We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarita V

Hawaii

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Apr 2024via mobile
Really enjoyed it and the facilities and rooms are well appointed and clean. The elevators are unpredictable . No room service so if you arrive late after 12 hours flight it can be tough to be well fed. The pools are small but nice but the third floor private pool hot tub isn’t hot but cool and crowded. Overall nice visit
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Take the pearl harbour tour! Plus the Polynesian cultural centre. The local restaurants are...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$1,248
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,124
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,249
  • Priceline
    AU$1,249
0.7 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$651
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$650
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$512
  • Expedia.com
    AU$650
0.5 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$636
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$622
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$461
  • Expedia.com
    AU$622
1.1 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$787
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$775
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$756
  • Expedia.com
    AU$775
0.8 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$613
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$614
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$418
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Pool
Beachfront
AU$417
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$408
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$338
  • Expedia.com
    AU$373
0.8 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$695
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$846
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$559
  • Prestigia.com
    AU$640
1.1 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Beachfront
Pool
AU$469
  • Expedia.com
    AU$453
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$428
  • Hotels.com
    AU$453
1.2 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Pool
Restaurant
AU$478
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$480
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$387
  • Expedia.com
    AU$438
1.6 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Pool
Restaurant
QKH Penthouse Ocean View Living Area
AU$534
  • Hotels.com
    AU$565
  • Vio.com
    AU$381
  • Expedia.com
    AU$565
2.0 km from Hilton Grand Vacations Club The Grand Islander Waikiki Honolulu
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveller rating
522
253
89
50
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
522
253
89
50
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washer and dryer hawaiian village full kitchen we stayed in a two bedroom third floor living area ocean view beautiful property tapa pool self parking great amenities beautiful room shops and restaurants kalia tower per day pools elevator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2024

First and foremost love Hilton and are Gold members.

2ndly, these Hilton "Grand Vacations" presentation packages are a bunch of bs and somewhat deceitful so pay close attention.

1st, you will be intrigued in to a 3 day or 5 day to say Hawaii, Las Vegas, Orlando etc...... They show you pics of a few resorts to chose from....(but not really) ALL look BEAUTIFUL like a dream vacation. We chose Oahu. You pay the cheap price, they don't give you a time or date for this presentation till closer to departure where you are gonna be.

Here is where you really need to pay attention.

Time comes, it's now too late to get money refunded, my friend was told we were going to be at the Hilton "Garden Inn" Waikiki and basically had to find our own transportation to this property and presentation. (Again, love Hilton hotels, just didn't think we'd be flying 4k miles to stay at a basic Hilton own transportation and 4hrs of our vacation time.

DAY OF PRESENTATION: Pay Close Attention to Intraction and Body Language from Beginning to End.

Get to counter the person greets and makes eye contact ONLY with the person signed up for this. Told to have a seat someone will be with "her" not "us"shortly.

Another person grabs us and starts talking to ONLY HER, making quirky jokes like you look very familiar ha ha ha oh yeah ha ha ha...(tactic to gain first point of interaction).

Go sit in another room. A gentleman goes around the room asking who we all are, where we are from and how are we related ect. (Reading the room tactic) These are geared more for couples and or married people mind you. Which is stupid because single people can make enough money to buy timeshares but that's besides the point.

Now, it's already been almost 30 minute. The presentation should be 90. We haven't even reached the first rep.

Come out the door, bam, each set had a person ready to go and go sit. The rep introduces themselves, generally they already know what's about to happen. The guy was sweet. He stated it's gonna be about 2 hrs they just wish to have a straight yes or no, no gotta wait on spouse or think about it etc which is smart you would think for them. We tell them the story about why we're there where we were staying how this all happened and would pry be a no.

Before getting to far in the "Finance" person comes introduces themselves and says they are going to "build a profile". They will make the numbers work eventually. Again told if not they just want a yes or no and all is well we can all part ways no problem.

Hr and half later, still haven't seen the rooms we can tell the gentleman is just trying to get through this because he has to fulfill his duties cause it's longggg and they are trying to build raport as well as "build a profile". They leave a few times pry to go back to Finance about who we are, what we do for a living our personal lives, traveling pasts, present, futures, favorites etc. Kind of like Tarot readers if ya give them too much information.

She tells him she wants to know the cheapest points system and what is the bottom line. She just wants to see but due to life events it will need to make most sense which did not at this time. Which when left to look at the site, there was nothing shown for 5k points. It only started at 8k which basically told us they don't usually deal with the lower end.

Before numbers are ran he finally takes us to see a few units which are very beautiful but you can tell the vibe changed. He was not rude he just was not happy anymore and not as engaged or enthused any longer. Told us the lady was gonna be by to put the numbers together.

FINANCE PART....AGAIN PAY CLOSE ATTENTION (MATCHES ENERGY)

Again the Finance person comes back all happy and gleeful (knowing this is not going to happen). Tells us a speel and then says if it doesn't happen it's a yes or no we walk away and appreciate the opportunity. Lays out the numbers, she says it's not doable due to circumstances. Just being honest as they asked us to be.

This is where I started to watch everything again, eye contact body language, how they just so happened to go through some same life events single mom, have kids from "same state" "same ages"that are in college and trying to get home and this and that. (Again, a reach tactic for common things to shift potential buyers thought process based on common interests, feelings emotions.) Once after 20 minutes and nothing happened she then thanks us and they both depart but states there will be an "EXIT" interview.

Before that, another young lady stated here's the receipt of 75k points being put into friends account and take a picture of it. Hang tight, someone is coming for the EXIT.

EXIT INTERVIEW...(PROFILE BUILT)
(Has anyone noticed this)????????

Another person sits down asks us the questions on the presentation and the overall rating. That should've been the end of it. However, if you say ANYTHING BUT not interested at all anytime soon, this will not end. NOWWWWW they tell you for just 16 almost $1700.00 you can stay a week at one of these ACTUAL Resort Condos which BTW was where we thought we were going in the very first place when all this started in the inital booking almost 7 months ago. Again, they tell you that you DON'T get to choose the resort it will be assigned but they do NOT tell you it's not going to even be AT the luxury resort/condos listed in booklet only the hotel collection.

I caught a glimpse of the name tag. Now mind you the representives was kind of hard to read but this person was big and had the EXACT location City and State of where my friends son was attending college, also was listed as a "favorite" destination. Coincidence or ONE last ditch effort to find common ground to purchase THAT package? Do they have multiple name tags with diff locations to make you have something in common?
After that was done, pretty much was harshly whisked out of there. We had the "don't let the door hit ya on the way out" feeling.

I have been to one of these before not Hilton but another resort and the vibe, the intraction, change of hands all the same tactics.

What SHOULD have been or what they SHOULD do is make a group of models SOLEY for those doing this presentation so you get the feel of the property and amenities for a few days.

What they SHOULDN'T have done is make you buy this get put somewhere entirely away from the locations, told it's gonna be 90 minutes and almost 4hrs later you basically got lied to.

I am really curious about the name tags and locations though. I know people that have worked as these have and will say and do almost ANYYYYTHING even if it means they lie about their own lives even horrific/sad tales that may or may not even exist to try and lock the deal.

While they were extremely knowledgeable, and know this process takes time and they are teying to make a living as well, I am very disheartened to know Hilton allows this!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank lisasH3332UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2024

We visited as a family of 2 adults and 3 children. The suite was big enough for us all, very modern, spacious and cleaned daily.
Our bed was big and comfortable and I slept well every night. We had a very large shower which had great water pressure. The en-suite bathroom was spacious with a Japanese toilet. Our first experience of one which was entertaining. I miss it!
There was also a twin room with a main bathroom with normal toilet in.
In the large lounge there is a comfortable sofa which converts to the most comfortable sofa bed I have ever experienced.
The kitchen is big with a dishwasher.
There is a cupboard with a washing machine and dryer.
Balcony views with lovely.
There is a fireworks display every Friday night on the beach which is definitely worth watching.
The whole resort is well landscaped with ponds with fish, turtles and even a few ducks in. 🦆
There are lots of pools to go in within the Hilton area. They do get busy so get there early if you want somewhere good to sit.
There are great shops around. There is an ABC store where you can buy groceries. It is expensive though. If you want to save money there is a big Walmart about 20 minutes walk away (near a park with 10+ cats in!).
The other way there is lots of major shops and restaurants chains like Cheesecake Factory. Also beautiful landscaping in this area too. You can walk along the beach to it or along the pavements. About 20 minutes walk.
The beach nearby is great. The sea is warmer than the pools.
We did an activity called lei making. Made of real orchids. Really lovely.
If you want a clean, modern, spacious hotel this is for you.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024 via mobile

Love it !! We concluded 4 days of our 11 days Hawaiian vacation stay at the Grand Islander. We tried various Hilton resorts ranging from Modern hotel, Hilton Tapa tower, and Grand Islander on this trip to assess other Hilton offerings as we predominantly stayed at Lagoon and Grand Waikikian over the last decade. You can search my reviews online for Modern and Tapa.

I’m glad we concluded our stay at Islander as we did not experience and challenges with our stay. The overall services ranging from check-in to housekeeping were flawless. The unit is beautiful and well maintained.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank limron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

We asked for an ocean view and were told that wasn't possible, but then received a room with an ocean view anyway. It was a gorgeous view! My family and I stayed in a 1 bedroom for 8 days and the kids slept on the sleeper sofa in the living room. We had plenty of space. The room was clean, modern, and comfortable. The bathroom included a soaking tub and separate shower, and the toilet (with a bidet) was behind frosted glass. The washer and dryer were located in the bathroom and laundry detergent was provided. They provided large bottles of body wash, shampoo, and conditioner, as well. The kitchen was nice and included quality appliances. The hotel is conveniently located in the Hilton Hawaiian Village, which offers restaurants and shopping. There were several pools on the property, including a private pool on the 3rd floor. Cabana rentals and beach/ocean activities such as surfing lessons and whale-watching tours were offered for an additional charge. Every staff member we encountered while there was friendly and considerate. The beach is a short walk away. It was a bit confusing figuring out where to go for each of our Uber drivers when we left the hotel. Also, the hot tub was not working. That was the biggest disappointment for our daughter. She still complains about that when we visit other hotels with working hot tubs.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 506adelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Take your money somewhere else. Way over priced with low quality beds. They have no room service. Charge daily taxes on top of the high room fees.

The security harasses the guests. Yelling and screaming at guests until you cause a scene and have to call the cops is very unprofessional. They should fire Jose Castellanos their head of security for failing to deal with a girl that had one to many mai tais. Instead of asking her to leave nicely he followed her off the property and continued to yell at her and harass her then told the cops she was disorderly. I wouldn’t risk going here if the security is going to literally throw you one the street when you have a drink at the pool. I would show the bruised up pics of the girl but they are to graphic.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Blaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews