

The hipster-y, "i'm way better than this job" attitude we consistently got from waitstaff at the bar and the restaurant (er, the wobbly tables around the pool) was annoying. They were slow. They messed up our orders (and, to their credit, fixed them). Coffee was always cold and/or old. The breakfast potato "tube" is silly and overthought. And when it started to rain while we were eating outdoors, they didn't even offer us help in moving to a covered seat. Hello? Anyone? Is this really happening?

Enough complaining. The rooms were fine, clean, nicely designed. The vibe is trying hard to be Miami Beach, and almost succeeding. The attitude is horrible, and when I'm next looking for an upscale spot in Waikiki, I'll be looking a little further afield. The Modern let us down.

Room Tip: Their "partial ocean view" means "mostly rooftop and tourist street view" with a narrow peek of the ocean in the distance beyond the Hilton.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chuckymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As soon as you arrive the bellman and front desk staff are quite efficient. We were able to get to our rooms without any hassle after a long flight and layover. The rooms are definitely modern and the housekeeping staff does do very well cleaning it each and every day. You do also get a turn down service every evening where housekeeping brings you ice and water and turn down your bed if you are not in the room. These are all nice touches.

As another review said, we shortly noticed that our room was infested with ants. The first couple of days we had noticed one or two on the floor in the bathroom. We aren't incredibly picky so we just left it at that. A couple of days later they were all over the baseboards and in our closet and clothes. We called the front desk at about 10:30PM at night when we got back to our rooms and were quickly moved to a room down that hall. We absolutely would have appreciated a slight upgrade to an ocean view for the trouble, and having to pack everything late at night and move. We were quickly moved to an equal room and view and that was that.
The Morimoto restaurant in this hotel is absolutely stunning. The food and service you receive is absolutely top-notch. In addition, the concierge--I believe her name is Stephanie--is incredibly kind, efficient, and sincere.
The stay was fine overall. Most likely on our next visit in the area we will see what the other hotels have to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonnyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Great place to visit! Hotel and Staff are AMAZING! Great hotel for couples, very romantic!! (maybe not so much for kids)
Was a short walk to ride to the major shops and beach, but still enjoyable to walk. (Starbucks is on the way at the Hilton)
Choose this hotel you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go as high up as you can, Suki will make it happen if she can! (she is so sweet and kind) the views are all amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Arrival at the hotel the staff were friendly, quick and efficient. The concierge Stephanie was amazing organising and suggesting activities with attentiveness to our needs. The hotel itself was new, fresh and had many interesting charachteristics lke a bar hidden behind a revolving bookcase a stunning pool bar area with delicious food choices.

Room Tip: any room choice is great we had a city view but you could also see the lagoon and ocean.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews