We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at Breakers in March, 2011, but I forgot to write a review. It is a two story hotel less than a block from the beach, with a pool in the courtyard area. There is a reception desk at the entrance where you leave your key when you leave the property. We liked this feature because that way they know who's coming and going. I believe it is family-owned and we met many return guests. It is older but well kept. Our room was upstairs and had a nice lanai with 2 chairs and a table, a kitchen with mini frig, toaster, etc. It is quiet, the rooms and grounds are clean, and the staff is very friendly. There are no elevators, so you can just walk right up to your room. There is coffee next to the pool in the morning. There are 2 resident kitties who stay near the reception desk. When we checked out they presented us with beautiful, fresh flower lei's for our return trip home, plus we got a Christmas card from them with a photo of the staff. Some nice, personal touches from a charming little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Aloha247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    91
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
64
65
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We almost chose this hotel since we like interesting unconventional places but were leery as we have been burned by the "funky" factor before. We chose instead a more expensive safe bet big box hotel for our Honolulu vacation. I wish now we had chosen The Breakers. I stopped by there today to check it out. Yes, it is old and a bit dated but so much as to be kinda cool again. The attendent was very friendly. It is in a terrific location near our favorite beach area in a park with trees. The rooms were simple but clean. It is a quiet spot yet close to all the Waikiki hubbub. If we visit Waikiki again we will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

If you really want the experience of Hawaii, stay at The Breakers. The staff are unbelievable. I can't say enought good things about the wonderful people who work there.
The room is old, but who cares, the rest of the property makes up for it.
I was fortunate to stay for a week, Jan 20th to 28th, wasn't long enough, already started saving for a 2 week stay!!

Room Tip: Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beamer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA USA
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have been staying at the Breakers Hotel for years and love it. An old time relaxing hideaway in the tourist frenzy of Waikiki she is one of a kind. The staff is superb, one of the friendliest around without being overbearing. One of our favorite places in the islands which we visit every year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I always stay here on my trips to Waikiki and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. The location is perfect for young families and seasoned vacationers alike with two storey buildings surrounding a pool courtyard. For those who stay for an extended period of time, there is a fully equipped kitchen in each room to save on dining-out costs. The staff and guests are all very friendly and depending on the time of year, you may run into some familiar folk. Happy hour can sometimes start early and carry on into the late evening! But not to worry, there are quiet rooms in the back of the courtyard. Visit this gem and get a taste of what Hawaii was like before big development.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
930 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
1,527 reviews
The Polynesian Residences
#80 of 84 in Honolulu
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Property: Breakers Hotel
Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $121 - $215
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu
Breakers Hawaii
Breakers Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing