We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic for families”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in the Grand Waikikian tower in a 1 bedroom suite for a family of 4. It was spacious and very nicely appointed. We stayed for 6 nights at the end of March/beginning of April 2012, and the 1 BR was spacious enough that we didn't feel as if we were stepping on each other - we could spread out a bit. The kitchen was functional enough that we cooked nearly every meal in our suite. I highly recommend hitting one of the local farmer's markets for amazing produce. Our 1BR was "city view" which meant facing Ala Moana, a very busy road. In addition, they were doing road construction at night. However, the sliding door and windows installed in the unit was amazing and blocked out 100% of the noise. The Grand Waikikian rooms have a washer/dryer right in the unit, which was great.

The proximity to the lagoon and the beach is what really made it fantastic.

We have two 6 year old kiddos who are good swimmers, but inexperienced in oceans. The beach is excellent - very protected so we didn't have to worry about the kids getting swept out in a big wave. Beaches farther east on Waikiki had a LOT more wave action and I was glad we weren't trying to swim there. But the lagoon was the bigger hit with our kids. They liked that the water was warmer, and had a blast with a stand up paddle board we rented a couple times.

We liked it so much that we will be back again in a few years!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoPeltier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    421
    135
    36
    32
See reviews for
773
281
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at Grand Waikikian Suites for a few days in March 2012. Honestly we are disappointed. Let me write cons and pros below:

Cons:
(1) When we checked in, we were told that they only have a room with full beds. When I told her that I reserved a room with a King size bed, she just told me "That was your request. We didn't have a room." She even did not tell us sorry! I definitely did not like the stuck-up attitude of this black long-haired Japanese-looking lady at the reception.

(2) Moreover, right after we checked in, we were taken to "Concierge," who explained us the amenities of the vast complex. But there was a true reason why the Concierge had to explain this to us, instead of the stuck-up lady at the reception. They want to sell their condos to customers! This hotel is basically a condo/time share, and rents rooms when they cannot fill the room with time share. Therefore, whenever a hotel guest shows up, they want to sell their condo to us! The Concierge lady even asked my annual salary (to see whether I qualify for their credit I suppose)! I wasted like 30 minutes for this crap before we finally checked into our room!

(3) It is a part of the huge Hilton Hawaiian Village (sharing with other Hilton hotels). This implies that, even though you might be paying much more than a typical Hilton hotel in Waikiki, all the pools and stores are shared with guests from other Hiltons. Basically, a lot of family and kids. It was impossible to find a chair on the pool side. You probably paid like 400+ per night, but you end up sharing everything except for the room with people paying like 150-200.

(4) Parking is not connected to the hotel, and you need to walk a long walk. If you choose to use valet, you wait 15 min to get your car instead of walking for 10 min.

(5) Staff are not used for hotel guests. When I asked what time the beds are made, I was told "we clean up the room every once a week. You need to pay for more." The truth is, for a hotel guest, they do bed making every day, but many staff don't remember that, it seems.

(6) The bed (two full size instead of one king) is one of the worst that i have ever had in a decent hotel. My hip sank like 5 inches. Unless you sleep n the edge of the bed, you suffer this sinking... Both my girlfriend and i suffered a back pain. It is unacceptable for a decently priced hotel.

(7) I wish they had salt, pepper, and some basic stuff in the kitchen. You need to buy everything!

(8) They have a lot of restaurants and bars, but all are sort of disappointing. They are what you should expect from 200-per-night hotel for large tourist groups.

Pros:
(1) It's a condo. You have a full kitchen. If you don't want to waste money for not-so-great food in Waikiki (compared with Tokyo or NY), you can cook yourself!

(2) The room is huge, equipped with DVD players (there is a free DVD rental service for guests), PS3, and iPhone-compatible stereo. If you like the feel of living, you'll be happy.

(3) There are a lot of pools and an artificial lagoon, although the temperature of all are definitely below the ocean (it was cold!)

(4) It's conveniently located, in the middle between Ala Moana Shopping center, and Galleria DFS. Both are sort of walking distance (we drove).

At the end, if you want a kitchen, but don't care about a lot of crowded pools or not being on the beach, Trump is a much much better option for possibly similar prices. If you don't care about kitchen, well, there is no reason to choose this hotel. Choose some suite room in one of the smaller but better-graded hotels. I recommend Halekulani but it's a bit pricy. But there are other options, too, in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Could ask for a room facing ocean, but prepared for bad attitude from receptionist! Rooms facing Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank makoto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I loved staying at the the Grand Waikikian because their rooms were very large and comfortable. Out of the five pools you can go to in the the Waikiki little village that was also the only pool that was heated and had three slides. Also about 100 feet away is a lagoon and beyond that a little farther is the ocean!
I stayed at about three hotel while in Hawaii and the Grand Wakikian was by far the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

As owners, we have visited a number of the Grand Vacation properties and particularly enjoyed our week at Kings Land in Waikaloa prior to a week in Waikiki. Despite more than 20 Hawaiian trips, been a long time since we visited Waikiki / Oahu and were apprehensive. No more. Grand Waikikian is new, the entire Hilton complex is first class and all the "little" items that make the difference are present at the Grand Waikikian. Upscale rooms, appliances, HD TV (but ask how to use the remote / channels---why they don't have instructions is beyond me. the maintenance man who came had 8 calls backed up just to show folks how to operate the remote....once you learned great channel choices etc. but a very solvable problem that should be addressed)...we had a wonderful view from the 26th floor. Elevators are quick and waits short to non-existent. NIcely stocked convenience store next to the elevators and lots of shopping very close. Happy Hour at Tropics is a must do. Best property / accommodations I saw.....and the Hilton Hotel--while VERY NICE is a zoo with 3300 rooms....too many moving parts for our taste but probably great for families. Can't go wrong with any of the HIlton set-ups at Waikiki

Room Tip: High, facing the Diamondback side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Waikikian for our 21st anniversary, a trip we have planned for many years. The grounds and public areas were very beautiful and interseting. The room we had was a one bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the living room, a full kitchen and dining area. Full size washer and dryer(we had issues with our dryer, but it was resolved later that week). We bought some groceries from the ABC store down the block and would have breakfast in our suite, before setting out to explore the island. The amenities were perfect and the pool, lagoon and beach were nice and isolated from the the main row of Waikiki beach hotels. Dining on site was very expensive and the quality was less than we expected(live and learn), but the restaurants near by had great food and were not too far if a walk. Overall, we really liked our stay and would live to stay there again, hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scratchrmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 1811 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1601
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $456 - $874
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations is located on the grounds of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. This 38-story tower heralds a new era of elegance in the oceanfront paradise of Waikiki, a Hawaii destination of romance and dreams, of cultures and cuisines. With the surrounding Hawaiian Village at your doorstep, you can dine in over 20 restaurants and lounges, find that perfect souvenir, or enjoy a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Enjoy six swimming pools including the new Paradise Pool at Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations. Accommodations include one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Waikikian by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Waikikian Suites By Hilton Grand Vacations Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotels Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Grand Waikikian By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing