We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Where to begin? The Pink Palace is a wonderful throwback to old Hawaii. We booked an older room overlooking the coconut grove, and wondered if we would miss the ocean view.... but the room was plush, beyond comfortable, updated, thoroughly retreat-like. As though that weren't relaxing enough, we rented a cabana by the pool for two days. Water, fruit (ooh papaya) & newspapers were part of the package - but you could order lunch, or a mai tai or even sunscreen; the service was beyond excellent. The biggest decisions were: pool, hot tub, or waves; mai tai, blue hawaiin or chi chi. A calm, beautiful spot in Hawaii that retains the feel and spirit of the islands - with every modern convenience. Book it, Dano! ;)

Room Tip: Try renting a cabana by the pool!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeChat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful compliments LeChat123, we are so delighted that you found our resort to be retreat-like and that you had such a relaxing stay with us. We are so thankful for your compliments towards our beach and pool staff and have shared your kind words with their manager - mahalo nui loa.
We look so forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. With best regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,817)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,409 - 2,413 of 3,818 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were travelling along way from the UK so getting the right hotel was key for us and we were so glad we stayed at The Royal Hawaiian. Our 3 night stay was amazing!! All the staff are so attentive and friendly. Upon check in we were given a lovely upgrade with a bottle of Champagne and our room offered amazing views of Waikiki Beach. We were based in the original historical wing and the room was really well themed and complemented the historical nature of the hotel. The hotel pool is small; however, with Waikiki beach on your doorstep this really didn't bother us. The concierge was very helpful and offered us some great advice on points of interest around the island, which made driving around so much easier and pleasurable. As the sun sets and the fire torches light up the grounds and the atmosphere are just great; we really can’t say enough about The Royal Hawaiian except it really did create a very memorable part to our Honeymoon!! Thanks to all the staff ;o)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Mahalo for joining us all the way from England and congratulations on your recent wedding. We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful time, found our staff to be so helpful, our concierge services so beneficial, and our honeymoon amenities to be so special. Thank you also for sharing that our historic guestrooms are so charming and that the atmosphere of our resort is so memorable. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and we hope to welcome you back for your first Anniversary. Best Regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for one night at the Royal Hawaiian, our first night on Oahu. The room was beautiful and had a great view (picture below). The Mai Tai bar was a great place to hang out with nice rice cracker snacks and good drinks and another beautiful view, especially at sunset.

I can offer a couple of words of experience for those of you visiting for the first time. First, after a frustrating crawl through Friday afternoon traffic and getting lost on the way from the airport, I wandered all over the first floor looking and looking for the front desk. My husband was parking the car - we wanted to get checked in quickly to enjoy the rest of the day after losing time getting there. I could not find the front desk. Finally a concierge became free and I asked and she pointed vaguely across the room. I headed in that direction and walked all the way down the hallway and still didn't find the desk. I came back to check again and asked someone sitting at a large desk (such as you'd see in a bank). She said - you are here, this is where you check in! There were no signs or anything. Anyhow, they gave me a very good tea drink and a gorgeous purple lai and by the time my hubby had parked, I had the room keys.

The resort fee includes parking and for that reason alone I felt $20 was a decent deal. But when we were leaving we found that hubby had parked in the "Guest Parking" which he surmised was for hotel guests. No, this parking is for guests of hotel guests and the machine at the exit will not negotiate! We had to pay another $50 for parking because of this. Please don't make the same mistake!

The room was very well appointed and I love the ornately carved doors. The bathroom and all fixtures were new and well maintained and clean. And the windows open which allows breeze into the room - very well done!

Also, we ran/walked from the hotel and around the Diamond Head loop, and then did the hike to the top. What a great feature to explore at this destination. Routes attached below.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeekSiliconValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are so thrilled that you had such a lovely stay and also thank you for sharing that fantastic photograph. We have passed along your compliments about the Mai Tai Bar snacks to our Chef, who is delighted - mahalo.
We have also brought up your concerns regarding clearer parking and lobby signage and instructions and we first would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and want to let you know that we greatly value your feedback and will be looking into this further.
We are glad to hear that as soon as your check-in experience began, everything turned out wonderfully and we are so happy to hear that you found our historic guestrooms to be so charming and well-maintained.
We so hope that next time you are able to stay a few more days with us. Until then, thanks again and best regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here 5 nights after spending 3 nights at the FS Hualalai.Both have pluses and minuses. FS gives you a map because it is a resort, not a hotel. There is no ocean swimming. A Ketel One Martini is $21. You dodge golf carts everywhere you go. A round of golf, plus rental of clubs & shoes, and balls - $400.But yes, they have world class employees and service. Right now the RH and all of Waikiki is laboring with the beach reconstruction and Outrigger pool renovation. There is real noise at the RH. We were told the worst is over now. The restricted RH only beach area was never full on any day we were there. We had no problems getting places by the pool or on the sand and we had no problems at all with service. The Tower rooms all face the ocean and Diamond Head for substantially less than you would pay at any FS. This is a one of a kind experience with a superb location from which to enjoy the natural beauty and visit fine properties nearby. The mai-tais have never been better!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MangoChetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Mahalo for visiting us on O'ahu, we are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Royal guest beach and found our service to be so fantastic. We are also thrilled that you found our Royal Beach Tower guestrooms to be such value for money with their stunning ocean and Diamond Head views, and we couldn't be happier to hear that you feel we provide a one of a kind experience in the heart of Waikiki.
We can't wait for you to return to share many more Royal moments and Mai Tai's with us. Thank you so much and aloha until next time, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

After 3 stays in 12 months, I’ve finally come to appreciate what the word luxury in “Luxury Collection” really means at the Pink Palace. It means the luxury of a location that as soon as you step into the driveway or the inner garden via the mall, you are greeted with this aura of tranquility. (You can actually hear birds sing!!). That is a luxury that none of the other properties that we looked at has. This level of serenity is an extreme premium in what is otherwise chaotic, cacophonic & carnival-like Waikiki area. Where that luxury is also evident is in the private beach area. The public area can get incredibly crowded to the extent that you can literally touch the body lying down next to you (and that body is a stranger!).

Readers should not get me wrong however. This is a 5-star hotel & for the most part, it delivers on this standard particularly in the tower rooms which are appointed with amenities of the like (including a fancy bidet :) ). Readers should also note that the location is in tight, over-developed Waikiki area so do not expect the roominess & living area generosity as you would in Maui or the Big Island with a comparable hotel rating.

And if you appreciate history, the historic building is an eye opener including the jaw-dropping details on the room doors.

As in our past visits, staff at the entrance & front desks are super friendly. Most of the restaurant staff are “seasoned” servers. The problem is some of them might be too “seasoned” as enthusiasm seemed to have faded away from their personalities.

Overall, if you like a party-like atmosphere in Waikiki with an ability to step out of it & into a quiet surrounding, the Pink Palace will provide this.

Room Tip: High tower rooms have excellent views & amenities.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itchyfeet024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Aloha and thank you for your wonderful descriptions of our unique luxury accommodations at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy our location, garden oasis, serenity and exclusivity and we thank you for your loyalty to our resort.
We are also delighted that you find our Royal Beach Tower Guestrooms to be so well appointed and comfortable. Thank you for sharing our appreciation of history and culture and for sharing that our front desk and valet staff embody true Hawaiian aloha-spirit. We are grateful for your feedback on our restaurant servers and we have addressed this with management.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about our resort and we look so forward to your 4th visit. Until then, best regards and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,067 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Honolulu

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $427 - $1,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing