We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
95
109
54
26
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
109
54
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown honolulu aloha tower floor to ceiling windows business district aloha salads beautiful mountain view iolani palace business hotel living room within walking distance waikiki traffic full kitchen washer dryer street level love staying business travel bus lines
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Starting from the first call to reserve the room, to the day after check out, the staff was completely helpful and very easy to talk to. I had concerns in which Jen (I think) answered and helped me get a really good deal on the room, to housekeeping who changed out my towels when needed, even though I was in the room when they came. Lastly, Darrin helped a great deal the following day when I accidentally left things in the room. 10/10 would visit again, for sure.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tara-Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing the gracious comments on various staff members and hope you can join us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

This was the only hotel situated in downtown Honolulu. It can be difficult to locate, but once you find it, it was a diamond in the rough. The workers were all very nice, the facility was very clean, our room was spotless, with a full refrigerator, stove and sink. You can not beat the view. We were on the 37th floor, and you felt like you were on the edge of the world. The dusk and dawn views were pretty spectacular for city views. Parking could be a challenge when you first get there, but a simple call got us an assigned parking stall that was convenient for the rest of our stay. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to call if you have trouble parking in the parking structure. They were able to get us an assigned stall right away.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dan2pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Aloha,
Sounds like you enjoyed one of our mountain view suites and the full kitchen comes in convenient. Come visit us again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This hotel is located in downtown Honolulu, and it appears to be the only hotel in this area. What is somewhat unusual is that each room is individually owned by a private owner, and the Aston is the property manager and hotel service. Each owner has the ability to offer their unit to a rental pool (which becomes an available hotel room) when the owner is not personally using the room.

This setup, while ideal for an investor, creates a wide range of mixed reviews because each room may have different levels of fit an finish. Some rooms are a little rough around the edges, which is something you would not expect from a higher end chain hotel. Some rooms are nicely appointed. All rooms must meet a minimum standard to qualify for rental through the Aston hotel management. Also a little different is that some owners may bypass the Aston management altogether and rent their rooms through places like VRBO. Those rentals are not part of the service (cleaning, linen and towels, soap, front desk etc.) and control of Aston hotel.

My experience was through the Aston hotel management and not with an individual owner.

A little background: The Aston company operates a number of hotels in the area, and different hotels can be literally on the next block from each other. In our case, we mistakenly pre-booked a room at one of the less desirable locations.

When we found our hotel and got to the room, there was a feeling of "wow, did me make a mistake or what?" because we were in Waikiki, in a fairly beat up building loaded with school groups on tour. Cramped parking garage etc. We were in Honolulu on business, not vacation, so the aura of the area reeking of cheesy touristy places was unwanted. The decision was quickly decided to relocate ASAP

The Aston staff at both hotels was very helpful and accommodating. I cannot give the staff enough kudos for their customer service, especially the staff at the Executive center. They were so helpful in getting us relocated, we bought them Starbucks cards as a token of our appreciation.

The Executive center really is a great location. Yes, some people commented about street people, but if anyone has been in any city environment, there will be strange street people. The level of undesirables was way below places like San Francisco, or even San Diego. What makes it appear worse than it really is, is that a number of city buses stop right outside the building, so there are a lot of people milling around. There are college campus classrooms scattered throughout the area too. There is even a farmers market on some days so, it can get busy looking.

For anyone setting up a stay of a week or so, all stores are within a few blocks walking distance. Walmart with full groceries, drug stores, clothing stores, donut shops, the obligatory starbucks and even a 24 hour fitness (can get a day pass at the front desk) on the same block. Literally, there is no store that is not within walking distance for daily/weekly supplies.

A nice thing about some of the rooms in the Executive center is a full kitchen. Full size refrigerator to stock up, full size range and oven (think pizza), even in room washer and dryers. If you are on a working trip, going out every meal eats up a lot of time.

China town is right down the street, and is the up and coming hip/trendy new restaurant location. Within easy walking distance.

Any room over the 15th floor with give you a harbor view, or a mountain view. Lower levels give you a view of another building. That is just a fact of life for high rise living.

Parking is included. We had a reserved space with a 24 hour access card. Most hotels in the tourist zone will charge more for parking. I do not believe there was the resort fee, or whatever the disguised term is to add more to the bill. Some complained that they had to take different elevators to get from the car to the room. This is typical for most high rise buildings, so those complaints are those who have never seen a high rise. Nothing strange or even inconvenient here.

The Lobby, clad in granite and still attractive, although not cutting edge in style is where you find the front desk for the hotel, elevators and a large restaurant sports bar. There are escalators to take you to and from street level. All in all, a good feeling.

Room Tip: Select a room with full kitchen, washer & dryer on a level above 15th floor
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bryanweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Aloha,
We are glad that you opted to relocate downtown and appreciate the insightful recap of our proximity to so many conveniences. Mahalo for also providing details on our building and guestroom layout and hope you can return to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Needed accommodation for the weekend- did not need or want to stay in Waikiki. The apartment (much bigger than a hotel room) exceeded my expectations. It was clean, had a mini fridge, and basic kitchenware. The staff was super friendly. I will certainly rebook when I must come back to Oahu.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Benni777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Aloha,
Nice to hear you enjoyed your weekend and the spaciousness and functionality of our suites along with the positive comments on our staff and look forward to having you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Great location, downtown, close to many great restaurants. We checked in on Sunday, left Monday afternoon. The staff was very accommodating to our early check-in, late check-out requests, and we really loved our 29th floor room with a view.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank prestonsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry D, General Manager at Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments and hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews