We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Curiosity770772

Good Experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2024
We reserved the ocean-view room and we could stay on the 32nd floor. The view was amazing as the room had a view of Diamond Head and the ocean view, and we could enjoy the view every morning and evening.
It's not a luxury hotel. The lobby is not luxurious, nor are the rooms large.
However, the room was clean and seemed to have been renovated. It was comfortable for us. It might be noisy if you sleep with the air conditioner on, but it was cool enough with it off. The bathtub is shallow, but it's there. Hot water came out without any problems. There was also a microwave which was helpful. The fridge is large enough for tourists.
The breakfast food is not luxurious, but it is included. There are eggs, sausages, fruits, yogurt, bread, etc., so it's enough for a simple breakfast. Although the restaurant was crowded with many people, we never had to wait for a seat.
If you want to enjoy hotel life, you should choose another hotel. However, if you want to have fun outside the hotel, the location is good as Waikiki Beach is not far and the bus stop is nearby.
All the hotel staff were warm people. We were especially grateful to the receptionist, Beatrice, for her kind service during check-in. We could stay on the higher floor, maybe because of the timing, but thanks to her, we think.
Parking is a problem. Only less than 200 cars can be parked for approximately 600 rooms. It is also a little difficult to understand the entrance and exit. We were lucky because 3 car spaces were still available when we went around and came back at 10 pm.
Another problem is the cost. But it may be unavoidable since everything in Hawaii is expensive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Aloha Curiosity770772,

Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. It warms our hearts to know you enjoyed our clean and comfortable room, stunning views, and breakfast options. We are also glad that you found the service provided by our friendly associates to be outstanding. We enjoyed hosting you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
John Quijano
Assistant General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,103
  • Hotels.com
    AU$1,102
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,102
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$565
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    AU$538
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$473
  • Hotels.com
    AU$602
0.7 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$890
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$891
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$760
  • Hotels.com
    AU$890
0.6 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$397
  • Hotels.com
    AU$485
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$313
  • Expedia.com
    AU$485
0.1 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$645
  • Hotels.com
    AU$646
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$547
  • Official Site
    AU$644
1.0 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$460
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$451
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$393
  • Expedia.com
    AU$420
0.4 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$676
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$683
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$559
  • Trip.com
0.8 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Beachfront
Pool
AU$356
  • Expedia.com
    AU$318
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • Hotels.com
    AU$318
0.7 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Pool
QKH Penthouse Ocean View Living Area
AU$531
  • Hotels.com
    AU$550
  • travelup.com
    AU$439
  • Expedia.com
    AU$551
1.7 km from Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
194
192
142
63
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
192
142
63
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong the breakfast area free breakfast yogurt hot tub small room c unit fifth floor breakfast staff two queen beds high floor pool deck minute walk to the beach coffee maker ocean view abc store diamond head
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2024

It was a nice standard hotel at a good price, and it felt centrally located. Having the jacuzzi stay open until 10 PM was a great aspect. Bea at the front desk was super helpful and welcoming.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Aloha SarasX2515ZQ,

Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit. We're also glad you liked our accessible location, excellent amenities, and welcoming associates. Hosting you was an absolute pleasure, and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,
John Quijano
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Bea was extremely helpful and polite. We enjoyed our stay. She was very professional and explained everything very thoroughly.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Segen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Aloha Getaway10937343157,

Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our welcoming associates. Hosting you was our pleasure and we look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,
John Quijano
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2024 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find, and it was amazing to be welcomed by Bea, the receptionist. She made the check-in process really smooth and was able to connect with us. She also anticipated our needs by finding the perfect room for us. Feel like a great start for our honeymoon!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sunshine16799267924
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Aloha Sunshine16799267924,

Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are so happy to hear that you chose us to celebrate your special occasion, and we're glad to know that our associates were able to provide you with excellent service. Hosting you was an absolute pleasure, and we truly appreciate your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,
John Quijano
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2024

The hotel was in an excellent location the breakfast was very good with very little delay for the number of guests eating checkin and checkout was quick and easy thanks to Adelle and the other front desk employees. rooms were keep in excellent condition with all amenities replaced as need

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Aloha E292ZRgregm,

Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are delighted to hear about your perfect rating. We're also glad you liked our accessible location, breakfast choices, and excellent associates. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,
John Quijano
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

I don’t like staying in Waikiki, but I love this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful ocean view from my room. It’s on the edge of Waikiki which suited me on my trip. It’s an older property but well maintained. I swear I stay at Holiday Inns because the beds are just to my preference.

Room tip: The hotel is quite tall so if you dislike heights you might want a lower floor
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Joni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holiday Inn Express Waikiki an IHG Hotel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Waikiki, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2024

Aloha Joni,

Mahalo for choosing Holiday Inn Express Waikiki. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our accessible location, exceptional service, and the peaceful ambiance of the hotel for your restful stay. It was our pleasure to host you and we can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Mahalo,
John Quijano
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews