We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I had the birthday of a lifetime!”
Welcome To Hale Kai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome To Hale Kai
Mountain View Kitchen Mountain View Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Welcome To Hale Kai
Mountain View Kitchen
Mountain View Living Area
Mountain View  Leather Sofa & Coffee Table
Oceanfront Bedroom
Oceanfront Kitchen
Oceanfront Bathroom
Oceanfront Kitchen
Oceanfront Living Area
Oceanfront View From Dinning Table
Oceanfront Living Area
Oceanfront Living Area
Front Of Property line
Front of Property
Mountain View Loft
Mountain View Bathroom
Mountian View Pool View
Mountain View Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fornia L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had the birthday of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was absolutely wonderful to spend the big 50 in Kailua on the ocean. The pool was a dream and the beach was surreal. I spent my birthday with a bbq dinner next to a beautifully lit waterfall pool. It was wonderful to be able to hear the waves crashing against the rocks in the morning. I hope to spend my 51st here.

Thank You

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcoast...
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable with great views”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a week in late April, they're not lying when they say this place is right on the ocean! Unfortunately the weather was quite windy while we were there so we weren't able to use the beach area near the house much (it's mostly rocky but there would be room for some beach chairs when it's calm). That said, the view of the open ocean from the oceanfront suite was great. Modern kitchenette that was well appointed; the shower could use an update but overall very comfortable. A sheet/towel change mid week would be a nice addition. The owners were lovely and even brought is a pitcher of margaritas one evening when they were celebrating a birthday! Pool is beautiful and the neighborhood is clean, quiet and safe. All in all a good experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thank you for your review and we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay.
We do not advertise mid stay linen changes but if guests let us know during their stay that they need additional linens , we are happy to provide. Also,as noted on the rental amenities, there is a laundry area in the garage for guests use.
We enjoyed having you stay with us but we wish the weather had included more sunny days for you. It's been unusually stormy weather this spring and we are still experiencing a lot of wind and cloudy days--we are anxious to welcome the summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nutmegcab
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This place was just as described, lovely! Peaceful, accommodating and very clean. The owners were very pleasant. We would recommend this place to anyone. It really accommodates 2 people comfortably.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Slow Internet speed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglophil...
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice area......ocean view, lovely.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting our son who lives in Kaneohe. The apartment lives up to the pictures shown on TripAdvisor. We were in the one on the ocean side of the house. The views of the ocean were lovely, especially their slamming against the rocks. Sunrises were nice as well. The apartment was clean and looked to have been recently renovated. It was also comfortable and we had no problems sleeping except for when it rained really hard one night and was loud. That brings me to one of the problems. When it rained hard the windows leaked in both the bedroom and the living area. Had to get up in the middle of the night to put towels out. Not sure if owners knew about leaks but we left them a message. Hopefully, they will fix the problem. Another thing is that we searched high and low for soap and finally found it under the kitchen sink. A very iittle bit of liquid soap. Fortunately, we weren't staying long or would have run out. We never saw the owners. Not sure how we feel about that.....some ways it was nice and others, weird.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views of the ocean.
Liked least: leaking windows
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
healdsbur...
Healdsburg, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in November 2010
22
people found this review helpful

Owners don't know the first thing about hospitality. They are clearing renting this out just so they can afford to stay in their home. There is no beach..........the house sits on lava rock. There is absolutely nothing to recommend this place. I have stayed in various places in Hawaii more than 30 times. This is the worst place I've ever stayed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range I prefer not to answer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
The person giving the review never stayed in they unit. A certificate is required to legally rent a vacation rental in Kailua. This was a competitor that was illegal and had to shut down their vacation rental. Please look at our photos and other reviews of the property. It appears that Flip Key allows reviews by anyone and allows unfounded derogatory statements about owners.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing