We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel On Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hale Koa Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Koa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Hotel On Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is our second time at the Hale Koa & couldn't have asked for a better stay. After a long flight, it was nice to be greeted by a smiling face during check in. She was very nice & professional, giving us tips on dining, places to see & activities going on at the hotel.

The room was very clean with 2 queen beds & a nice refrigerator. We were in the older tower with a partial ocean view & it was perfect for our needs.

We ate at Bibas & Happy Snack Bar, both had great food & reasonable prices. Had drinks at the Barefoot Bar & the bartenders are the best! Everyone there made you feel very welcomed & I highly going when staying here.

This hotel is the best on Waikiki beach & you cannot beat the prices or location! I highly recommend staying here if you are eligible.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bighouse0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    549
    117
    37
    21
See reviews for
686
730
50
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Location and grounds are wonderful. Newer tower "Maile Tower" badly needs update.
Work has been done to coveer up problems, but rooms very dated. I know the econemy is bad, but occupancy could slip more without investment in hotel.
Glad to see that there are new pillows! After last stay 3 years ago, I was resistant to coming back, just because they had the worst pillows. Now perhaps they could get new beds.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayted her for a week in October and absolutely loved it!!!! The staff were wonderful and the hotel is amazing. We loved being on a higher floor with oceanview.
We will always remember our 30 and being there.
We came back two weeks later when we flew home and was it ever better.
They upgraded us to the high floor and oceanfront view for free.......it was awesome.
If your retired military, active, or DOD go. You won't regret your time.......

Room Tip: The "old" tower has been remolded and now is the nicer tower. Ask for a high floor and oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vogiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Ten years ago we visited the Hale Koa for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and I was almost brought to tears by the "Thank You Vet" comments at the Halle Koa. As a Vietnam era Veteran I was totally unprepared for that!! Now we are back for our Golden Anniversary celebration and the Hale Koa staff is even better. Nyong at the front desk during check in did everything she could to make sure we had the very best room possible, and she succeeded. Can you imagine having a terrific fireworks display right off your Lanai on the night of your 50th Anniversary? What a welcome to Waikiki!! Every morning we were greeted with a wonderful smile and a happy "Aloha" from Rosie, the young lady that made sure our room was perfectly clean and well taken care of. We were expecting to have to take out a second mortgage to finance our meals on the Waikiki beach, but were absolutely amazed by the meals at Koko's Cafe. We enjoyed our meals so much that we hardly ever tried another restaurant. Service was great, food delicious and location couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: An Ocean view room is as nice as an Ocean Front room at a much more affordable rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, WA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Location location location...that about says it. Situated right beside the Hilton Hawaiian Village at the gateway to Waikiki on the public grounds of Ft. DeRussey.

As military retirees we are eligible to reserve rooms up to a year in advance. The hotel is run by contract by the Army Welfare and Rec system and pays for itself...therefore is not a Dod Funds or taxpayer burden.

It is well managed and upscale with nice rooms good restaurants, and a Base Exchange in the building. The staff is uniformly pleasant and accommodating. It is ocean front of the widest most well groomed part of Waikiki Beach which is of course, open to the public and very popular. It has ample public parking and at a reduced rate for hotel guests...much lower rates than at surrounding hotels.

That said, it is not without a few inconvenient and unfortunate issues if they count to the guest. No free wifi and an outrageous daily charge for Internet in room. Good thing we had an IPad on AT&T or we would have been really upset on a long trip requiring bill paying online etc.... Also, the TV's are old generation analog CRT sets and the hotel cable system is not even close to state of the art fidelity, speed, or availability. Also, if you need a few extra days because of flight delays...forget it. The hotel is 99 percent booked almost always and you will end up literally on the street looking for lodging. The contract booking service is not very creative or helpful when the hotel is booked solid. We were told, there was no room at the Hilton next door who had an agreement with Hale Koa for overbooking issues. We walked to the Hilton next door and got a room on the spot and a courtesy upgrade because I was a combat vet and retiree. The room cost us only $45 a day more...and they pampered us silly. While I am thankful for my privileges at Hale Koa...they could look at some updating and service improvements.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WAJbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Koa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Koa Hotel

Property: Hale Koa Hotel
Address: 2055 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1998
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $99 - $254
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Koa Hotel offers an impeccable blend of service and travel value for the active and retired military traveler searching for the perfect Hawaiian vacation. Located in the heart of Waikiki, it offers great prices and unmatched value found in any major travel destination. The Hale Koa offers leisure dining, great Polynesian entertainment, and relaxation in a tropical garden, ocean-front oasis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Koa Hotel Oahu
Hale Hotel Koa
Hale Koa Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing