We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Old Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best of Old Hawaii”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our Royal Hawaiian Tower room had a breathtaking view of Waikiki Beach and its surfers. It was so relaxing to sit on the balcony and watch the beach activity. The staff was very accommodating to your every need. We enjoyed a special ocassion dinner at Azure, the hotel's restaurant....as well as a wonderful breakfast. This hotel is within walking distance of many other restaurants in the area as well. RH remains a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBlue0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for sharing that our Royal Beach Tower Guestrooms offer such incredible views of Waikiki Beach and wonderful, private lanais for relaxing and beach watching. We are also thrilled that you found our staff to be so accommodating, our breakfasts at Surf Lanai and dinners at Azure Restaurant to be so wonderful, and our location to be perfectly central.
We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your great experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,142
    891
    396
    174
    122
See reviews for
1,145
1,711
137
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is my second stays at the Royal Hawaiian hotel. Both stays I stated at the Suite. The rooms are nice and clean, hotel staffs are friendly and knowledgeable. Dined at azure restaurant and the food was great, server was incredibly nice and friendly. I needed some help from the concierge and Crystal is such a sweet lady, and she is a complete go getting. She was personable and go distances to take care of my errands.

However, this one experience that ruin my entire stay.
Instead of being welcomed at the beach, I was greeted by this gentleman calls Raymond (as I recalled) "I am sure you are NOT the VIP and I am sure you did not reserved these chairs!" As I was putting my stuff at the pink chairs.

I have no idea this is the kind of treatment that me and my sister would received, as I have a lot of experience staying at luxury hotels and none of them would even say such a thing to their street guest, NOT TO MENTION I am an elite member of the chain, staying in a suite and have been friendly to everyone. I may look young, but this is completely inappropriate to treat anyone like this. These beachboys seem to judge you by the look, unless you are mature like Warren Buffet and have a few 5+ ct diamond rings on.

They seem to look down on everyone who do not look like baller.

Great hotel with a few bad apples. If you don't care about the beach, it is a heaven.
Someone should do something about the beachboy and teach them how to respect people.

Room Tip: I stayed at the suite during all my visits and I love it. The suites are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and excellent feedback. We are so pleased that you returned to stay with us and so enjoy our suites, friendly staff and Azure Restaurant. We thank you also for mentioning Kristal's excellent concierge service; we have shared your kind words with her and her manager.
We are however, very sorry to hear about your most uncharacteristic encounter with one of our Waikiki Beach Boys and we sincerely apologize for the way you were treated. We absolutely agree that such service is unacceptable and it's most definitely not our standard. We thank you very much for sharing this experience so that we may address this immediately. Our management team and the Waikiki Beach Services manager have already been informed; we take such situations very seriously and we will be taking the necessary steps to ensure such a situation never occurs again. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your kind words about the rest of our resort.
We look forward to providing flawless, true Royal service all-round on your next stay with us. With best regards and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We checked out of the Halekulani after one night and checked into the Royal Hawaiian. The staff are very gracious and helpful. The grounds are old and very Hawaiian and very lovely. This is really the only hotel on Waikiki that retains the flavor of old Waikiki from the 50's and 60's, the magical years. Although breakfast was excellent the food overall was the only weak spot. Dinner at Azure overpriced and not that good. If you value a feeling of the past and want an oasis in the hustle bustle of Honolulu then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Mahalo for choosing to spend the rest of your vacation with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We couldn't be happier to hear that you found our staff to be so gracious and helpful, that you enjoyed our manicured grounds, old world ambiance and delicious ocean front breakfasts.
We thank you also for your feedback on our food and beverage overall, which we have shared with our Chef.
We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our resort and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. With kind regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My Boyfriend and I visited the Royal Hawaiian last summer, and it was AMAZING.
We stayed our entire 8 days at the RH. Upon arriving we were leid and given glasses of their delicious hibiscus tea while we waited to check in. Our room was an ocean view room in the historic tower. The rooms are huge, loved it.
I planned the trip ahead with an itinerary of all the activities I had wanted us to do, which the concierge happily arranged for me with no hassle at all. (Honestly though, I'd try to look up the companies and make your own reservations if you can. The hotel's have certain companies that they work with for water activities, but they're super taxed compared to some of the surrounding companies)--I recommend Paradise Cove for your luaus! No need to have cash on you, everything can be charged to the room.
The food on the resort wasn't all that, even though we did eat there most of our trip. I do recommend Azure though for the experience. Make sure you call ahead to be seated outside, or for a cabana outside. Totally worth it by candle light. <3 <3
Other places to chow down: Dukes for their breakfast buffet, Roy's, Morimoto, & Mariposa at Neiman Marcus.
We got couples massages at the Abhasa Spa, in the outdoor cabanas again -- Exceptional.
The cabana boys by the pool/beach are great, they're quick and very attentive.
Don, if you're still working there -- You are the best! Such a sweet guy!
Overall, one of the best vacays we've been on. DYING to go back, maybe this July...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audibaby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you for sharing that our Royal Beach Tower Guestrooms offer such incredible views of Waikiki Beach and wonderful, private lanais for relaxing and beach watching. We are also thrilled that you found our staff to be so accommodating, our breakfasts at Surf Lanai and dinners at Azure Restaurant to be so wonderful, and our location to be perfectly central.
We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your great experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Until then, aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian from 5/9 to 5/16/12 for our 35th anniversary. It was fabulous.
The hotel is a perfect size for 55+ people, not too much useless walking. Everything was a short distance. We upgraded to a ocean front with balcony room, it was worth every penny. From our check in with Rory to our last day it was great. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our upgraded room had a balcony with a super sliding door making the room sound proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jecaon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Aloha and Congratulations on your very special Anniversary. Thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us; we are so pleased that you found everything at our resort to be so perfect and enjoyed our Royal Beach Tower guestrooms with their stunning ocean views.
We also want to thank you very much for mentioning Rory and the great service you received - your kind words mean the world to us - and we can't wait to celebrate your next big milestone with you! With best regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,521 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,970 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): $464 - $1,071
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing