We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were looking for a quality, luxury hotel and usually book through the AMEX Platinum card program. This Trump isn't affiliated with AMEX so we took a chance that the Trump would be better than the Halekalani where we stayed 2 years ago, and it was. Its newer, cleaner, more modern (technology), and the rooms are spacious and much better equipped with a kitchen, large bathrooms and washer/dryer. The personal touches are notable including the treats (cookies/chocolate and fresh juices) left for us upon entering the room, the gourmet coffee and user friendly coffee pot (with milk in the fridge), and a couple of DVD's left for my son to watch. The toiletries were great too. Oh, and lots of free bottled water.

We joined the Trump Program (free) which offers an upgrade if available -- granted to us when we checked in -- and free wi-fi -- a luxury I'm now expecting at hotels (I've stopped staying at the Four Seasons for that reason alone). We traveled with our 8 year old son and were pleasantly surprised that the pool and pool deck were lovely (from the reviews, we were concerned it would be too small and cramped.) Even though the beach is a minimal walk, its close and the concierge sends you off with towels, water, and a fruit snack. The restaurant serves a fabulous breakfast buffet (which costs $32 for adults and $16 for kids but our son was often comp'ed) and the location of the hotel is ideal with close proximity to great shopping, restaurants and major roads to get out of town.

I've been reading Trip Advisor reviews for 3 years now and it was this hotel that prompted me to finally write my first review. We were impressed.

Room Tip: partial ocean view is perfectly fine. Request a higher floor since the nearby hotels have outdoor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,881
    452
    114
    27
    21
See reviews for
961
1,005
82
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAWAII
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you are a first time visitor thinking this is an oceanfront property based on the pictures, you would be wrong. The Trump is a beautiful tall hotel, surrounded by very busy streets and over a block from the beach. That being said, the rooms and all the amenities are first class. However, the beachfront, resort like, laid back relaxing atmosphere is non existent. Luxury sterile is how I would put it. I tried to like this place a lot, but you still have to exit the hotel, cross a road and walk through a path (or through an alley.......shortcut) to get to the beach. The HALEKULANI across the street and on the beach is a fantastic resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SURFER_DUDE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very warm welcome at the Trump. Only stayed one night; Oct 31st, last year. I arrived in the morning, but they managed to get a room ready for me shortly after noon. I got a nice view on an upper floor that included a view of the ocean. Hotel room has loads of space as well as the bathroom.
Nice pool area.
Because my flight out was late the following evening, they gave me a 4 p.m. checkout, at no extra charge. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelloNello60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Trump was AMAZING!!!!! I can totally understand why it is number one. We arrived very early and we had a lovely breakfast while we waited for our room to be ready. They were able to get our room ready much earlier than anticipated and after a long flight it was greatly appriciated.

The room (Ocean view) was wonderful. Kitchen and bathroom were fantastic and the view was amazing. They also have very comfy beds.

It is a very easy walk to the beach and to the shops. We even walked to Ala Moana (Which is a longer walk).

Can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FastPassPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in three different hotels in Waikiki, and this by far, was the best experience. Although the last hotel we stayed at was an oceanfront room at The Outrigger Reef with a beautiful view, and The Trump is not oceanfront (across the street from the beach), the staff, service, experience, and the million "little details" at The Trump, definitely make up for the oceanfront room. Every member of the staff from the bellhop to the conceirage to the cleaning staff are amazing - they anticipate your every need (including pamphlets for running routes, beach bags, and information on everything you could imagine). The turn down service is a real treat, too. All things considered, including that it's not oceanfront hotel and the pool area is a bit small, if you are looking for a quieter hotel but still experience Waikiki, The Trump is the way to go. I will rave about this place for years to come!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Shmandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Property: Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $415 - $1,220
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Cancelon, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing