We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hale Koa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 373*
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 274*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 636*
USD 621*
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
USD 240*
USD 213*
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 230*
USD 219*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 517*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 268*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 484*
USD 452*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 251*
USD 242*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 273*
USD 266*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,082)
Filter reviews
2,082 results
Traveller rating
1,310
583
128
37
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,310
583
128
37
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarefoot barkoko cafemilitary hotelactive dutymaile towermilitary idmilitary familieswarriors loungehappy's snack bararmed forcespost exchangeexchange storeservice membersair forcewaikiki beachmilitary personneladult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,608 - 1,613 of 2,082 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Location and grounds are wonderful. Newer tower "Maile Tower" badly needs update.
Work has been done to coveer up problems, but rooms very dated. I know the econemy is bad, but occupancy could slip more without investment in hotel.
Glad to see that there are new pillows! After last stay 3 years ago, I was resistant to coming back, just because they had the worst pillows. Now perhaps they could get new beds.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnPMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayted her for a week in October and absolutely loved it!!!! The staff were wonderful and the hotel is amazing. We loved being on a higher floor with oceanview.
We will always remember our 30 and being there.
We came back two weeks later when we flew home and was it ever better.
They upgraded us to the high floor and oceanfront view for free.......it was awesome.
If your retired military, active, or DOD go. You won't regret your time.......

Room Tip: The "old" tower has been remolded and now is the nicer tower. Ask for a high floor and oceanview. Don't give up if they say no, keep trying. We moved the next day because we wanted a king room high floor. Well worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vogiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Ten years ago we visited the Hale Koa for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and I was almost brought to tears by the "Thank You Vet" comments at the Halle Koa. As a Vietnam era Veteran I was totally unprepared for that!! Now we are back for our Golden Anniversary celebration and the Hale Koa staff is even better. Nyong at the front desk during check in did everything she could to make sure we had the very best room possible, and she succeeded. Can you imagine having a terrific fireworks display right off your Lanai on the night of your 50th Anniversary? What a welcome to Waikiki!! Every morning we were greeted with a wonderful smile and a happy "Aloha" from Rosie, the young lady that made sure our room was perfectly clean and well taken care of. We were expecting to have to take out a second mortgage to finance our meals on the Waikiki beach, but were absolutely amazed by the meals at Koko's Cafe. We enjoyed our meals so much that we hardly ever tried another restaurant. Service was great, food delicious and location couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: An Ocean view room is as nice as an Ocean Front room at a much more affordable rate
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Location location location...that about says it. Situated right beside the Hilton Hawaiian Village at the gateway to Waikiki on the public grounds of Ft. DeRussey.

As military retirees we are eligible to reserve rooms up to a year in advance. The hotel is run by contract by the Army Welfare and Rec system and pays for itself...therefore is not a Dod Funds or taxpayer burden.

It is well managed and upscale with nice rooms good restaurants, and a Base Exchange in the building. The staff is uniformly pleasant and accommodating. It is ocean front of the widest most well groomed part of Waikiki Beach which is of course, open to the public and very popular. It has ample public parking and at a reduced rate for hotel guests...much lower rates than at surrounding hotels.

That said, it is not without a few inconvenient and unfortunate issues if they count to the guest. No free wifi and an outrageous daily charge for Internet in room. Good thing we had an IPad on AT&T or we would have been really upset on a long trip requiring bill paying online etc.... Also, the TV's are old generation analog CRT sets and the hotel cable system is not even close to state of the art fidelity, speed, or availability. Also, if you need a few extra days because of flight delays...forget it. The hotel is 99 percent booked almost always and you will end up literally on the street looking for lodging. The contract booking service is not very creative or helpful when the hotel is booked solid. We were told, there was no room at the Hilton next door who had an agreement with Hale Koa for overbooking issues. We walked to the Hilton next door and got a room on the spot and a courtesy upgrade because I was a combat vet and retiree. The room cost us only $45 a day more...and they pampered us silly. While I am thankful for my privileges at Hale Koa...they could look at some updating and service improvements.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WAJbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The only affordable convenient place for active duty/retired military/DoD to stay on the Beach in Honolulu. Clean, safe, the center of everything on the beach. Everything you need and much more!

Room Tip: Full Ocean View very nice; Side Ocean View OK.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews