We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MKM
Sydney, Australia

Great stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2024via mobile
We stayed at this hotel in a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment. The apartment was very nice and well appointed with daily housekeeping with was perfect. It had a full kitchen for making meals for the kids and reheating big lunch leftovers.

It is close to Ala Moana shopping center and a good coffee shop under the Prince hotel (for Aussies that would want decent coffee including flat white). ABC stores under and nearby as well. Whole Foods was a $10 Uber trip away too! In fact most Waikiki locations where we went were in this price range.

The pool near the hotel, the Paradise pool was awesome for kids and warm. They had waterslides operating between 11 am and 5 pm. The pool opened at 9 am and closed at 6pm. There are multiple other pools in the complex and the beach is a short walk away. There is also the public lagoon, though it was really cold compared to the ocean and pool. The kids loved the fish in there. The only downside was the towel situation. They gave a pool towel card per person and you used that to collect towels. The towel stand would close at six at all pools except the Tapa tower. If you were at the beach in the afternoon until late and missed the towel stand, you either had to wash & dry the towels in the apartment or go to Tapa tower to return. We opted for wash and dry.

We tried a few food outlets in the complex. Tropics bar was ok, though my husband’s chicken came out undercooked! He also had an awful soggy Reuben sandwich at CJ’s New York Style Deli.

Overall it was a great stay.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$650
  • Hotels.com
    AU$651
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$512
  • Expedia.com
    AU$650
0.4 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$622
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$548
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$461
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$787
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$775
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$756
  • Hotels.com
    AU$775
1.0 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$417
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$408
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$338
  • Expedia.com
    AU$373
1.0 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$695
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$846
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$559
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$640
1.3 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Beachfront
Pool
AU$469
  • Expedia.com
    AU$453
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$428
  • Hotels.com
    AU$453
1.4 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Pool
Restaurant
AU$480
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$478
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$387
  • Expedia.com
    AU$438
1.7 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Pool
Restaurant
QKH Penthouse Ocean View Living Area
AU$534
  • Hotels.com
    AU$565
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$431
  • Expedia.com
    AU$565
2.2 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$1,248
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,124
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,249
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$1,124
0.9 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (1,908)
Filter reviews
1,908 results
Traveller rating
934
598
209
82
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
934
598
209
82
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen washer and dryer time share paradise pool city view hawaiian village bedroom suite the penthouse partial ocean view beautiful resort ala moana blvd super pool living area family vacation waikiki beach per day rented a car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,908 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024 via mobile

The accommodations were wonderful. We had a fully stocked kitchen, dining area, living room with sofa bed, bedroom with a soaking tub, bathroom, balcony, and washer and dryer. It was immaculate and looked like new.

The entire Hilton Hawaiian Village is a great place to stay when vacationing in Waikiki. There are 5 pools, a lagoon, beautiful beach, several shops and restaurants. Friday nights they have fireworks. They also have a very nice luau on the grounds.

The Grand Waikikian has a lounge to use if you need to stay later than checkout. They have showers, lockers, comfortable seating areas, and charging availability. Our flight home wasn’t until 9:40 pm, so we stayed there after we checked out until we had to go to the airport in the evening. We used all of the facilities all day long, including the pool. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Hawaii (which will be our 21st Hawaii vacation).

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2024 via mobile

Fun hotel so long as you know what you are signing up for. Room had what we needed for our family of 4. Kitchen was great for breakfast and lunch. Had the basic items needed but note there is limited counter space. Room
Itself is on the smaller side and two queen beds made for someone sleeping right up against either the wall or bathtub. Bathroom had a bit of a smell and some mold on the ceiling.

Kids enjoyed paradise pool. However it is REALLY small considering the size of the hotel. One hot tub was closed which resulted in over 30 people in the one that worked. Huge bummer about the slides only being open during select times of the day. Half the pool is in the shade for just about the entire day. Limited seating but I did like that they wouldn’t let people into the pool until it opened to get their chairs. We stood in line 15 minutes before it opened and was always able to get a seat.

Lagoon wasn’t a hit with our kids. Water was way to cold but the lagoon did get sun the entire day. Beach behind the hotel is very rocky. Bring shoes or you may cut your feet.

Overall, while we enjoyed our stay we most likely won’t be back. Would rather stay somewhere that is more traditional Hawaii with less people.

Room tip: Parking is expensive.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jaynic_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

Aloha and thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your suite and the amenities within. We apologize for what you mention about the bathroom ceiling as well as the inconveniences you encountered around the complex. Your comments about the pool and lagoon have been shared with the main team at Hilton Hawaiian Village for their review. We use feedback from our guests to improve moving forward. We appreciate you sharing your experiences at the hotel. On behalf of the entire resort team, thank you once again for sharing your responses with us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024 via mobile

Avoid it at all costs! Crowded. Dirty. People everywhere. When we got there it took us 35 minutes in line for the check in. At this exact moment I noticed what my stay at this hotel would be. It is super dated and dirty. The flooring around the pools looks like it has never been washed. People who are not guests can use the hotel complex for dining / restrooms / shopping, so it will always be packed with people. There’s no pool service nor beach chairs/ umbrellas for guests.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank akiakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review regarding your most recent stay. We were delighted to have you as our guest, and we are sorry to hear you had a negative experience during your stay. We are constantly striving to improve our service and we want to assure you that we take all feedback seriously and are constantly working to improve in this area. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we apologize for the negative experience encountered. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

My nephew proposed to his girlfriend with family around. I wish they would bring back everyday maids service and room service back. The pool area is small and not enough chairs around the pool . TV didn't work had to have someone come up and fix it. One morning had no Hot water for showers!

Room tip: Stay in the Rainbow tower corner room the best view!
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kevgio49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were honored to have you as our guest. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the discrepancies experienced within your room as well as the pool. We've provided your feedback to the appropriate departments for follow-up. Our entire resort team strives to achieve nothing less than a 10 in all areas, so we appreciate your valuable feedback so that we can identify areas for improvement. We hope you otherwise enjoyed your stay and you and your family had a wonderful and memorable vacation. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Hilton provides beautiful rooms, views and location. They offer multiple pools, restaurants, and shopping onsite. We had to call housekeeping for a couple of items, they were always very prompt. The checkin process was very quick. Our rooms were ready ahead of time as well. Overall our experience was amazing.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews