We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Showing its Age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This property is centrally located in the Waikiki Beach area on Kalakaua Avenue, the main drag for all the action in Waikiki. Even though the hotel is sited on the other side of the road from the beach side, it is a mere 5 minute walk to the beach. Ask the desk personnel for the quickest way to get to the beach. There is a convenient pathway which leads there very fast but you need to know the route.

Being on the busy stretch of Waikiki, it can be quite noisy day and night and even more so if your room is located above the roof of a lower nearby building whose massive air conditioning units can sound like non-stop jet engines. Just remember to keep the sliding glass doors closed.

If you want an unrestricted ocean view, this is not the hotel for you but if you are lucky, you can get a room with a glimpse of the beautiful Pacific.

While the amenities are adequate, the bathroom in my unit was starting to show its age through the wear and tear of time - nothing major but it just doesn't have the nice sparkling look of a newer or better upgraded facility.

This hotel is alright if you are not too particular about ambience. It is certainly not a resort-type property but has all the basics you need, especially if you are going to be outdoors most of the time.

The sidewalk in front of the hotel gets busy and exciting as night draws nigh with sidewalk performers and later at night with street walkers, if you don't mind that kind of thing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HarryJ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,697 of 2,789 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

We asked for a room with balcony and view of the ocean. We got it both times and it was beautiful. The room was nice and big enough for 3 adults. The hotel staff was helpful and very friendly.
We used Hawaii 23 (Mark) from the airport and back. We also called him for all other shuttle connections we needed while on the island. He was wonderful and helpful. Would use him again. Thanks Mark.... for making our trip worry free.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony with an ocean view. Keep in mind that entertainment goes on at night on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We had a room on the 17th floor for 2 nights, then the 14th floor after our cruise. This hotel is central to shopping, restaurants and transport. From arrival at hotel, the porters were helpful and friendly, check-in was a breeze and rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't notice the noise from the 17th floor (from bars below) but certainly did on the 14th floor. Would happily stay here again but would book rooms from 17th & above in the future. Breakfast at Jimmy Buffett
was a bit ordinary.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sparkle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Great location.View of the street, ocean,and mountains from the 22nd floor.Staff very friendly. Clean.Pool small.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at your Hotel last year, sorry I have taken so long to write this review. I am always reading what other say as it is like reliving our holiday.

We just loved the location, each evening we sat and watched the world go by on the Balcony. We were on the 7th floor which suited us fine as we really felt right in the action of all the goings on.

Right opposite the Beach, sadly we didn't swim as much as we would of liked but time just did not allow.

The room was lovely. Lovely king bed with wonderful fresh crisp linen. The housekeeping was first class.

We are looking to come back again from NZ very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
614 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,566 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Honolulu

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $256 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing