We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$485
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Julia Y

One of the very best!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 May 2021
My husband and I stayed at the Waikiki Beachcomber for about a month, “working from home”. First of all, the location is perfect. You are a short walk from the beach, in the center of the city. On the bottom floor there’s Aroma cafe - best breakfast and most delicious coffee! In the evening there’s music, loved the chill vibes.

The pool and the hot tub are great, I love the whole area to chill and work! Comfy beach chairs, big jacuzzi, overall very well kept area (You have to make reservations for the pool due to COVID).

The room was spacious (we stayed in suite), new furniture, big TV, AMAZING views from the balcony... Room service every day. We were SO well taken care of - housekeeping is amazing and we really enjoyed spending long periods of time in the room.

Lastly, all the staff was so accommodating, helpful, they always did their best! Shout out to Kiana the manager who always accommodated our needs.

We cannot wait to stay at the Beachcomber again! It’s truly one of the best hotels in Waikiki!
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 June 2021
Aloha Julia Y,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waikiki Beachcomber for your "workcation"! We are absolutely overjoyed to hear that you loved your stay so much and that you plan to return! Mahalo nui for your detailed review of our hotel and praise for our staff like Kiana. We are so happy she was able to assist you and we look forward to sharing your feedback with her.

Mahalo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$783
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
AU$372
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$324
  • Expedia.com
    AU$372
0.2 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$400
  • travelup.com
    AU$377
  • Hotels.com
    AU$400
0.5 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
AU$347
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
9.7 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$1,361
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$1,513
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,173
  • Booking.com
    AU$1,391
0.5 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
QKH Penthouse Ocean View Living Area
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$498
  • Expedia.com
    AU$651
1.0 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$351
  • Expedia.com
    AU$381
0.3 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$535
  • Official Site
0.2 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Beachfront
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$528
  • Expedia.com
    AU$598
1.6 km from Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Honolulu
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
1,007
152
28
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,007
152
28
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aroma cafe maui brewing co front desk the cafe downstairs the cheesecake factory rooms are beautiful perfect location pool area housekeeping staff waikiki beach the aloha spirit included breakfast international marketplace wonderful stay partial view i highly recommend this hotel amazing hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2021 via mobile

Our group of 6 recently returned from an 8-night stay at The Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, on Kalakaua Ave. Hotel property sits atop the International Marketplace mall and backs up to Kuhio Ave. Surrounded by some great restaurants and high-end shopping, this is really the heart of Waikiki.

Room - We chose an Ocean View w/ King Bed, requesting a room on one of the higher floors, to get the best view of the beach and Diamond Head. Room #2403 was very appealing, spacious, functional, and the view did not disappoint. King bed was firm, well-appointed, and very comfortable.

Facilities & Food - One of best qualities of the Beachcomber is the in-house Aroma Caffe and Maui Brewing Co. Both offer adult drinks and food. Aroma Caffe is best known for it’s smoothies, açaí bowls, and coffee drinks. It’s all pretty good. The Maui Brewing Co. has a large space, is accessible directly from the hotel, and offers a large variety of it’s own beers. The food is decent too. During our stay, there was live music every night. They have their own store where you can buy T-shirts or grab-and-go bottles.

In addition to the two restaurants, the Beachcomber also has it’s own convenience store, which is handy if you only have a bathing suit on and need something quickly. That can help on the way out or back from the beach, or an excursion day.

Pool - During our 8-day stay, we didn’t go in the pool once. For us, we found the pool area w/ jacuzzi too small and often pretty crowded. Most of that is due to the in/out flow of the Aroma Caffee customer and families staying there. Music plays at the pool all day, and there is live music on weekends.

All in all, the Beachcomber is perfectly situated in the heart of Waikiki (if you can handle the crowds), the room rates are decent, and it has really good built-in food & drink places. There is even the mall downstairs which has it’s own shops, coffee places, and restaurants. From the Beachcomber, you can get to the beach, high-end shops, and restaurants very quickly.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank paultN6603VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Aloha,
Mahalo nui loa for choosing Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger as your Honolulu destination and for sharing all of this wonderful feedback. We love having satisfied guests and enjoy sharing your stories with all of the team. We are sincerely glad that you and your group had such a great experience and that your accommodations were comfortable for you all. Our team strives to embody the Aloha spirit and we are elated you felt surrounded by it at every turn. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to the beautiful shores of Waikiki. Thank you again for your warm words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2021

Awesome hotel but the street musicians ruin it . You can’t relax , sleep etc . Soooooo loud . I wish I read a review that told me this. It’s unfortunate because it’s a great hotel with fantastic service but I would not stay here or recommend it to anyone again

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 466alliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your thoughtful feedback about your experience at Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger. We sincerely apologize about the street noise you experience. We'll still look forward to welcoming you back in your next visit her at Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger.
Mahalo Nui Loa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

From our first greeting from Jenny through our meals and room experience, I recommend Waikiki Beachcomber highly.
Valet staff, desk staff, options for all kinds of amenities were perfect.
Acai bowls in Aroma, with live music, and veggie burgers and drinks from Maui Brewery made it a great location to return to after we explored other cities and local restaurants.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank elleno761
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Aloha,
Thank you for staying at Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger. It is our pleasure to know that you loved your experience. We will be sure to share your glowing review about our hosts with the rest of our team. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

We were booked at the Ohana East where we have stayed many times. They hadn't reopened yet so we got moved to the Beachcomber. The room was OK, the beds were fine, etc. The street noise was a bit much but quieted down around 10 pm or so. There was sporadic noise throughout the night. The front desk staff (Jenny!), maids, and car valets were friendly and efficient. If we come back to Waikiki to stay again I would stay at Ohana East or Malia because they are on quieter Kuhio. BTW they are filling in the ocean at Waikiki with sand so the water is murky and the waves are confused.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank tutana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2021

Aloha tutana,

Thank you for sharing your valued feedback! We are so sorry for the inconvenience of having to relocate, however, it has been our esteemed pleasure to host you at the Waikiki Beachcomber. Thank you for your kind comments for Jenny, housekeeping, and valets. We look forward to sharing your review with them! We also apologize for the noise from the street performers. We are working with our city officials to improve this aspect of our guest experience.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my stay here! It was a much needed relaxing day for me. Front desk - Sam checked me in and she was very sweet. She made me feel very welcomed. Also got to interact with a manager there, her name is Kiana. She was very nice and so much Aloha there. My room was very nice and i love my view!! I had a partial ocean and city view and i just loved everything about it. I was in a corner room which i liked because it was quiet and I got to relax. I spend some time in the pool area and ordered some drinks at the Aroma cafe. Excellent service! I wish I could’ve stayed longer but i will definitely come back again!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Angel_Gem1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Aloha Angel,

Thank you so much for your valued review! We are truly honored by your kind comments for our hotel and our staff. Mahalo nui for acknowledging the hospitality provided by Sam and Kiana. We look forward to sharing your feedback with them and are so proud to have them as part of our 'ohana. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Waikiki Beachcomber and we eagerly await your return!

A Hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews