We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in many ways”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 April 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel Viking, a valet steward ran out to our car and offered to park it for us, $30 a day whether we valeted or self served. So from the start, there was a surprise. And little did we know, around the entire hotel there is free street parking off season! So, anyways, since we arrived in the morning we were pleased to find our room available. So upon entering our room we were a little in design stimulation overload. Every single thing in the room had a different pattern from the walls, to the side walls, to the carpet, bedspread, and table. It was like being in the Willy Wonka Movie! Then we noticed we were in a handicapped room and the shower and toilet area were across the hall. I requested an exchange and was told there were no other rooms at our rate unless I wanted to pay for an upgrade! This was at 11:00 a.m. So we stayed put. Later on that evening a family moved in next door with screaming kids. All night long doors were slamming, kids were screaming, and there was a lot of noise.
They also forgot to put hand soap in the bathroom and when we called for some, it came quickly. The house cleaning staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summerjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin,. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Our worst fears are when nothing seems to go right for a guest that stays at the Hotel Viking. Our hotel management team is always extremely concerned and upset when guests have a totally unpleasant experience from the time they arrive until the time they check out. And, unfortunately words cannot change how your experience reflects this. All we can say is we are sorry we could not live up to your expectations from the décor to the noise from the room next door that kept you awake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,036)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,790 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have had the pleasure staying at the Viking for many years. Always first class helpful staff. This is a VERY NICE hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Your comments express it all .. and it is a tribute to us that you are a returning guest time and time again. We thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I was so impressed with the staff and the rooms. The beds were so comfortable I could have just stayed in it all day. Everyone from the bell boys to the cleaning ladies were so so nice and overly accommodating. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandypllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Your review is excellent and reflects what we are trying to present to all of our guests and that is to maintain a level of guest service that is always consistent and of the highest quality. We are appreciative of your comments and really cannot wait to have you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed only one night .. Wished we had more time.. Service was excellent... Rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated... Thank you to Erik who was so personable and attenti e... A must if your in Newport!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

It is always a delight to receive such heartwarming comments. Thank you also for mentioning Eric – our front desk associate who truly loves his job and makes sure our guests receive top notch attention they deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Went back again, hotel was still awesome! First Class all the way. Breakfast was even better than last time!

Room Tip: Go off season, you can get a $300 room for $100!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizthomas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your warm and genuine comments. Everyone at the Hotel Viking continually works at providing the best in guest service that we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Newport

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $175 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing