We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“aloha spirit lives” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #61 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“aloha spirit lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This little gem next half a block from the ocean is just brimming with Aloha spirit and retro delight. From the moment I booked through their website and spoke with Debbie I was made to feel welcome. I was joining friends who had booked separately, we arrived during a rainstorm and were greeted by a smiling Colleen who had us quickly in our rooms, thoughtfully across from each other. My room was lovely, think 1960s charm, with 2012 comforts, sheets crisp and clean a cute little stainless kitchette, a wonderful Lanai, lots of wood finishings but with plenty of lighting for those of us with not so good eyes. The pool was always sparkling clean and as most guests were more mature you could count on courteous companions. The frontstaff were always ready to help, the location perfect, restaurants abound, ABC store for groceries across street. I cant say enough good things about this lovely place, no wonder some guests have been coming here over 30 years. When I left I received a beautiful hula from Colleen and a fresh and wonderfully fragrant lei as a gift, its an honor to stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have lanais, and its a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shawniganlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    88
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
64
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul Mn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've stayed here several times over the years and will continue to return simply because you can't beat the price and the location.My chief complaint is that the room I was in (134 I believe) is badly in need of some updating and if not that at least a deep cleaning.When I first entered I wasn't sure I wanted to walk barefoot.The carpeting is beyond cleaning and quite simply needs to be replaced.There are louvered closet doors that are so filled with dust and grime that they border on gross.The wallpaper is horribly outdated and shows it's age.
Aside from the room, the staff and all the guests are incredibly friendly.The hotel provides free wifi which is avail as you sit around the pool..quite nice.All I can really say is that it's time to put some money into this place and spruce it up.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank butchpSt_PaulMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Small hotel less than a block from Waikiki Beach. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and adequate. Not a lot of frills, but we didn't come to Hawaii to stay in a hotel room. Leaving the key with the desk clerk turned out to be actually good. The staff gets to know you, and you them, plus they know who's there. I have to state that it was the first time in ages that I had seen a TV with a channel dial and knobs, but it worked fine. If we go back, this hotel will certainly higher on list than the mega-hotels like the Hilton or the Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phaidraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at Breakers in March, 2011, but I forgot to write a review. It is a two story hotel less than a block from the beach, with a pool in the courtyard area. There is a reception desk at the entrance where you leave your key when you leave the property. We liked this feature because that way they know who's coming and going. I believe it is family-owned and we met many return guests. It is older but well kept. Our room was upstairs and had a nice lanai with 2 chairs and a table, a kitchen with mini frig, toaster, etc. It is quiet, the rooms and grounds are clean, and the staff is very friendly. There are no elevators, so you can just walk right up to your room. There is coffee next to the pool in the morning. There are 2 resident kitties who stay near the reception desk. When we checked out they presented us with beautiful, fresh flower lei's for our return trip home, plus we got a Christmas card from them with a photo of the staff. Some nice, personal touches from a charming little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Aloha247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We almost chose this hotel since we like interesting unconventional places but were leery as we have been burned by the "funky" factor before. We chose instead a more expensive safe bet big box hotel for our Honolulu vacation. I wish now we had chosen The Breakers. I stopped by there today to check it out. Yes, it is old and a bit dated but so much as to be kinda cool again. The attendent was very friendly. It is in a terrific location near our favorite beach area in a park with trees. The rooms were simple but clean. It is a quiet spot yet close to all the Waikiki hubbub. If we visit Waikiki again we will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Polynesian Plaza
#80 of 85 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#27 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#35 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#34 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Property: Breakers Hotel
Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $125 - $222
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC so you can book your Breakers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing