We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday and Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday and Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at your Hotel last year, sorry I have taken so long to write this review. I am always reading what other say as it is like reliving our holiday.

We just loved the location, each evening we sat and watched the world go by on the Balcony. We were on the 7th floor which suited us fine as we really felt right in the action of all the goings on.

Right opposite the Beach, sadly we didn't swim as much as we would of liked but time just did not allow.

The room was lovely. Lovely king bed with wonderful fresh crisp linen. The housekeeping was first class.

We are looking to come back again from NZ very soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    1,227
    372
    79
    38
See reviews for
837
970
142
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here Mar 30 - April 4, 2012. Originally I was trying to get a room at the Sheraton Royal Hawaiian, and I "settled" for the Holiday Inn. However, the Holiday Inn exceeded all of my expectations. Besides the location being in the heart of the main area, the hotel room was excellent. It was large, clean and comfortable. Additionally, I found the staff friendly and helpful. The common areas were comfortable and clean as well. I spoke to people staying at the Sheraton Princess and the Hyatt and was told that although the buildings and grounds were nice, the rooms were not. I definitely recommend the Holiday Inn to anyone looking to stay in Waikiki.

The only possible downsides (not for me though) is that the pool didn't have much shade coverage, and the beach is a block away. However, most hotels are a block away from the beach - it really is a short walk. But you have to rent umbrellas and chairs from vendors on the beach. However, I was impressed that the Sheraton Royal Hawaiian had chairs on the beach and umbrellas for their patrons.

Room Tip: I stayed in 803 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayesuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Aloha fayesuave and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Beachcomber! Our ohana works hard to take good care of its many guests, and we have many loyal Canadians among them. As you mention, there are many choices in Waikiki, but we feel we are an excellent value - great location, affordability and aloha. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel was very nice, clean, close to everything, Macy's is under this hotel.
Wifi in this hotel is included anywhere in the building, without extra cost. I had no view of
the ocean but for us it didn't matter. Our breakfast was included. The beach is across the
street. The Magic of Polynesia is also in the same building, and there is also a bar with
happy hours. This hotel was recommended by Norwegian "Pride of America" that is the cruise line we took to visit Hawaii. This Hotel is on the main street of" Kalakaua avenue"

Room Tip: Always look in the Internet before choosing an hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry110261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
758 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a good, reliable hotel. I have stayed at Holiday Inns allover the Asia/Pacific region and this one is a good quality example. As with all of them, the location is marvellous - it is surrounded by good eateries and plenty of shopping. Waikiki Beach is only a few metres walk away and the buses to Honolulu are easily found on Kuhio, right behind the hotel. On the down side, this hotel has no restaurant - disappointing as Holiday Inns are renowned for good quality food - that means there is no room service overnight. The closest place to get breakfast is the Beachcomber on Level 1, attached to Jimmy Buffets. This is okay - quite fine for breakfast, but don't expect a sumptuous buffet. The Waikiki area, renowned for good times and partying, can be noisy through the night, so you will need to be aware of this possibility - not the hotel's fault. Good coffee and the service is outstanding here. All in all, it was a good stay and I would come to stay here again.

Room Tip: You can see Waikiki Beach from most balconies - but I'm not sure if you'll get away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Aloha Ali_Hawkins, thank you for being a loyal IHG / Holiday Inn customer and for your kind review of the Beachcomber! Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our many guests and hearing how you enjoyed your stay brings much joy to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a room on the 21st floor with a beautiful ocean view. Room was not huge but it was fresh and comfortably appointed (even for a family of four). Staff is very friendly and helpful when it came to accommodating a 6 pm checkout (for a small fee). Elevators were always quick and efficient. Laundry facility came in handy, too.

We ate at Jimmy Buffet's a couple of times for breakfast, lunch (volcano nachos!!!) and dinner-hotel guests received a discount for B and L). The location was walking distance to other great restaurants as well. Because we were so close to the very popular Cheesecake Factory we were able to run across the street to put our name down for dinner, took our flashy beeper back to the hotel and avoided the 45 minutes wait on the sidewalk like everyone else.

The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub although it would have been nice if it was open a little later than 6pm. We rented snorkel gear for the week $35 pp and snorkelled locally at Sans Souci beach by Kapiolani Park-grassy park with trees for shade if you want it.

We would definitley stay here again on our next trip back to Waikiki!

Room Tip: Request a quieter room on the higher floors. Ask if a late checkouts for 6 pm or 8 pm is possble i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen_BC_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Aloha Karen_BC_2012 and thank you for your kind words and thorough review! Our team takes great pride in taking care of our many guests from throughout the world and your review provides us much satisfaction. We look forward to your return to the Beachcomber in the near future. Mahalo, Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
287 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $243 - $413
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing