We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
chrace082810
San Diego, California

Location is superb!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 June 2021via mobile
This was our 3rd trip to Oahu, but our first time staying within the Waikiki area.

The location is perfect. Close proximity to shopping, dining, and Waikiki Beach. The ever-reliable ABC store is less than a 3min walk from the escalator lobby.

Check-in was a breeze. We traveled during the pandemic, so yes, be prepared to show your Safe Travel Hawaii QR code. Hand sanitizers available in the lobby, and the elevator have signage for 4 people maximum only. But, yes, some people chose to ignore it. The majority of guests were wearing a mask.

Maui Brewery is located in the lobby, with live music. Cannot say much about it as we’re not able to try them out. Hawaiian Aroma Caffe is also in the lobby, where you eat while people-watching by the pool.

The pool is a decent size. Why go to the pool if the beach is right across the street!? I don’t think it’s a heated pool, but with the Summer heat, the water temperature was refreshing. We took a dip in the morning, and another one in the late afternoon. We were approached by the hotel security during our afternoon swim. Apparently, you have to make a pool reservation to use it. We did not. He respectfully asked us to leave, but gave us the go-signal to go back if “nobody showed up in the next 5 minutes.”

Would I stay here again? Yes, I think I would. We had a great experience. We stayed on the 11th floor, and though we can still hear some street noise at times, the location is amazing.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 June 2021
Aloha!
Thank you for choosing Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger for your stay! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that the location met all your expectations.

Due to covid we still comply with the rules and restrictions. We thank you for your patience and understanding. Your satisfaction matters to us and we are thrilled to know that you will continue to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$809
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$808
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$658
  • Trip.com
0.3 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$1,034
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$877
  • Trip.com
0.5 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Porte Cochere
AU$853
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$651
  • Expedia.com
    AU$697
0.2 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Beachfront
Pool
AU$632
  • Hotels.com
    AU$634
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$519
  • StayForLong
    AU$650
1.6 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$201
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$180
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
  • Trip.com
0.2 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Pool
AU$435
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    AU$473
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$388
  • Expedia.com
    AU$459
0.3 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$669
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    AU$657
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$576
  • Hotels.com
    AU$657
0.3 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$325
  • Hotels.com
    AU$461
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$307
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$294
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$220
  • travelup.com
9.7 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (1,279)
Filter reviews
1,279 results
Traveller rating
1,060
163
31
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,060
163
31
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aroma cafe maui brewing co front desk the cafe downstairs the cheesecake factory rooms are beautiful perfect location pool area housekeeping staff waikiki beach the aloha spirit included breakfast international marketplace wonderful stay partial view i highly recommend this hotel amazing hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
942 - 947 of 1,279 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2021

My family and I stayed at one of our favorite hotels which is located right in the heart of Waikiki. We love staying at the Waikiki Beachcomber because it is right in the middle of everything! From shops, restaurants and especially the beach, which is just a walking distance.

The room that we stayed in was very clean and neat and the view was breath taking. We were on the 21st floor and the view was amazing from up there. You can literally watch the sunrise and the sunset from the comfort of your room. The housekeeping staff were awesome!

The pool is great and kid friendly. My son and nephews loved the main pool because it is big enough for them to be able to swim around. There is a bar/coffee shop located next to the pool and food is great and have their happy hour starting at 2 pm, forgot when it ends, but the drink I had was very refreshing.

Wish that we could have stayed longer. But our little staycation was definitely a well deserved relaxation away from home. Cannot wait for our next staycation!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank nuiscentss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2021

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger for your staycation! We love having our Kama'aina here with us. We are delighted and appreciative of your positive reviews. It is our pleasure to serve you with excellent service and we are glad that your family had a great time here at the Waikiki Beachcomber. We look forward to have your next staycation here with us! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

Nice hotel centrally located by nearly everything. A little disappointed in the restrictions on using the pool…reservations are almost always full with 10 max but no one is checking for compliance so dozens of people come straight in from the beach anyway. The only ones that don’t get to use it are those who follow the rules. The bar is nice and happy hour advertises $10 pizza but we were charged $23+ or something. Staff is very friendly.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bud_n_Sissy_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2021

Aloha,

Thank you for choosing Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger for your stay. We apologize if the restrictions of the pool affected your satisfaction of stay here with us. Your review matters to us and your safety. We will share this with our team to continue serving you with the best service. Your feedback helps us improve and we appreciate your honesty. We are also glad our staff gave you a warm welcome during your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future and give you the best experience.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2021

last here for a marathon some years ago, this time just to take it easy.
really liked the breakfast and evening meal arrangment.
loved our oceanfront corner room with many balconies.
so many eating options nearby and ABC right across the street.

Room tip: great club experience, but get in line erly for pool
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank islandboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2021

Aloha islandboy88,

Thank you so much for returning to the Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger! We are thrilled to hear that you continue to enjoy your visits with us and we eagerly await your return! A hui hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

My family and i stayed here for 4 days and we are very happy with the service especially to maricon, the housekeeper. She makes everything clean and nice. This hotel will our second home whenever we visit hawaii, thank you very much and we will see you soon

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Angtinomo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

Aloha Anthony G,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your visit as well as the hospitality provided by Maricon. Thank you for sharing your praise for her and we look forward to celebrating her! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Spent 5 nights here between June 1 and June 6 - the hotel is very well situated in Waikiki in the heart of all the action. Walking distance to great restaurants, coffee shops and the beach. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. We had an issue with the toilet flush on our first day and it was resolved promptly. Bed was comfortable and room had all modern amenities that you could need. There's a cafe in the lobby where we had breakfast on two occasions - convenient if a little pricey for what you get. You can take towels from the pool area to the beach. I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to base yourself out of Waikiki.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank iSamia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Aloha,
Thank you very much for returning to the Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger. It is such our pleasure to be your choice of stay while in Honolulu. Mahalo Nui Loa for your continued patronage and positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews